Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stand Aside...Were Coming Through...

ST GEORGE 38 - NEWCASTLE 12
fetch.dll

Next in line...
Easts,then Canterbury...

imported_ss20

That's the thing with Saints. They are either pathetic or brilliant. No consistency, except in losing Grand Finals
emwink.gif

Just kidding, no offence, don't get your knickers in a knot.
Anyway, if they can hold it together, as much as it pains me to say it, you are in with a good chance to break the GF hoodoo.
emthup.gif

Guys,
I must say even I admire St George Illawarra's charge into 7th place (might even get to 6th if things go right). You beat, by 2 points, an understrength Broncos who haven't won for yonks, then a Johnsless Newcastle (without him they are barely semifinal contenders - around Wests-Tigers standard or a little less).
Fortunately you won't run into NQ in the semis:)
Enjoy it while it lasts - even Pepe seems to be back on the bandwagon.
Bigbopper

Big Bopper:
Which 'bandwagon' would that be? I've been trying to find a bandwagon for the last 2 years. I even went to a few garage sales looking for one but everyone kept telling me that all the bandwagons had been bought up by Souths supporters.

Brisbane understrengthed? Very funny. Bythis I assume you mean the inclusion of Sailor week in and week out. I agree, he certainly wouldn't make my team.
As for Newcastle, is Johns worth 26 points? I hold him in high regard too but obviously not as much as yourself.

The Dragons copped a real blow during the week with the ridiculous suspension of their captain and #1 forward.

IMO, they gave the perfect footy field response.

Willow,
Congrats. It's sixth place. St George Illawarra now has the chance to equal its highest ever finish on a premiership ladder.
And, Souths supporters don't get on bandwagons we start them!
Bigbopper

No worries, Big Bopper.
For some time now I've held the view that Souths had the market cornered on bandwagons. Thanks for confirming that.
Now I know that it's best to stop wasting the time of those nice people in the local Opp Shop
emsmile.gif

6th place is better than no place... and BTW, IMO, the StGeorge team still has the history. No point debating that one with me.
Cheers to you too.

Willow,
If you use your view of history then I suppose that joining with Illawarra doubled the number of woodens spoons won by your club!
But you're right - in 2001 it's better to have a team in the comp than not. But next year I will be watching the same team I started supporting at Redfern Oval more than 50 years ago. Two years out has been hard but it was worth it.
Willow, two great traditional clubs took different paths following the SupeLeague debacle. I have no criticism of Saints for merging - that was your choice. I don't think Souths are better than Saints because we didn't go into a J/V - that's just what we are about.
Good luck with the finals - the way things are going you could get to fifth. You probably won't have to play Parramatta until the preliminary final. Looking at that side I don't think anyone will stop them (the Broncos at full strength would match them but that isn't going to happen).
Bigboppe

The way the Broncos are playing, they are likely to finish 6th.
On the other hand, Saints are a better than even chance for 5th spot.
The problem is offcourse, anything can happen andit's not a good idea to get ahead of ourselves.
However, a lot hinges on today's game between Brisbane and Cronulla.

