Sharks vs Chiefs

Discussion in 'Game Day' started by Alehana, Apr 19, 2012.


Sharks vs Chiefs

Poll closed Apr 22, 2012.
  1. Sharks 7+

    0 vote(s)
  2. Sharks 1-7

    0 vote(s)
  3. Draw

    0 vote(s)
  4. Chiefs 1-7

    0 vote(s)
  5. Chiefs 7+

    0 vote(s)
  1. Alehana

    Alehana Juniors

    Apr 13, 2008
    Likes Received:
    The Sharks team have announced a line-up with no real surprises ahead of their week 9 clash against the table-topping Chiefs at Mr Price King's Park, and there is good news in the form of hooker Bismarck du Plessis’s availability.
    He has been passed fit after a variety of small injuries weren’t deemed serious, after missing the Blues game completely and playing a short spell off the bench against the Hurricanes in week 7.
    There are two other changes in the starting line-up, both amongst the forwards, including Jacques Botes making his 96th Super Rugby appearance for The Sharks in place of Marcell Coetzee and a straight rotational swap between Willem Alberts and Jean Deysel at No.7.
    Young Pieter-Steph du Toit has been handed the number 18 jersey, as second row cover in an opportunity that could become his senior debut. He comes in for Jandre Marais who has been captain of The Sharks XV.

    The Chiefs are currently on a 6 game winning streak after beating the Cheetah’s last Sunday but that hasn’t stopped them making a few changes of their own.
    Young flanker, Sam Cane replaces Tanerau Latimer who moves to the bench and Asaeli Tikoirotuma starts on the wing, while Jackson Willison takes the bench meaning Tim Nanai Williams gets a rest.

    Mahonri Schwalger has also been picked ahead of Hika Elliot.
    Assistant Chiefs coach Tom Coventry said “The Sharks are a traditional South African side, big and strong upfront and a little more belligerent than other sides. They will be keen to take us on in the forward pack so we need to stick to the basics and ensure we focus on our core roles especially in our tight five.”
    The Sharks:
    1. Dale Chadwick
    2. Bismarck du Plessis
    3. Jannie du Plessis
    4. Steven Sykes
    5. Anton Bresler
    6. Jacques Botes
    7. Willem Alberts
    8. Keegan Daniel (Captain)
    9. Charl McLeod
    10. Patrick Lambie
    11. Lwazi Mvovo
    12. Tim Whitehead
    13. JP Pietersen
    14. Louis Ludik
    15. Riaan Viljoen
    16. Craig Burden
    17. Wiehahn Herbst
    18. Pieter-Steph du Toit
    19. Jean Deysel
    20. Marcell Coetzee
    21. Frederic Michalak
    22. Meyer Bosman
    The Chiefs:
    1. Arizona Taumalolo
    2. Mahonri Schwalger
    3. Ben Tameifuna
    4. Craig Clarke (c)
    5. Brodie Retallick
    6. Liam Messam
    7. Sam Cane
    8. Alex Bradley
    9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow
    10. Aaron Cruden
    11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma
    12. Sonny Bill Williams
    13. Richard Kahui
    14. Lelia Masaga
    15. Andrew Horrell
    16. Hika Elliot
    17. Josh Hohneck
    18. Michael Fitzgerald
    19. Tanerau Latimer
    20. Augustine Pulu
    21. Jackson Willison
    22. Robbie Robinson
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2012

Share This Page