Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Squad of 25 for season 2005

TIGERPies

Brett Hodgson FULLBACK
Pat Richards WINGER
Shane Elford CENTRE
Paul Whatuira CENTRE
Benji Marshall 5/8
Scott Prince HALFBACK
Daniel Fizhenry WING
Todd Payten PROP
Robbie Farah HOOKER
John Skandalis PROP
Bronson Harrison 2nd ROW
Dene Halatau 2nd ROW
Ben Galea LOCK (C)

Anthony Laffranchi 14
Bryce Gibbs 15
Mark Oneill 16
Ben Reynolds 17

Jeff Lima 18
CHris Patterson 19
Liam FUlton 20
John WIlson 21
Mark Meredith 22

struggling for the rest

only included players under contract

given whats listed we look a little short in the backs :shock:

TIGERPies

we need more outside backs

Is the club well stocked here in juniors Mighty Tiger?
i know premiers not flush so more flegg

Mighty Tiger

TIGERPies said:
we need more outside backs

Is the club well stocked here in juniors Mighty Tiger?
i know premiers not flush so more flegg

In the backs I wouldn't say we are well stocked not in PL at least

But you also need to add names like

Greally - Fullback
Collis - Centre
Pangai - Centre
Dickson - Backrow

who are on WTS contracts for next year as well

In Flegg we have a bit of depth but it really is abit early to say if they will be good enough to be NRL level and make an impact but we do have talent thats for sure

HOT028

there is no way harrison or halatau will keep o'neil or laffranchi on the bench next year

Vicious

1.Hodgson
2.Donald???
3.Whatuira
4.Harrison
5.Richards
6.Marshall
7.Prince
13.Fulton
12.Galea
11.Laffranchi
10.Skandalis
9.Farah
8.Payten

14.O`Neill/Fitzhenry
15.Halatau
16.Stapleton/Lima
17.Meredith/Gibbs

18.O`Neill/Fitzhenry
19.Stapleton/Lima
20.Meredith/Gibbs
21.Collis
22.Greally
23.Wilson
24.Elford
25.Reynolds
26.De Gois

Mighty Tiger

I think you will find that Fulton or Harrison will go to lock next year

Galea is going to be used as a Hooker next year with Farah

Buckets and Laffranchi will be starting backrowers

I think the biggest problem we will have is if one of our backrowers or hookers get injured we really have no depth what so ever in that position

I guess Reynolds could be used at some stage in the Hooking role

Vicious

I wouldn`t disagree with Galea playing hooker,but he`s been getting back to his best as a running back rower.Hopefully his running game doesn`t suffer with him playing hooker.I do remember him as a brilliant dummy half running hooker when he first came to Balmain though!I hope it`s true that either Fulton or Harrison do start next year.I`d still prefer Fulton at lock and Harrison as a rampaging centre.

Vicious

I think the biggest problem we will have is if one of our backrowers or hookers get injured we really have no depth what so ever in that position

Whats wrong with Halatau,Lima and Stapleton(if we do sign him)as back up back rowers???I also rate the Magpies Nigel Plum very highly,but we haven`t resigned him,much like Gray Viane and Chris Heighington!As for hookers,well Isaac De Gois has plenty of ability don`t worry about that.

brooksy19

dont forget harrison & dene could easily swap from 2nd row to the centres if needed, hopefully with whateira & elford we shouldnt have too.

I like the look of that squad..No Miles :)

Wrighty79

Vicious said:

Whats wrong with Halatau,Lima and Stapleton(if we do sign him)as back up back rowers???I also rate the Magpies Nigel Plum very highly,but we haven`t resigned him,much like Gray Viane and Chris Heighington!As for hookers,well Isaac De Gois has plenty of ability don`t worry about that.

Unit, what's doing mate? You had big wraps on him last year. Any news????

