Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Self Project (Help Needed)

AusKnightRKO

How ya going, Alright im looking to drop down by the end of december to atleast 85kgs and by the summer to around 75 - 80.

So is there anyone here who is able to help me with a Dietary Plan and Training Schedule, Im able to train anyday and do have an exsisting gym memebership.

Currently 94.2kgs and 172cms Tall (5Ft8)

Thanks in advance

Cliffhanger

Losing weight is always 70 per cent nutrition and 30 per cent exercise. The most important thing is creating a calorie surplus and the only way to do this is by figuring out what your BMR is.

First thing you should do, is open up an account on fitday.com (it's free) basically put in your details and it will give you a general idea of how much you're burning a day.

How much exercise would you be happy to do, in terms of hours a week? Is it feasible for you to walk to places etc

Once you figure out this then you add that to your activity tab. Just make a test day. Once you know how many calories you will burning then you can establish how much to eat, 20 per cent below maintenance should get you the results you want fairly quickly, if you're consistent.

After that you can figure out the makeup of your diet, probably low carb, high protein and moderate fat. The high protein will help you burn the fat and feed the muscle.

CliffyIsGod

Eat healthy. Lots of fresh nutrient rich, calorie poor fruits and vegetables.

Excercise every day.

Danish

This is uncanny.

You are looking to lose 15-20kg in around 6 months, starting from 94kg.

I have lost 17kg in 6 months, starting at 97kg.

Your best bet as mentioned is to workout how many calories you should be eating to maintain weight, then knock off 500 per day. Throw in exercise 4-5 days a week (for me this wad just 5km runs, built up to 8-10km runs now) and you'll be golden.

If you have an iPhone, get a calorie counter app to track your eating. I use the Shape Up app personally. Works a treat.

I would also recommend a weight and measurements record (specifically waist, chest and neck) and if you are keen a photo journal so you can track progress. Only weigh/measure once per week at the same time on the same day, and if you take photos limit it to once per month. If you do this and graph the results it's a good way to stay motivated.

Most importantly, dont let the inevitable hiccup or bad weekend throw you off. Just count how many calories the night on the turps, couple of pizzas watching the footy etc cost you and maybe throw in an extra workout session the next day and your back on track.

Hooch

Concentrate on modifying bad habits, eating nutritious meals and listening to your body and not on losing weight... results in long term improvement and ability to manage consumption vs activity...

What are you going to do after you starve yourself down to 75kg or some other meaningless number? Have a couple of big macs bro? Admire yourself in the mirror?

your energy requirements change constantly with how much activity you engage in so these kilojoule counters are just mind occupying rubbish...

Thomas

I know so many people who strive hard to lose weight and when they do they are chuffed but then put it all on again. A guy I know has lost heaps. Like, 50kgs. A complete life change but when I saw him a few months ago he was back out to 117 (his initial weight was 152). I asked him why and he said "I just relaxed..."

I reckon if you are on edge about losing weight then you won't keep it off in the long run. Adjust your habits and work to it. Right now I am struggling to shift the last 5kgs. I'd like to lose 10 but have even put on a little bit more weight. I've changed my workouts and no doubt this is muscle as my clothes fit better and I certainly do look thinner.

I really could go a Big Mac right about now...

Frailty

Some tips I would suggest:
  • Exercise at minimum 3 times a week (higher intensity) or 5 times a week (moderate intensity)
  • Keep a food diary of everything you eat
  • Go to a doctor and request a blood test - this with your food diary will show you areas you are needing to cut down, eat more, etc.
  • Weigh yourself on a weekly basis at the same time and track your progress.
  • Review this information frequently - if you haven't lost much weight, look at your exercise regiment or your food diary to find areas that have let you down.
  • Maintain this effort - it's hard at first but then will become second-nature.
  • Don't go for a quite reduction - the best and most lasting way is lifestyle change - not just 'dieting'.

I went from 117kg to 83kg in about a year. This is not taking into consideration the muscle that I have put on (which weighs heavier than fat). You learn to eat properly, and really reject crappy foods easily.