* = played
<table border=0 cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 width=145> <tbody> <tr bgcolor=#ffffcc> <td width=20> <center>No</center></td> <td width=105> <center>NRL LADDER</center></td> <td width=20> <center>Pt</center></td></tr> <tr> <td bgcolor=#ff6666 width=20> <center>1</center></td> <td bgcolor=#cccccc width=105> <center><tt>Parramatta*</tt></center></td> <td bgcolor=#ffcc33 width=20> <center>38</center></td></tr> <tr> <td bgcolor=#ff6666 width=20> <center>2</center></td> <td bgcolor=#cccccc width=105> <center><tt>Canterbury*</tt></center></td> <td bgcolor=#ffcc33 width=20> <center>33</center></td></tr> <tr> <td bgcolor=#ff6666 width=20> <center>3</center></td> <td bgcolor=#cccccc width=105> <center><tt>Newcastle*</tt></center></td> <td bgcolor=#ffcc33 width=20> <center>29</center></td></tr> <tr> <td bgcolor=#ff6666 width=20> <center>4</center></td> <td bgcolor=#cccccc width=105> <center><tt>Cronulla</tt></center></td> <td bgcolor=#ffcc33 width=20> <center>28</center></td></tr> <tr> <td bgcolor=#ff6666 width=20> <center>5</center></td> <td bgcolor=#cccccc width=105> <center><tt>Brisbane</tt></center></td> <td bgcolor=#ffcc33 width=20> <center>27</center></td></tr> <tr> <td bgcolor=#ff6666 width=20> <center>6</center></td> <td bgcolor=#cccccc width=105> <center>SAINTS<tt>*</tt></center></td> <td bgcolor=#ffcc33 width=20> <center>26</center></td></tr> <tr> <td bgcolor=#ff6666 width=20> <center>7</center></td> <td bgcolor=#cccccc width=105> <center><tt>Roosters*</tt></center></td> <td bgcolor=#ffcc33 width=20> <center>25</center></td></tr> <tr> <td bgcolor=#ff6666 width=20> <center>8</center></td> <td bgcolor=#cccccc width=105> <center><tt>NZ Warriors*</tt></center></td> <td bgcolor=#ffcc33 width=20> <center>25</center></td></tr> <tr> <td bgcolor=#ff6666 width=20> <center>9</center></td> <td bgcolor=#cccccc width=105> <center><tt>Eagles</tt></center></td> <td bgcolor=#ffcc33 width=20> <center>21</center></td></tr> <tr> <td bgcolor=#ff6666 width=20> <center>10</center></td> <td bgcolor=#cccccc width=105> <center><tt>Melbourne</tt></center></td> <td bgcolor=#ffcc33 width=20> <center>20</center></td></tr></tbody></table>

imported_bronco

Willow no i wouldn't call a Brisbane side missing Ben Ikin, Scott Prince, Gordon Tallis and Phillip Lee understrength, oh no way. Geez a player like Gordon Tallis is only the best forward in the world, like really who needs him? Pull ya head out of ya arse.
I certainly think Johns is worth 26 points. Hes certainly worth 14 points, he would've made up for those and stopped the late 2 tries. Newcastle are a totally different side with Johns and we saw this the way they were streaking away at the top of the table before Johns was injured on the eve of Origin.
Don't write off the Broncos until they have played today. If we win we go into the top 3 and we have quite an easy run home. If we go into the semis with 3 wins on the trot and 3rd place we will be a force, things change quickly in this game.
St George-Illawara don't look like title contenders to me, i expect them to get past the first week of the finals but they will do it tough and eventually will meet up with Parramatta and learn the definition of a beating.
bronco

Willow,
The Broncos are really on a slide. I hope the Sharks pound them. Fifth spot for the Dragons with a game against the Sharks would be good for the finals series. It would be nice to see the Warriors get in front of the Roosters and maybe even win a game.
I still think it is a bit of a contest to see who will run second. Mind you a couple of years ago down here in the AFL Essendon was the gun team but got knocked out in the preliminary final by Carlton - the glorious uncertainty of football.
Bigbopper.

To be honest I'm in a dilema. Who do I go for? Cronulla or Brisbane? The only real satisfaction I think I'll get is if it's a draw.
emwink.gif

Bronco: Don't worry mate, I'm fully aware of the personnel missing out Bronco way and I'm not writing them off. But I wouldn't be so quick to write off the Dragons either. They're looking completely different to the team that were beat by Parramatta a few weeks back and before the loss to NQ, they were being seriously considered as contenders. Our biggest problem seems to be inconsistency.

Big Bopper: I think the top eight is pretty much set now. I can't see the Warriors missing out and the Roosters (what a poor run they've been having of late) can probably count themselves lucky that they have a 4 point break on the Eagles. I'm sure both Easts and NZ supporters are hoping for the Raiders to roll the Beagles today.

Bronco
With 9 state of origin players still in the team, are you saying that with out tallis the turd you are just another ordinary 1 man team?
Willow no dilema here just barrack for injuries

Bronco,
With all those players out do you think that the team that took the field today might actually fit under the salary cap?
Bigbopper