Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Teflon Tim To The Rescue!!!!!

Magpies Forever

SHEENS PLANS TO TACKLE TIGERS' FLAWS
By Steve Jancetic, AAP

Tuesday, March 24, 2009
Wests Tigers may have given up more points than any other side over the opening two rounds of the NRL, but coach Tim Sheens knows it could have been a whole lot worse.
"Given the amount (of ball) we gave them we should have been beaten by 60," Sheens said of his side's 42-14 loss to North Queensland on Saturday night.
"You're not going to beat anyone let alone the Cowboys at home with that amount of turnovers."
That's why the Tigers, kitted out in full padded suits, were forced to slog it out for over an hour on an unseasonably warm autumn's day at Concord Oval on Tuesday.
It was all tackle, tackle, tackle - Sheens drumming into his side the importance of keeping the defensive line intact.
But according to Sheens, tackling wasn't the Tigers biggest issue, rather it was their inability to hold onto the ball against the Cowboys.
No ball means you're tackling, and the Tigers did plenty of it.
"It's an issue, but the problem with our defence, it was self-inflicted with respect to the amount of ball we turned over," Sheens said.
"Normally in a game eight or nine errors from us is acceptable - we had 20 errors - and a lot of them on first tackle.
"Discipline with penalties and discipline with carrying the football and some poor passing were things that were unacceptable.
"Any defence is going to be put under the pump."
Backrower Chris Heighington said the Tigers would need to have a better attitude in defence against the Sydney Roosters on Friday night, particularly with halves Braith Anasta and Mitchell Pearce having found form against Canberra last weekend.
"Our attack wasn't too good and we were dropping a lot of ball, it puts a lot of pressure on your defence," Heighington said.
"Hopefully we can complete our sets, get 50 per cent of the ball and then we can probably defend a little bit better and get off the line a bit better.
"They (Pearce and Anasta) are both quality players, you've just (got to try and) minimise they're contribution to the game. You can't really take them out them game."

http://www.weststigers.com.au/default.aspx?s=article-display&id=4202

For chrissake give it up Teflon- few believe you anymore- we have heard the same crap year in year out and nothing changes. Tell me Teflon, if defence is the problem why are you persisting with the failed Simmons as defensive coach? Why hasn't he been booted?

tiger_nick

i feel much better, one hour of work will definitely make up for the last six years of atrocious defence.

On the way to school sport which was like at 1:00, we saw them setting up there.
On the way back at 2:30, they were all gone.

matty-ducati

ild like to pose the question wtf is royces job at the club? isnt he the defensive coach? tackling coach? f**k me dead

Magpies Forever

ild like to pose the question wtf is royces job at the club? isnt he the defensive coach? tackling coach? f**k me dead

Yep. This is the bit that gets me- why the hell arent the press- league journalists and radio commentators asking these questions????

Why is it WT coaching staff and management NEVER get asked these simple but valid questions? (and follow up the attempt at deflecting spin with further penetrating questions and demand answers). Other clubs get it eg Penrith / Matthew Elliot

WTF do we get from WT managemwnt? Crap like Benji and Robbie HOuse warming party and thre attempt at the woprld record for the chicken dance at 1/2 time !!!!!!!!!!

Ronnie Dobbs

Yep. This is the bit that gets me- why the hell arent the press- league journalists and radio commentators asking these questions????

Why is it WT coaching staff and management NEVER get asked these simple but valid questions? (and follow up the attempt at deflecting spin with further penetrating questions and demand answers). Other clubs get it eg Penrith / Matthew Elliot

WTF do we get from WT managemwnt? Crap like Benji and Robbie HOuse warming party and thre attempt at the woprld record for the chicken dance at 1/2 time !!!!!!!!!!

Mate, very very valid point.

The media are still smitten with what Sheens did in 05.

matty-ducati

f**king joke! Royce is failing to do his job. All pre season there was talk we been working on defence. We get thumped sheens has to work on defence. Sheens stated end of the season last year there would be taps on shoulders. Well when/if we dont make the 8 again, have terrible defence its time for us fans to demand answers and be givin a please explain on several issue. 1) Failure to make 8 3 years running 2) Failure to sign a full squad/loose players 3) Failure to recruit & retain 4) Please explain from coaching staff

The club expects us to buy merchandise, attend games, become members, well its time we want answers.

SaveTheChildren

Why don't you pull your head in pal! This chicken dance has the potential to be bigger than anything we have ever seen at the Tigers.

I have it on good authority, that when I was a lad, Chicken we the be all and the end all, culminating in the baked Chrissy Chook. Show some go@#$deammn respect! This chicken dance could be anything.

Steve Noyce, revered my every dumb Wests supporter who thought he actually gave a sh*t, preferred Chicken for tea! I for one, thank the Portuguese for adding some interest!

Magpies Forever

If we get beaten, and beaten badly- lets hope the media start asking these questions- not about the attempted chicken dance record but the football teams effort, selection policy, recruitment effort and coaching staff.

Dunno why, but I still hope in my heart WT can win, but on the evidence so far my head says we are in for a trouncing tonight.

N.C.

Is it possible Sheens will start to cop some curly questions now that he is the ARL coach? I mean, they can take that sort of rubbish from a club has-been, but from the national coach? Heavens to Betsy!

macnaz

Is it possible Sheens will start to cop some curly questions now that he is the ARL coach? I mean, they can take that sort of rubbish from a club has-been, but from the national coach? Heavens to Betsy!
NO!! Have at a look at all the dinosaur selectors that have failed for years, both for Country and State and they still have their free meal ticket. If the footy public cant budge them there is NO WAY they will ever oust the Shinning Teflon Tim.

macnaz

Hey stop paying out on the chicken dance record, seriously its the only major acheivement we are likely to accomplish this year! So make the 7-25 minute walk to the SFS and be part of history. BUT WAIT THERES MORE ! We will also get the bonus of watching the chicken dance all over our arrrse in first grade as well. f**k me !!!!! A double header ,WHAT A BARGAIN :) Hope everyone has their membership paid up so they dont miss out

Magpies Forever

One thing for sure I'll never call SFS our home ground- I dont care what WT management think or care to call it.

I've gone from Pratten Park, to Lidcombe, to Campbelltown (and if memory serves me correctly a few games at Concord Oval too) and happily shared with Leichhardt but I cant take SFS or even the Homebush Stadium as home games- at best a neutral venue. But, how the hell can we even think or try to call SFS a home game against the Roosters when it is their permanent home ground.

Anyway- good luck to the boys tonite- I suspect they will need every ounce they can get.

gallagher

Why don't you pull your head in pal! This chicken dance has the potential to be bigger than anything we have ever seen at the Tigers.

I have it on good authority, that when I was a lad, Chicken we the be all and the end all, culminating in the baked Chrissy Chook. Show some go@#$deammn respect! This chicken dance could be anything.

Steve Noyce, revered my every dumb Wests supporter who thought he actually gave a sh*t, preferred Chicken for tea! I for one, thank the Portuguese for adding some interest!

Poor mans knobonthehill who was a poor mans tigger. Enjoy the win?