Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

SBW for NZ 011

Alehana

From what is sounds like he could be playing for all blacks at the world cup or in a few years time.

Some problems to overcome,
he may be really bad at union or just an average player
He may go back to league
He may qualify for France if he stays there for 3 years and could play for them at the world cup in 011
Getting a club deal for a super franchise
NOt getting a starting spot in All blacks so not even bothering

I hope he tries and makes all blacks, hopefully he can help us win it for once in a long time, wouldn't like to see a kiwi playing for france.

andrew057

From what is sounds like he could be playing for all blacks at the world cup or in a few years time.

Some problems to overcome,
he may be really bad at union or just an average player
He may go back to league
He may qualify for France if he stays there for 3 years and could play for them at the world cup in 011
Getting a club deal for a super franchise
NOt getting a starting spot in All blacks so not even bothering

I hope he tries and makes all blacks, hopefully he can help us win it for once in a long time, wouldn't like to see a kiwi playing for france.

He said tonight theres no way he would play for France.

Te Kaha

He said tonight theres no way he would play for France.

He also said he would stay with the bulldogs...

The real reson that the French clubs are targeting NRL players now is that they are eligible for France... the FRU is worried that the French national team will suffer with to many imports.. by now targeting League players they get top line talent that can still play for the national team.. win win as far as they are concerned...

Gasnier will be in the french team in 3 years for sure.

he has said alot of things

how could you believe what he says

good player with zero integrity

Geez a bloke makes a decision and all of a sudden he cannot play?

Fair Dinkum.

He will be an awesome centre in Union. He will make the All Blacks.

Thomas

He's actually the same height but 2kgs heavier than Mortlock. I reckon he'd go well in the centres.

Also maybe number 8.

Ridders

He's actually the same height but 2kgs heavier than Mortlock. I reckon he'd go well in the centres.

Also maybe number 8.

Definitely, for me he's made for the Number 8. position, would kill it. Would be a good centre as well.

MuleEel

With less space than he gets in League he is going to struggle. Gasnier will also struggle. He is a dope with talent at league. At Union he is just going to be a dope.

Parra

He wont cut it as a centre. Blindside flanker or lock / No 8 maybe. He needs to be somewhere that no thought is required - and a rugby centre is not the position for this.

Thomas

With less space than he gets in League he is going to struggle. Gasnier will also struggle. He is a dope with talent at league. At Union he is just going to be a dope.

I reckon Gas will go okay.

His one redeeming quality, apart from that monstrous chin, is his ability to make space. He's got a strong fend and good footwork.

He'll go okay

Alehana

He also said he would stay with the bulldogs...

The real reson that the French clubs are targeting NRL players now is that they are eligible for France... the FRU is worried that the French national team will suffer with to many imports.. by now targeting League players they get top line talent that can still play for the national team.. win win as far as they are concerned...

Gasnier will be in the french team in 3 years for sure.

mmmm, i cant c ur point but....

Runaway Bulldogs star Sonny Bill Williams has declared his desire to play for the All Blacks at the 2011 Rugby World Cup.
Williams made his rugby union debut with French team Toulon on Saturday (AEST) despite a NSW Supreme Court injunction ruling that he could play with no club but the Bulldogs.
Williams is contracted to the NRL side until 2013.
The Kiwi international backrower started on the left wing in Saturday's pre-season game before moving into the centres, a position he said he wants to make his own.
"There's short-term goals and there's long-term goals, like playing for the All Blacks," Williams told Fairfax newspapers.
"I want to become a dominant No.13 (outside centre) and be considered one of the best centres going around in world rugby, and I want to play for the All Blacks one day.
"But first I just want to play good footy, I want to win the competition with Toulon and repay the faith that (coach) Tana (Umaga) has shown in me by getting out there and helping this team."
Williams said he was aiming to be part of the All Blacks side for their home World Cup in 2011.
"One hundred per cent," he said when asked about the tournament.
"It's a new game and a new challenge and I know I've got a lot to learn, but I'm excited to be learning off one of the all-time greats in Tana Umaga.
"I think if I am as committed as I was to playing rugby league and learning the game then the next two years will work out."
Williams said his adjustment to the 15-man game was taking time.
"I think probably a forward going into the forwards would be a lot more difficult because there's a lot of things that are different," he said.
"In the backs it's still hard because of all the technical things - it's not as easy as people think.
"I've written down all the plays and that, the plays are pretty simple.
"It's just putting in the time and the effort to go over the finer things and not just being a big head and thinking I'm going to be sweet."

http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=612095

after reading that and considering his past, theres no way that i can for 100% say he will try and get in all blacks, theres a chance he will play for france despite what he says here

Alehana

who would he play for in air nz cup? who could afford him, he'd probs wanna play for blues or something, maybe north harbour? unless auckland could afford him

Brycey

SONNY Bill Williams will have to play Super 14 rugby in New Zealand - and inevitably face the music in Australia - if he wants to become an All Black.

On Monday, Kiwi rugby officials said Williams would not be eligible to play for New Zealand while at Toulon.

With only Kiwi-based players eligible to be All Blacks, Williams would have to play for a Kiwi team in Super rugby but then, in turn, tour Australia with his team in the regular competition.

If he keeps playing for Toulon and is found in contempt of court for ignoring the NSW Supreme Court injunction, Williams could face arrest when back on Australian soil - even years from now.

"The policy at the moment is that you have to play in the previous competition to the (All Blacks) team being named and by that we usually mean the Super 14 before the Tri-Nations or the Air New Zealand Cup before the November tour," NZRU boss Steve Tew said.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,24166347-23214,00.html