Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Season 2026

Short memories in here. I'm personally loving not having to watch the Tigers ruin my weekend.

I give it to round 4 and we will be already counting down the days until off season.
I hear you and we have all lived that nightmare for a decade+

But seriously, IMO this is the best roster this club has ever had, if they fall in a heap, then there is no hope for the future.
It can't be the players, or the facilities, maybe the coach, but he is improving which leaves the owners, and they don't run out on the field.

But seriously, IMO this is the best roster this club has ever had

Just leave it at that mate. I still think there are plenty of good teams in the comp so it's going to be tough but we have a good roster.

We had a good roster last season as well though.

I think the issue is the spine playing well. That is the risk but I'm hopeful we turn the corner this season.

Nutz

We had a good roster last season as well though.
Too many distractions re galvin and our whole team really was a jigsaw missing a couple of pieces. Benji also was trying to find his feet.
The addition of May in the centres gave the backline a new look instantly and this year, KPP and Fianu gives both sides of the field strike power.
My only regret was not seeing KPP play in that last trial to give us a glimse of what to expect.
I think the issue is the spine playing well. That is the risk but I'm hopeful we turn the corner this season.
Agree with the spine. If it clicks we will go alright.
Our fwds can make our halves look good by energetic hit ups a quick play the balls.
I wonder where I can find the average time it takes our players to play the ball compared to top 4 teams, during our wooden spoon seasons.
Is it an area where we are taking too long?
The quicker you the play the ball you'll eventually get the retreating D to leave gaps. Sometimes it's best to drive low so you go to your knees and don't end up like a turtle, which slows the play the ball......or stand and struggle to make 1 metre when all your doing is allowing the D to reset.

Too many distractions re galvin and our whole team really was a jigsaw missing a couple of pieces. Benji also was trying to find his feet.

Yes but to me these are pretty poor excuses. I thought Galvin was trash for us and he looked poor to me in the game for the Dogs.

Benji is finding his feet but we can't afford another season of the coaching staff not getting it right.
Agree with the spine. If it clicks we will go alright.
Our fwds can make our halves look good by energetic hit ups a quick play the balls.

I think our forwards are good enough. The spine just have to do their job,. Luai and Api were poor last year. They have to improve. AD has to get the job done or Benji needs to chuck Madden or someone else in to that role.

Bula was good last year but he was terrible in the trial. I hope that was a one off and he isn't going to be distracted by trying to play the contract game.

I suppose we just have to wait and see what happens but it's dragging on isn't it.

Nutz

Yes but to me these are pretty poor excuses. I thought Galvin was trash for us and he looked poor to me in the game for the Dogs.

Benji is finding his feet but we can't afford another season of the coaching staff not getting it right.

I think our forwards are good enough. The spine just have to do their job,. Luai and Api were poor last year. They have to improve. AD has to get the job done or Benji needs to chuck Madden or someone else in to that role.

Bula was good last year but he was terrible in the trial. I hope that was a one off and he isn't going to be distracted by trying to play the contract game.

I suppose we just have to wait and see what happens but it's dragging on isn't it.
There was pressure to fast track Galvin and he wasn't up to it imo and I think other player picked up on this plus his price tag. I reckon there was more to it than what's been revealed, probably because of legal issues. But we were basically playing with two controlling ⅝.
We got rid of the overpaid underperforming one.
They talk about a teams DNA.
To me it's an all encompassing term to mean standards that the whole club buys into.
Any disruptions like a change of style the coach wants to play, chopping and changing player positions or distractions on and off the field can effect the team's performance and focus.
They may be professional athletes but cohesion is a result of repetition.
The fact we had wooden spoons and a front office in goo gah land, it's amazing that we've survived.
Benji has had to deal with yet another front office disaster and still kept the team together and even attracted new players and retained quality players.
He has improved our depth and has had a full off season to gel the team. Somehow we are starting to look like a top 8 side instead of a crumbling mess.