Mighty Tiger

Vicious said:

Nothing is wrong with them don't get me wrong

Halatau will never be a top class starting backrower maybe a centre/lock but his future will never lie as a starting backrower IMO

Lima is a prop and has always played his best footy in at prop you move him in the backrow and for some reason he just goes and hides

Stapleton well we havn't got him yet so I won't count my chickens before they hatch ;-)

Plummy I think he is a great talent at the start of the year I was talking him up week in week out but because I havn't been to many games since the bub has come its a bit hard to comment on there form at the moment

Still either way sure they have talent there is no disputing that but they really arn't up to the top grade standards required week in week out is all I was saying

You also forgot a kid I have been building up and who has been training a few times over the last 2mths with the top grade and thats Bryan Dickson he will be a very very good backrower - not so much the line breaking mould but he is very simular to Buckets the difference is he hits harder and is more technically sound in defence if anyone could be!!!

De Gois has a heap of potential but when people say he will be better suited in at lock and not at hooker thats a worry - we have Shultz and Henderson as well who can play in at Hooker not to mention Fitzy but the problem is for the 1st time in the JV history we won't have an expereinced Hooker to lead the way!!!

I like the look of the side don't get me wrong and I think with some of the younger blokes to be added over the next 12-18mths we will be a threat to the comp but at the same time we do need to keep our expereinced heads injury free because they will be very vital to our chances

Stellar

1. Brett Hodgson
2. Moodie if he resigns otherwise Richards
3. Whatuira
4. Elford
5. Fitzhenry
6. Marshall
7. Prince
8. Payten
9. Galea
10. Skandalis
11. Laffranchi
12. O'Neill (c)
13. Halatau

14. Farah
15. Harrison
16. Fulton
17. Gibbs

18. Meredith
19. Stapleton
20. Reynolds
21. Kouparitsas
22. Miles
23. Viane
24. Heighington
25. Wilson

Vicious

Halatau will never be a top class starting backrower maybe a centre/lock but his future will never lie as a starting backrower IMO
I disagree on Dene.Sure he`s a bit smallish for a second rower,but he makes up for that by doing everything at 100mph.His involvement and work rate definately can`t be questioned.I`d only play either Fulton,Harrison,Kouparatsis,O`Neill or Galea at lock as I like a number 13 to have ball skills and be able to take a bit of the heat off the halves!As for a back up hooker.I still believe Isaac will take to the position well enough to be able to apply strong pressure to Benny G and Farah assuming they will be the ones alternating the position.A player whom I believe could be another back up and/or alternative if we could sign him is the Bulldogs Adam Brideson.He`s a very tough,hard tackling and uncompromising hooker/back rower.He`s still in his early 20`s played a couple of 1st grade games for the Bulldogs over the past couple of years,but generally not getting much of a go there although he`s been a mainstay of there very successful Premier League team.

bonstonker

some interesting positional preferences in this thread.
i myself would like farah and fitzy to be our primary hookers.
look at the last 2 years when fitzy has played hooker,and at the start of last year when moved from fullback to hooker he made a definate impact out of dummy half and i also think he did that this year in his few games there.
those 2 give us plenty of spark from dummy half,although defence will be the weakness as far as putting some sting on the opposition.

lock i would like to see galea start the year there.he showed he has the game for lock when he made the city team and was our best player there.
i think he has just the right experience now to take his game back up to where it was or even higher.

a player i would like added to the squad is scott donald partnering elford.
elford has been in space alot this year and unfortunately we haven't had a winger with enough speed to turn some of his runs into 4 points.the most important thing is that donald has the actual pace to get into position to support elford,and as we all know if elford is tackled after a break he losses the ball. :p so make sure he has someone there to pass it to.
i think donald could make a bigger difference to us than some think.

halatau is a definate backrower for me who i am sure has alot more to show us with more experience,the same with bronson and fulton who will all put alot of pressure on our starters.

i also think that if collis can put in a good finish to the year and remain injury free with a good off season,we will see him in the top 25 when the final roster is complete.

sure hope meredith has a great off season and becomes the big metre eater we crave for on the bench along side gibbs.
those 2 are our keys to next season if we are to be a dominant pack.

Mighty Tiger

bonstonker said:
i also think that if collis can put in a good finish to the year and remain injury free with a good off season,we will see him in the top 25 when the final roster is complete.

He already is added mate ;-)