Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Teams Saints vs Gold Coast

Sims returns to Dragons lineup for Titans Clash

Written by: Dragons Media

May 15th 2007 04:07 PM

image.php

Local Junior Ashton Sims will return from a knee injury for the Dragons in their Round 10 clash with the Titans at WIN Stadium this Friday.

Sims will start in the backrow, replacing Chris Houston and Wes Naiqama will replace NSW Origin representative Matt Cooper in the centres.

Corey Payne, Ben Ellis and Sam Isemonger have all been named on the interchange for their NRL return. Dan Hunt will play Premier League along with Houston.

The Dragons will be looking to repeat their Round 1 efforts where they defeated the Titans 20-18 at Suncorp Stadium.

Unavailable Dragons:
Mark Gasnier (pectoral), Brett Morris (shoulder), and Tom Hewitt (Hamstring).

NRL Dragons
v Gold Coast Titans
7.30pm Friday 18 May
WIN Stadium
Coach: Nathan Brown

1. Ben Hornby (c)
2. Jason Nightingale
3. Chase Stanley
4. Wes Naiqama
5. Josh Morris
6. Dean Young
7. Matthew Head
8. Justin Poore
9. Simon Woolford
10. Jason Ryles (c)
11. Ashton Sims
12. Beau Scott
13. Ben Creagh

14. Adam Peek
15. Danny Wicks
16. Corey Payne
17. Ben Ellis
18. Sam Isemonger

Premier League Dragons
v Newcastle Knights
5.30pm Friday 18 May
WIN Stadium
Coach: Steven Price

1. Richard WILLIAMS
2. Rota SETU
3. Luke MACDOUGALL
4. Keith LULIA
5. Frank SAMIA
6. Tony CAINE
7. Reece BLAYNEY
8. Charlie LEAENO
9. Rangi CHASE
10. Dan HUNT
11. Ryan POWELL (c)
12. Chris HOUSTON
13. Ricky THORBY

14. Matt PRIOR
15. Rhys LOVEGROVE
17. Pat ROSSER
18. Casey ELLIS
19. Ricardo YOUNG
[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]WWW.JUBILEEAVENUE.COM.AU[/FONT]

Titans:

1. Richie Mathers
2. Mat Petersen
3. Mat Rogers
4. Brett Delaney
5. Jake Webster
6. Matthew Hilder
7. Scott Prince ©
8. Kris Kahler
9. Nathan Friend
10. Brad Meyers
11. Anthony Laffranchi
12. Mark Minichiello
13. Luke Swain

14. Michael Hodgson
15. James Stosic
16. Gavin Cooper
17. Clint Amos

The troll's posts and fair dinkum replies => Swamp

There's already another thread for his rantings.

This thread to discuss the teams for this weekend.

Cheers.

dragonfire

like the team, so obviously Stanley didnt break his hand??? Good to see Sims making his return. going to be an interesting battle this friday night, i think the Titans could cut us apart up the middle if we dont improve our defence and Prince is playing some great footy so definitely hope our defence improves. With Brett Morris what is exactly wrong with his shoulder?

Have to admit that I was really hoping that Prince would get the call up to Qld. But Lockyer had to go and pass a fitness test.

Overall, its looks close.

It'll be interesting to see how much the Titans miss Bailey.

dragonfire

Willow said:
Have to admit that I was really hoping that Prince would get the call up to Qld. But Lockyer had to go and pass a fitness test.

Overall, its looks close.

It'll be interesting to see how much the Titans miss Bailey.

same here, definitely wouldnt have minded Prince not playing for them and also agree it will be interesting to see how they go without Bull, seriously watching him play for them sucks, he is one player you know for sure will put in 100% week in week out. This week i think if our forwards step it up we could go alright

fresh_mayo

thought houston was solid but scott was great on the weekend along with stanly & hornby our best. Still wouldn't have dropped houston though. Sims has got to play prop, hes wasted out wide in attack. Creagh should be the one playing wider hes quicker than ashton so he can break the line better.

Anyway we seem to have no idea how to play at the moment.

Steel Dragon

As long as the Titans have Laffranchi - they will definitely be a big threat up front.
And with Prince conducting the backs - it should make for a tough game.

Time for Dragon forwards to stand up and be counted!

The Preacher

Good to see that Chase Stanley doesn't have to miss this week because of his U/19 selection. I actually thought they'd have them in a camp as well, and make them unavailable for this week.

Slippery Morris

Only if it is by Plenty but can'e see it happening.

I reckon if Browny gets the boot it won't be until the end of the season.

It's gonna be a looooong season.

Southernsaint

Brown's lucky the game is at WIN and not at Jubilee.

A loss at Kogarah could have seen some "interesting" post match scenes...

Steel Dragon

I love how we're all talking up the loss like its a forgone conclusion!

I know we're not really, but everyone is just looking at the game realistically, and at the moment it could go either way.

Still funny though!

Godz Illa

Well tbh it's far from a foregone conclusion. We dominated their forwards in round 1 and this time they'll be sans Bailey. Mark Minichiello is scary but we have the perfect counterpoint - Corey Payne!

dragonfire

thommo4pm said:
Can't quite work out how Hunt & Houston get dropped for Payne & Isemonger. :crazy: ](*,)

i think Isemonger has been great for us, in my opinion we do have to many front row type forwards and need more guys who can play longer and faster in the forwards