Nutz

Short memories in here. I'm personally loving not having to watch the Tigers ruin my weekend.

I give it to round 4 and we will be already counting down the days until off season.
You sound like you have found life outside of footy Simmo, bingo? 🤣

Benji hasn’t had the opportunity to show us anything as a coach in the real time conditions at NRL this season.

Anyways:-

Enjoy ladies:

Nutz

Beat me to it, interesting hey.
I thought Murray had a better hit out than Tony Sukkar.
Could Skelton be injured and maybe one of our centres injured. Meaning Masi to centre and Luke to wing.
Still a fair wait and these photos could be more of a trial of combinations.

Beat me to it, interesting hey.
I thought Murray had a better hit out than Tony Sukkar.
Could Skelton be injured and maybe one of our centres injured. Meaning Masi to centre and Luke to wing.
Still a fair wait and these photos could be more of a trial of combinations.
TBH, if he doesn't know the combinations by now, we are doomed aren't we?
Agree re Murray, but I think they have tagged Sukkar as a future FG player, he went alright last year, but it's a long season,
Skelton has been injured, hence not playing the trial, maybe more serious than we led to believe.

Nutz

TBH, if he doesn't know the combinations by now, we are doomed aren't we?
No, not really. The first rd bye has only one positive, to work around injuries.
If a player or players are asked to play in a position he thought may not be the position he was considered to play in from the start then you do have to do a lot of juggling until you get the right chemistry.
As an example, we said it yesterday that Masi loves the left side....what if it's our right side that has injuries.
We don't have crystal balls so we are only guessing but we have time to sort this out imo.

No, not really. The first rd bye has only one positive, to work around injuries.
If a player or players are asked to play in a position he thought may not be the position he was considered to play in from the start then you do have to do a lot of juggling until you get the right chemistry.
As an example, we said it yesterday that Masi loves the left side....what if it's our right side that has injuries.
We don't have crystal balls so we are only guessing but we have time to sort this out imo.
I disagree, IMO, if he doesn't know who he's going to play for our first game, then that is troubling.
They've had the whole off season to work that out.
We have no more trials. But I don't think that is the case, he'll know.
How many players are they allowed on the bench now? Is that extra 2 mean you can still only play a 4 bench?
TBH, I didn't take a lot of notice about it.

Nutz

I disagree, IMO, if he doesn't know who he's going to play for our first game, then that is troubling.
They've had the whole off season to work that out.
We have no more trials. But I don't think that is the case, he'll know.
How many players are they allowed on the bench now? Is that extra 2 mean you can still only play a 4 bench?
TBH, I didn't take a lot of notice about it.
I disagree cause you don't know everything that's happening and neither do I regarding injuries and who he has in mind to partner up.
The statement of if he doesn't know by now is silly because he most probably does and is just reconfirming it.

I disagree cause you don't know everything that's happening and neither do I regarding injuries and who he has in mind to partner up.
The statement of if he doesn't know by now is silly because he most probably does and is just reconfirming it.
You're the one who made the comment "it could be a trial of combinations".
My point is, we are two weeks out from our first game, and no more trials available, there is only training, and running game day drills, so of course he would know what his top squad will be, yes that could change each week due to injury, but he would have a top 20 in line.
Unless there is injury, I don't see much changing of the team, unless we have gone to shit again.

Nutz

You're the one who made the comment "it could be a trial of combinations".
My point is, we are two weeks out from our first game, and no more trials available, there is only training, and running game day drills, so of course he would know what his top squad will be, yes that could change each week due to injury, but he would have a top 20 in line.
Unless there is injury, I don't see much changing of the team, unless we have gone to shit again.
Yeh it was me who said it could be a trial of combinations because we don't know what really is going on with injuries, players not training to std, and a lot more. Changes could be subtle or out of left field.
Won't know till lockout.
No doubt you'll have the last say like you always do. Hey where's WA, he'll back you up ffs.