Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team of the 80's-5/8th

who was the best 5/8th of the 80's?

• brett kenny

• Terry Lamb

• Wally Lewis

• Cliff Lyons

Redback71

do we pick kenny cause his an eel? or do we honestly think he was better than wally lewis?

True EEL

as a combination Kenny and Sterling and i would normally just pick Bert, but King Wally was footy and SOO in the 80's and he could also play a little too

If we are talking Tests and SOO well Lewis hands down but NSWRL in the 80's Bert was the king.....

I wasn't around in the 80's and only got into League in 2000.

Although I have done my homework RE: 80's legends like Turvey, Bert, Sterlo, Beetson, etc.

But from the mail I get, Brett Kenny was one of the classiest 5/8's of all time, Wally Lewis only really ever shone at Origin level and Lamb was a dirty prick.

So my vote goes to Kenny.

PJ Marshal

Wally fo sho at 5/8, as much as i think Kenny was an awesome player and he is my fav old school eel, Wally is untouchable! even at club footy in the qld comp he carved for valleys and wynumm

Eelementary said:
But from the mail I get, Brett Kenny was one of the classiest 5/8's of all time, Wally Lewis only really ever shone at Origin level and Lamb was a dirty prick.

'mentary,

Brett Kenny and Wally Lewis are probably my 2 all time favourite players. Closely, and I mean closely, followed by Sterling and then Wayne Pearce (rated him highly as a competitor).

My opinion is that while Lewis was a legend in Origin and Tests that saw him push Kenny out to the centres, Kenny probably shaded him in origin contests when they were directly up against each other....but there was not a struck match between them. Lewis probably had to be at 5/8 where Bert was versatile enough to play in the centres for the Kangaroos. They wouldn't have dreamt of playing Wally at lock in the rep scene.

The King dominated the club scene up here in the Wynnum side that had Miles, Dowling, Lindner, Scott and others.

Kenny shone in his years at Parra, particularly the early/mid 80's when we were on fire and was probably in the top 3 players of the NSWRL during that time.

Kenny was a better attacking 5/8 but the Kings' ability to read the game was/is superior to Andrew Johns' now....IMO.

I think the game was blessed to have these 2 playing in the sam era but after reading Berts' book I think he saw it differently!! ;-)

Belly in Brisvegas said:
Eelementary said:

'mentary,

Brett Kenny and Wally Lewis are probably my 2 all time favourite players. Closely, and I mean closely, followed by Sterling and then Wayne Pearce (rated him highly as a competitor).

My opinion is that while Lewis was a legend in Origin and Tests that saw him push Kenny out to the centres, Kenny probably shaded him in origin contests when they were directly up against each other....but there was not a struck match between them. Lewis probably had to be at 5/8 where Bert was versatile enough to play in the centres. They wouldn't have dreamt of playing Wally at lock in the rep scene.

The King dominated the club scene up here in the Wynnum side that had Miles, Dowling, Lindner, Scott and others.

Kenny shone in his years at Parra, particularly the early/mid 80's when we were on fire and was probably in the top 3 players of the NSWRL during that time.

Kenny was a better attacking 5/8 but the Kings' ability to read the game was/is superior to Andrew Johns' now....IMO.

I think the game was blessed to have these 2 playing in the sam era but after reading Berts' book I think he saw it differently!! ;-)

I've said it before Belly and I'll say it again - Lewis was a lock who got moved to 5/8 because Qld didn't have one - the push came from Qld to play him ahead of Bert so they'd have a couple in the Test team at least. The reason for Lewis playing 5/8 was politics..... :lol: even Pricey thought so!

True EEL

Colonel Eel said:
If we are talking Tests and SOO well Lewis hands down but NSWRL in the 80's Bert was the king.....

agreed, except for the 1982 Roo tour (i think) when Wally and Yurvey left as the incumbent halves combo and came back as understudy's to Burt and Sterlo who played every test on the tour

go you good things!!!!! :D

Colonel Eel said:
Belly in Brisvegas said:
Eelementary said:

'mentary,

My opinion is that while Lewis was a legend in Origin and Tests that saw him push Kenny out to the centres, Kenny probably shaded him in origin contests when they were directly up against each other....but there was not a struck match between them. Lewis probably had to be at 5/8 where Bert was versatile enough to play in the centres. They wouldn't have dreamt of playing Wally at lock in the rep scene.

I've said it before Belly and I'll say it again - Lewis was a lock who got moved to 5/8 because Qld didn't have one - the push came from Qld to play him ahead of Bert so they'd have a couple in the Test team at least. The reason for Lewis playing 5/8 was politics..... :lol: even Pricey thought so!

Don't make me come over there Colonel!! ;-)

Belly in Brisvegas said:
Eelementary said:

'mentary,

Belly in Brisvegas said:
Here's a hypothetical...if Lewis was an Eel what do you think Gibbo/Monie would have done with him and Bert?

We wouldn't have had Lewis because we already had Pricey at lock and didn't need another one. :p

Cranky Franky had the right idea Belly.....

Colonel Eel said:
Belly in Brisvegas said:
Here's a hypothetical...if Lewis was an Eel what do you think Gibbo/Monie would have done with him and Bert?

We wouldn't have had Lewis because we already had Pricey at lock and didn't need another one. :p

You're a tough nut to crack mate!!

CrazyEel

Even Lewis in his book admits he couldn't handle Kenny. They were different style players with Lewis being a great organising 5/8 and Kenny being a great attacking 5/8. Kenny played outside Sterling so never had to be an organiser. Kenny ousted Lewis from 5/8 on the 82 Tour and Lewis never won a MOM when directly opposing Kenny at SOO. They were both fantastic players but IMO Kenny had the greater individual flair, elusiveness and footwork where Lewis had the bettter passing game and organisation.

Belly in Brisvegas said:
Colonel Eel said:
Belly in Brisvegas said:

You're a tough nut to crack mate!!

:lol: When it comes to Lewis I'll never crack.....