Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stadium Re-development Thread

shaggs

Clearly haven’t seen how many shops are available for rent in the mall.
With the current “works” the place looks like a tip. Perfect for a sharks connection really

shadowboxer

Clearly haven’t seen how many shops are available for rent in the mall.
With the current “works” the place looks like a tip. Perfect for a sharks connection really
The whole Main Street is a tip. Long needed works being done to the North, but even they look pretty lame. And as far as vacant shops go, if the current slew of new tenants in the street include a dodgy few selling a combo of exotic lollies and TWO Tobacconists - things aren’t looking great.
Only positive is the lack of a decent supermarket in the Main Street, should be a win for the club when it opens in a year or so time .

Special K

The works starting right before summer was so f**ken crazy. Apparently it stops over christmas and then starts back up? I've got two kids and we walk from our place down there for a frozen yogurt/milkshake that sorta thing on the weekend and it is a nightmare with the pram and the cafes trying to put tables out in front of the works. Why didn't they start it in April?

I'd argue the location the Sharks have is one of the best in the strip if not the ideal spot. Agreed on all the problems mentioned. I read a timezone is opening up which will feed those junk food shops pumping out vapes and prime. Also the two homeless blokes who have moved in 2 months ago on the steps will need to go.

In a perfect world it makes so much sense to run our operations out of there and put a store(I'd also put a cafe there as I don't know how many go to Cronulla to buy a jersey) at the spot. But the no leagues club revenue is compounding things. It is fishy. If we will have the leagues club generating revenue in 2024 then why do we need to lease this out? The two do not go hand in hand. Who signs a lease there/does a fit out and moves out in a year?

28 days until Wooloware bay opens. From talking to a shop owner today it seems all the big end of town stuff is done and they are opening regardless of how the smaller ones are going. It will be interesting there too.

The works starting right before summer was so f**ken crazy. Apparently it stops over christmas and then starts back up? I've got two kids and we walk from our place down there for a frozen yogurt/milkshake that sorta thing on the weekend and it is a nightmare with the pram and the cafes trying to put tables out in front of the works. Why didn't they start it in April?

I'd argue the location the Sharks have is one of the best in the strip if not the ideal spot. Agreed on all the problems mentioned. I read a timezone is opening up which will feed those junk food shops pumping out vapes and prime. Also the two homeless blokes who have moved in 2 months ago on the steps will need to go.

In a perfect world it makes so much sense to run our operations out of there and put a store(I'd also put a cafe there as I don't know how many go to Cronulla to buy a jersey) at the spot. But the no leagues club revenue is compounding things. It is fishy. If we will have the leagues club generating revenue in 2024 then why do we need to lease this out? The two do not go hand in hand. Who signs a lease there/does a fit out and moves out in a year?

28 days until Wooloware bay opens. From talking to a shop owner today it seems all the big end of town stuff is done and they are opening regardless of how the smaller ones are going. It will be interesting there too.

my guess is they know they will not

shaggs

I’m still sceptical that they will open the development at all in 28days
Still looks weeks away

Tiger Shark

I’m still sceptical that they will open the development at all in 28days
Still looks weeks away
There seems to be heaps of people and alot going on the last few weeks, more than usual and I usually go past a few times a week.

Hopefully that means they can then focus on the leagues club work. Though are they going to do the fit out or are we getting someone else to do it ? .... club probably doesn't even know yet.

shaggs

There seems to be heaps of people and alot going on the last few weeks, more than usual and I usually go past a few times a week.

Hopefully that means they can then focus on the leagues club work. Though are they going to do the fit out or are we getting someone else to do it ? .... club probably doesn't even know yet.
Wasn’t there an issue with sourcing a roof for the club?

Tiger Shark

yes

they kept the shell of the club and wanted to keep the roof as was but needed all new plant work in
no bueno
then wrangling over responsibility

what's the over / under on this

June 30 2025?

I’m ever the optimist so I’m still thinking 2024 …..sometime!

For it to be a 2025 finish we’re going beyond incompetence.

The fit out itself when they start should take 5 /6 months* max if there’s no issues with the long lead items and you’d hope they’ve factored that in but you never know.

Potentially access to the club might have been an issue while the rest was being built? So maybe that will help now they’re nearly done.

*Ive managed some decent office fit outs that would have a lot of similar work to a leagues club regarding complexity and they usually aim for that turn around, if not less.

shaggs

Wooloware bay has been delayed until Feb 7th now! Ooft.
My missus was so excited for the 21st (or whatever)
I said there was no way.
my mates have been working there on the elevators and fridges for woolies etc and have said for weeks the inside was a no where near ready for people

Tiger Shark

They hope to get the bigger stores ( Aldi, Woolies and Dan Murphys I assume) ready by Xmas so we’ll see.

wont be holding my breath

Special K

The shopping centre opened yesterday. It is f**king tiny for something that looks so big from the outside. The car park is tight, spots small and if you exit near the servo you have to turn left, do a u turn to get back to the lights which would be a f**ken nightmare on game day or christmas.

There has to be more to it? The woolies is huge and will save me going to Caringbah so it'll get used but fmd.

The shopping centre opened yesterday. It is f**king tiny for something that looks so big from the outside. The car park is tight, spots small and if you exit near the servo you have to turn left, do a u turn to get back to the lights which would be a f**ken nightmare on game day or christmas.

There has to be more to it? The woolies is huge and will save me going to Caringbah so it'll get used but fmd.
A friend of mine was telling me that some were complaining.
I asked of what
She said that a woman complained that the corners were too tight for her to turn her Land Cruiser
I laughed