Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stating the obvious

Unreal V

I might be stating the obvious here, and it has been touched on a few times through other threads but would you all agree our biggest problem now is our back line.

We have all had a go at the halves combinations and yes they should be given time to develop but isn't the problem that we do not have a back line that can work together. This being the case what is there to organise you can't balme the halves, they have been passing and kicking but no one is home. Defensivley the right side has been a discrace and with Vialeki out the opposition can take their pick.

My back line would be:

1. Burt - he has proved he can play their
2. Peterson - He is a winger, with strict instructions not to come in field.
3. Wade - Strong runner and good defender and can cover peterson
4. Anderson/Vialeki - ??/ a natural
5. Eric Grothe

Work on these combinations and stick with it.

As for the havles the combination of Dykes and Wagon did work until Dykes became to predictable and there was no real secon receiver (option). Don't laugh but I still think Dykes is a good 5/8 and Witt or Thorman or both (interchange) as 1/2.

No 9 spot should go to Morris with an understanding that it can never be taken away from him; James Webster is not in his class. These silly mind games and internal competions ala PJ Marsh and Drew do not work; in the end we lost them both.

The point is we have the talent on paper to be a great attacking side.

Share your thoughts and try not to use the word F*** or Shit in your response.

Pazza

Its IMO a combination between poor character and lack of talent in the whole side. Hopefully a new coach can help build stronger characters in the side and improve the players the side already has.

Unreal V

Pazza said:
Its IMO a combination between poor character and lack of talent in the whole side. Hopefully a new coach can help build stronger characters in the side and improve the players the side already has.

Not meant to be an anti smith or sack the coach type thread

DarkAvenger26

Morris i reckon screws us just as much as he does good, always giving away penalties! Thormans looking good just needs to gel, i like his kicking game...something we've needed. Whats happened to witt???

Phillips

i'd have:

1. Burt - as stated he was playing good footy here at the start of the season
2. Langi - im a big fan of his, and think he is better suited on the wing
3. Graham - played great last yr, a little shakey so far this season but he will get better
4. McKinnon - needs to be in the starting 17, im also a big fan of his ever since i saw him play a few yrs back
5. Grothe - best winger at the club

but hopefully we can sign some of the class players of contract such as Utai, Faafili & Whatuira to improve our back line and make us a stronger team

in the halves i think our future is
#6. Thorman
#7. Witt
#9. Morris

possibly a utility player on the bench such as Muspratt or Pai

ParraMatt

1. Mckinnon
2. Gruzska
3. Burt
4. Anderson
5. Grothe
6. Thorman
7. Witt
8. Vella
9. Morris
10. Afamasaga
11. Hindmarsh (c)
12. Hopkins
13. Mateo

Reserves
14. Stapleton
15. Dykes
16. Kaufusi
17. Armit

That should be the team, Im sure no one will totally agree but anyone pretty happy with that. Cement it and start practising some tactics in attack witht he backline and they'll be right. Pump Kaufusi up before he comes on and he will be a force for the time he is on!

ParraMatt

Yes it is mate, But what can you do, I think we have enough loyal and passionate supporters even on this board to overcome this and get through it as a team. We love Parramatta, And always will no matter what we go through and eventually things will go our way.

For what it's worth, at almost halfway through, here are my must keeps for the rest of the year:

1. McKinnon - by all reports going well
2. Burt -Don't think he cuts it at FB or in centres
5. Grothe - Goes OK.
6/7. Witt - Did fine last year, let him get his confidence back
7/6. Thorman - Let him have a go, maybe he'll be a keeper for '05?
11. Hindy - owns this jersey for however long he wants it!

And here are the rest:
3. I really don't know. Ash I guess?
4. I really don't know. We've tried everyone!
13. Wagon - (sigh) but he tackles. He should never be in the backline.
12. Stapleton/Cayless when back
10. Tsoulos/Cannings when back
9. Morris/Webster from interchange
8. I really don't know. Just not Vella anymore.

I've already named three bench players, so throw in Armit, Hopkins or Widders. And there's still a spare spot in the backline too... There's room to try out some juniors for the future, in the hope of some development ahead of 2005.

I don't think we have the players in the backline at the moment to compete. Vaealiki and Lyon would have been great, but with them both gone it has left a huge hole. I still say McKinnon at fullback, Burt and Grothe on the wings, Graham in the centres with possibly Ben Smith. They'll still struggle though.

The big reason they aren't competing is that all bar one or two of our forwards are not laying a platform. Its not isolated to one or two players in the pack either - Hindy excluded - most of the players in the pack can lay claim to one good game alongside average ones at best. Whilst your forwards are not laying a platform you can have Johns, Lockyer and Minichiello in your backline and they will struggle.

Misty Bee

What killed us yesterday was not moving up in defence, and not chasing kicks. Where was the flying Luke Burt when the kicks were on? The microcosm of our day was when we kicks, and Vella chased with all his heart, and turned around to find that there were no backs near him! A bloody front rower being the sole kick chaser!!!!

I don't want to see Luke Burt in firsts again unless he is ready to play to his potenial. He looked slow and useless yesterday. Widders, I thought, was fine at No. 4. Anderson can be cut some slack too.

Smith needs to feed them heaps of red cordial before the next game. They need to be fired up!