Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ryan-Pringle Trophy

Jeffles

That's the name of the trophy that Balmain and Newtown will be playing for in PL from now on.

Can't say I know much about either player. I know more about Neil Pringle than I do about Trevor Ryan.

I hope fans don't take it the wrong way that we have so many perpetual trophies. It is good to celebrate links between such proud clubs.

Will we see more tophies in the future? Maybe. I'd like that.
Newtown v Canberra: Daly-Osborne Trophy.
Newtown v Wests: Poole-Raudonikis Trophy.
Newtown v Souths: ????
NEwtown v Easts: ????

Newtown Vs Souths (and throw in Norths to make it a three-way) - Col Murphy Cup.

The victor has to do "Get affectionate" with the stuffed bear in the foyer of NS Leagues.

How about Jets/Manly - One for Siggy - the "Whatsapacketta Sigsworth Cup"

Newtown/Easts (and Canberra too?) - The Chicka Ferguson Trophy.

Saints/Jets - Johnny Raper Cup

Sharks/Jets - Barry Russell Cup

I could go on....

Regards,
TDT-1

Fanny Batter

no disrespect but these guys never played for oz or nsw and they dont have the appeal of frank hyde.i no the jetas and tigers had their heart in the rite place but this is a bad case of naming and it could lead to overkill.

Jeffles

TDT-1. I don't know if the stuffed Bear can take anymore :lol:

FB, you have a good point but you have to understand a couple of things

a) Pringle is a big identity still, despite his lack of rep footy. He has a restaurant on the Goold Coast and he was an integral part of the 1973 team.

b) PL and RL needs these events to celebrate tradition

Jeffles said:
TDT-1. I don't know if the stuffed Bear can take anymore :lol:

FB, you have a good point but you have to understand a couple of things

a) Pringle is a big identity still, despite his lack of rep footy. He has a restaurant on the Goold Coast and he was an integral part of the 1973 team.

b) PL and RL needs these events to celebrate tradition

Neil Pringle is responsible for the biggest thing that changed the face of the game when he took the then NSWRL to court over the old transfer rule. He won

FB: no disrespect but these guys never played for oz or nsw and they dont have the appeal of frank hyde.i no the jetas and tigers had their heart in the rite place but this is a bad case of naming and it could lead to overkill.

True, FB, that's why I like some of my ones better - I think the Chook Raper and Chicka Ferguson trophies are naturals. League legends don't come much bigger than Raper, J.

Also, I've often wondered why we don't have an internal award named after Len Smith - Bluebag, NSW rep, Australian Captain/Coach and the victim of the most scurrilous selection rort of all time.

What happened to Len Smith has always seemed to me to be perfectly symbolic of the League's atrocious treatment of the 'Bags over the years (and most especially in '83).

Perhaps it would make a good award for whoever did the most (in an off-field capacity) in a particular year to keep the bastards from killing us off.

I applaud all those who wear the Royal Blue on the field, but some of our club's greatest heroes are those folks who've never played a minute for the Blues, but worked their guts out to keep us going.

Regards,
TDT-1

Jeffles

Good points TDT-1 and FB. Maybe these names are a bit on the fragile side.

Still, it's another trophy. We'll fill that cabinet yet!

Bluebag

It is just recognition of those who have served clubs well not necessarily the biggest names. There is more to a rugby league club than the odd big name.

Jeffles

TDT-1

A Len Smith award is a great idea. In fact, Latchem Robinson was one of the Freemason selectors that ommitted Smith. Maybe that could be the foundation for a Newtown-Balmain award. The "Latchem was a merkin towards Smith" award. We'd have to win every year though to start making up for 60 years of omissions of Len Smith. Balmain know a bit or two about giving games away. Think the 1909 Grand Final :lol: (seriously I feel for the Tigers about 1909.

----

FB you raise a great point. I don't know whose idea this was. I only found out with the email. Maybe there are better names but I can't think of any off the top of my head. HPH suggested to me that we name it after the inner-west district, the home of both clubs.

brook

Why not bring Balmain into the Frank Hyde trophy?

Would be nice to tie together 3 foundation clubs (and give me extra pleasure in beating norths)

Jeffles

The idea of the Frank Hyde is to celebrate completely independent PL teams. Balmain are not in the same position as Newtown and Norths.

I can see where Bluebag is coming from, in saying that we need to recognise the people that have been true ambasitors for both clubs. However, if you have a big name trophy, then wouldn't that be more recognisable to the general public? Such as a Tommy Raudonikis (apologies for the spelling!) cup when we play Wests? Just a thought...
This is a scary thought, but I think that Fanny actually made a good point about the Pringle/Ryan Cup, in that maybe it could have been publicised a bit better? I only found out from here and from Bump's email. Still 2,200 (again accoding to Bump) is a very good crowd and it's good to see the hill slowly filling up. Imagine what the crowd will be like when we get our home semi final!
Just shows that there are plenty of RL fans in the Inner West that are looking for a place to call home.

mono_mal

Is it certain though if Newtown finish in the top four that they will be awarded a home final?
In previous years all Premier League finals have been played as curtain raisers to the NRL finals with no home ground advantage being offered to top 4 finalists.
If the Jets are to go that far though and a home final is given I can imagine a 5000 strong crowd at Henson. If not though hopefully the reunion day crowd will be bigger than any crowd seen at Henson in previous years.
I can still remember being near the only fan on the hill, bar the Hill Mob, in 2002. Now theres a more than healthy sprinklage of fans covering the hill. Great stuff!

Jeffles

In 2002, the Bulldogs got a stand alone home final at Belmore. They held a fan day to coincide with it (with all their disgraced salary cap signings there). There is a precedent, so it could happen to us. The financial benefit would be amazing. But the dressing room facilities are poor and they could always say no for that reason.