Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

So much for Harmony

"However, Humphreys remained confident the Tigers would qualify for the finals and insisted harmony within the club was strong."

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,27139832-5018866,00.html

Benji Marshall believed to be at odds with senior Wests Tigers players

Internal rumblings are being blamed for Wests Tigers' form slump, with Benji Marshall believed to be at odds with other senior players after being fined for ill-discipline.
Marshall was upset when fined a four-figure sum for running late to a recovery session after the Tigers' Anzac Day weekend loss to Penrith.
Wests Tigers then produced an untidy display in the following week's defeat to Sydney Roosters, which was followed by Sunday's Heritage Round implosion against South Sydney that also featured a sadly out-of-touch Marshall.
The 50-10 SCG massacre was arguably the joint venture's worst performance since inception a decade ago, and has increased the pressure on coach Tim Sheens to break a four-year finals drought.
It is believed Marshall ran late on the Monday after the Penrith loss, and that club officials consulted other senior players about an appropriate penalty.
A fine was eventually decided upon but, according to a source close to the club, the New Zealand skipper was unhappy about his teammates' input.

"He was disappointed about the fine, and especially the fact some of the other players were involved in making the decision," the source said.
After an impressive start to the year that delivered four wins in their opening five clashes, the Tigers now face a season-defining trip to Newcastle on Friday as they seek to avoid a fifth straight defeat

macnaz

Regardless of wether Benj is a sook or not ,it is hard to see the benefits of having penalties handed down by your team mates. Surely this system would create disharmony? If you were to get into trouble with your employer and then the next day have to work with the ppl that handed down your punishment on their behalf id find that a bit awkward and also hard to see them as freinds.. He is employed by the club and should be punished by the club.. and not getting players to do the unfavourable dirty work.

macnaz

Perhaps another way to explain it... Everyone who has worked and been in trouble knows the feeling of walking around pissed of with them and not wanting to put the effort in etc, but u see a workmate struggling with something u would still help him because he's ya mate and it wasnt his fault. With this system at WT he is going to pissed with the club and also be pissed with his team mates as well for being part of it. But they are grown men and u would hope he gets over it, as it was his mistake that started it in the first place. But still the process is always going to cause more harm than good.

The best way to ensure that you do not get upset with your team mates for fining you is:

Get some responsibility and not turn up late.

Simple really.

N.C.

I imagine there is a culture of this kind of thing, and this is why we have a "senior playing group". I mean, there's all this talk of workplaces and employee/employer relations but at the end of the day this is a footy team. I have no problem with the team being involved in decisions about discipline - it shows the club trusts them to look after themselves, and enables them to come up with a punishment that fits the crime. If players don't like it, then don't go signing any lucrative five year contracts.