Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should we re-sign Luke Lewis

Off-contract at season's end, Luke Lewis is keeping talk of his future at an arm's length with the veteran Sharks back-rower just weeks away from the birth of his first child.
At 32, Lewis could be forgiven for feeling nervous about his future on the field, but it is off the paddock where his life is about to change dramatically.
"Every day you wake up and see the wife's belly getting bigger. We talk about it most nights that it's getting closer. You start to see the nursery come together too and all the gifts the people bring in and it starts to get surreal," Lewis told NRL.com.
"But mate, I'm just looking forward to meeting the little one. We don't know what we're having so it's a good surprise ahead."
While Lewis would like to remain at Cronulla and have his future sorted as soon as possible, he isn't letting doubt over a new contract get to him.
"I'd love to stay here and play footy for the Sharks. I love the club, the boys and the area. But look mate, focus-wise for me is I just want to have fun playing footy," Lewis said.
"I don't think too much about [my future]. I just want to go out and do my job for the team and see where it takes me. I have no stress about re-signing or doing anything straight away."
He may be about to begin his 16th season in the NRL, but Lewis has still found plenty to enjoy about his latest pre-season – particularly the fact he hasn't missed a single training session.
He said Cronulla's recent bonding camp on the New South Wales Central Coast only brought him and his teammates closer together.
"I'm really enjoying my off-season this year. It's been outstanding. My body feels great and I just want to enjoy it for what it is at the moment," Lewis said.
"I'm enjoying all of their company and for me that's probably the best thing about it – the camaraderie you build with your teammates away from playing on the field.
"I think it's a vital part to yourself and to the team being out there and building combinations with players. The more we train together and play together the quicker the combinations come."
LINK

Ads

f**k hes looking fit though. Id give him 1 more if he holds up this year.

Madsharkie

Worth re-signing for another year, but as Stake said no need to rush. With a new bubs and a happy life I can't see him wanting to change clubs, so for once the power is with us.

As long as he doesn't want over the odds then it's a no brainer.

His experience will be needed with gal gone next season.

cb4

No chance I would keep him.

He is the one player who is replaceable in our squad.

Inferno

Lewis or Gall. If one stays I wouldn't keep the other.

They play completely different roles in the team, but I don't think we can afford two hugely expensive backrowers who are a decent chance at missing huge chunks of the season through either rep footy or injury.

bluefox1968

Happy to have both, but on realistic money...

The onus is then on the coach to have the guts to not select them if they're not up to it - unlikely that they won't be good enough for 1sts though...

sandshark

Watch us sign them both for more than one season.
Happy with Lewis for just one more year providing its a small contract.
We need to go with younger forwards. Its time to do that now or next season. Cant hold on to these old fellas for more than 1 year.

chewsta

He makes shit happen, scores tries, runs great angles and never over plays his hand. I'd keep him on for another year.

RUBIKS

Lewis or Gall. If one stays I wouldn't keep the other.

That's how I feel, except with Heighington/Gal.

Lewis offers something different at least. That said, he was struggling for fitness/breath last season while they tweaked his meds, which is worrying as the interchange drops.

Happy to re-sign him if he performs this year, all the talk of backrowers, it's not like we have anyone pushing him out of his spot at the moment.

Special K

If you asked me last year I would of said no however after last year and this being hopefully Gal's last year I say yes. When he turns up he is our best player and he turned up every week last season.

Lewis will be good for another 2 years. He is a real leader and the young blokes love him. Plus he is probably the best "big game" player we have.

He could make some mega bucks in england though.