Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stuart Raper's BIG test.

When Raper picks the team this arvo, we will see how much he has learn't from the past 5 games about the team and whether he is an astute coach or not.

Firstly, Who will play hooker? BOSNICH is NO HOOKER and we need quicker service from this possie than what we've been getting. Sullivan would be good but I here he has a hip injury. So I would like to see PAT GIBSON given a go.

Secondly, RYAN McGOLDRICK is not a first grade player! He misses at least half a dozen tackles EVERY week. Lacks speed and size. He has no ability to set up his Winger into space. I don't want to see his name on the team sheet.

Thirdly, The pack has been beaten too often this season. Isemonger is not up to it nor Bosnich in any position. JASON WILLIAMS should be in the starting 13. He has awesome go forward and the only forward of late to offer SECOND PHASE play. GREAT BUY!!!!!!!!!

Lastly, HILDER is not a 5/8. We definately need more creativity out there. That means a specialist half needs to be picked. Dallalana or Aitkin, take your pick but we definately need one of them in this position.

If Raper cannot see these glaring faults in the team at the moment then I'm sorry he is just not up to it!

Sharkie73

I agree Dragon Slayer,

Sully or Gibbo at hooker.

Mcgoldrick has to go. he has had 5 games to show what he can do and he's done bugger all. I think give Franze another crack at it or bring in Kent.

Williams should be in the starting side and I think Wessel should be given a go off the bench, his form in PL warrants it.

Hilder back to lock Bailey to PL he needs some time to reflect on his poor form, and I think Dallalana in at 5\8 plus he can kick goals.

A few untruths there.

Mcgoldrick actually missed (officially, not NRL web site stat) 2 tackles & made 29 on Sat night.
One that he missed was very important & wasn't really a miss but poor comms between him & Reick on the play.
I want Goldie to have a bit of time in PL but not because of poor facts.

Secondly, Williams will be in the team & apparently has only just started playing himself into firsts fitness level because of injury. So he was not an option prior to this week.
He is obviously not fit enough to start, but obviously fit enough to make the team in some capacity.

Thirdly, Aitken, Vagana, Brad Fittler, Barry Andrews or Wally f**king Lewis would not have made one ounce of difference out there last week.
To judge Hilder on that game is quite silly. He touched the ball twice & served the centres both times.

If the coach has to do anything, he just has to get the weight back on the feild & get some penetration.

Horses for courses.
This week sees the premier team in the comp at ruck play, inside passes & close angle running around the ruck. The squad needs to have good defenders in this area.

TRIALS

Dragon Slayer said:
Secondly, RYAN McGOLDRICK is not a first grade player! He misses at least half a dozen tackles EVERY week. Lacks speed and size. He has no ability to set up his Winger into space. I don't want to see his name on the team sheet.

Rieck is twice as bad as mcgoldrick!.
He may miss a few more than then
the rest of the backs but have a look
at how many more he is making, as
for having no speed ...when have you
seen him in space?
I think he will be a good footballer although
i do agree that he is not setting the world
on fire ....but he is a better option than the
other centres we currently have.

Fact is the team is playing like shit,
so singleing players out is pointless,
until they actually start giving a shit
and playing as a team, making changes
won't get us anywhere ...ffs rieck is
no where near a first grade footballer,
he can f*cken run but he ain't no
footballer, but dropping him won't do
shit ...till we start to back eachother
up and play as a team ...until then demanding
changes will do nothing but make
the poor bloke called in look twice as bad
than he actually is.

out of our lot i think RMc is about
the only bloke out there that looks like
he gives a f*ck if we win or loose.

i'm expecting another bagging for sticking up for mcgoldrick,
but i'll bet my balls he'll be a F*cken great footy player ...i just hope it's
at the sharks.

On Hilder at 5/8

We all agreed Mellor wasnt a winger after one game
Then he came out and carved it up in the subsequent games

I think give him another go as link man

SirShire

I think we should leave McGoldrick in the squad. And put Bails in centres if Vagana is suspended. Hilder back to lock and Dalla or Aitken at 5/8

Alan Shore

Raper's big test is if he can make the big decisions - like giving Bailey and Isemonger the punt.

And where the hell are Newton and Vagg?

SirShire

More I think about Dalla in the squad, the more I like it. I wouldn't put Franze anywhere near the 1st grade squad. Kent is a good player and should be the next in line.

shadowboxer

The thing is though Mcgoldrick has had 5 weeks, i reckon they should give someone else a go. I know, who is there?? Well i agree give Kent a run. I have lost patience with Mcgoldrick, i got slapped for bagging him after round 1 but now i tink he needs to get some reality

SirShire

They wont drop McGoldrick if they choose to bring another centre in (hopefully Kent). I think he is a decent centre, but I rate Kent higher.