Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team List Toosday: Round 4 Eels v Panthers

He set up a powerhouse mate. Look at Penriths juniors the poured threw. And the rabbits he sold off like Waqa to us.

and it took him ten years and he didn't have to deal with a plumber running the club and losing points and the crap that BA had to deal with, and never once whinged like the old blow heart does

I'm not defending BA, he is who he is, I just don't see the appeal of the old prune

and it took him ten years and he didn't have to deal with a plumber running the club and losing points and the crap that BA had to deal with, and never once whinged like the old blow heart does

I'm not defending BA, he is who he is, I just don't see the appeal of the old prune

He has contacts imo and gets deals done. Look at Burton vs Moses. Burton was never going anywhere. He loved the place that much and just earned a fair deal. Moses has been here for what now 6yrs? The guy only cares about milking us for every cent. Same as Matto,RCG. It's the culture we've set up imo.

Glenneel

Yates is on bench for NSW CUP with Rein at hooker and Moimesea at lock.
If everyone is fit I am unsure he will make NSW CUP. There is Murchie,Lane,Rodwell out. Monty Betham may also be seen as a guy they want to blood in NSW cup.

Is Laizou injured or has that Mchinnick taken over in pecking order?
How is Asi progressing? Is he a potential replacement for Blake?

emjaycee

Whoever was responsible for accepting Matto’s decision is a dope. I don’t know if course, but senior members of the administration/coaching must have had some involvement.
the whole thing is a culture killer
No one at the club 'accepted' it. The NRL asked Matto, "do you want the fine or suspension?" He chose suspension.
Club was never happy about it and tried to get it reversed but at the end of the day, it was Matto's decision and one he regretted after making it.

emjaycee

It wouldn’t happen at a well run club period, could you see some telling Bennett,Bellamy or Wobbo nah sorry I’m missing the 3 weeks?? Lol nope.
Nah, but I can see some of Bellamy's players putting cocaine up their noses and getting caught.

#wellrunclubnot

Glenneel

We could, if we tighten up some things

Its the following two (or three) im concerned about more so...
I think stupid mistakes and poor bench utilisation (overusing our 2/3 middles) has had a profound influence on our poor results and contributing to our poor defence.

JokerEel

He set up a powerhouse mate. Look at Penriths juniors the poured threw. And the rabbits he sold off like Waqa to us.

He also gave Waqa and Reg 5 year contracts.

He was good at the Panthers into he early years when building the staff. But he didn't do much with the Juniors That was due to other people.

He also had to fall on his sword and leave before they won shit.

JokerEel

He has contacts imo and gets deals done. Look at Burton vs Moses. Burton was never going anywhere. He loved the place that much and just earned a fair deal. Moses has been here for what now 6yrs? The guy only cares about milking us for every cent. Same as Matto,RCG. It's the culture we've set up imo.

It's not Gus who has contacts it the Sponsor.....

Laundry went to Dubbo and met Burton's parents I am sure there is some under the table dealings going on or future employment opportunities. But that's just how you win these days.

Gazzamatta

Or maybe Matto told them all the to get f**ked and went on holidays ? What we do know is that Matto regretted his decision because it was made in haste and asked that the club represent his regret to the NRL and switch it. The players said as much this week.

Sometimes things are are not as simple as it seems or the answer does not slot neatly into agendas as some might want.
Or the club finally got involved and said fu*k you Matto we will fix this and you're playing which failed miserably. All maybes buddy. Too little too late Im afraid. Anyway lets hope he plays like hes off contract tomorrow night. Cheer em on for me mate.

I’m not defending BA but……………….’

Nah, but I can see some of Bellamy's players putting cocaine up their noses and getting caught.

#wellrunclubnot
Remember when Corey Norman was running amok at Casinos and we lost our most promising forward in Junior?? Short memory.

Storm are probably the most successful expansion team in the history of Aus sport to say they aren’t well run is idiotic. Especially when you are defending a board and coach who wouldn’t know what success was if it bit them in the arse. It’s hilarious the positions you huggers twist yourselves into to defend the indefensible it’s very exciting in fact!!

Gazzamatta

It's not Gus who has contacts it the Sponsor.....

Laundry went to Dubbo and met Burton's parents I am sure there is some under the table dealings going on or future employment opportunities. But that's just how you win these days.
Im a bit of a Tic Tok watcher. There was an interview with Mark Bouris (Yellowbrick Road Financial I think) posted talking about his association with The Brave Chooks and being a board member forever. He remarked that he took Brandon Smith out to lunch (before he signed). Not to offer him more money but because he genuinly liked the guy and wanted to meet him. (Yeah, sure) Anyway he went on to explain how The Brave Chooks Board can offer what other clubs cant. They can offer success and support post footy.
Says it all really.

Gazzamatta

I finished off Tales of Dolphin Town last night. I really enjoyed it. A couple of small pieces on Ray Stone. Wayne loves the bloke as do others in the Dolphins Management. Apparently he was one of the first blokes Wayne chased. One nice comment where he said he really would have loved to win a comp with Parra b4 he left. Very different to how Rheed is presenting. Anyway worth a look.

So, in essence all these press conferences are a complete waste of time, which that one certainly was.
They definitely are. The pressers are mandatory or else no merkin would do them. They have nothing to gain and everything to lose by talking to the media.

Incorrect

I finished off Tales of Dolphin Town last night. I really enjoyed it. A couple of small pieces on Ray Stone. Wayne loves the bloke as do others in the Dolphins Management. Apparently he was one of the first blokes Wayne chased. One nice comment where he said he really would have loved to win a comp with Parra b4 he left. Very different to how Rheed is presenting. Anyway worth a look.
I miss Ray.... We've lost a bit of mongrel without him....

Well, if "they are just moving away from making him a utility" then maybe he should have been - but now shouldn't be?
I was on the verge of listing him as a utility but now I’m not.
To be honest, it was just a joke joyce...
I know. But your jokes are trying too hard for a gotcha, which is why they fall flat. The way to expose such smartarsery is to play your questions straight.