Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The 2005 Christmas Thread

Misanthrope

NOTE: I will be watching this thread closely for off topic posts. If I see them, they'll be deleted.

Alright, so Christmas is something that I'm sure means a lot to a whole bunch of us, so I thought what better way to share the Christmas spirit than with a thread dedicated to all things Christmas?

So, I cannot wait for Christmas. I may be 22, but I'm still just as big a kid as ever. I can guarantee that this Christmas morning I'll be awake with my brothers and sisters at 5am and sneaking out to see what's been left under the Christmas tree. With only one brother still a believer in Big S, you'd think the older kids would be content to sleep in until he woke up - but each and every year we're creeping out to the living room to get a glimpse of our gifts and having to wake him up so we can open him. I think that's what I love the most about Christmas, that rush of excitement as we all creep through the house and sit around the tree waiting for our parents to get up.

By 7am we're done unwrapping gifts and Mum's in the kitchen frying up bacon and eggs in something of a tradition. I'm lucky to stay awake through breakfast, usually exhausted by the morning's events, but I'm up again for the big Christmas lunch Mum and my sister prepare. My mother thinks that gift giving and the Christian associations are the best part of Christmas (a notion I tend to agree with), but my father is a firm believer in the importance of fine foods for the big day. Ham, turkey, chicken, prawns, countless salads, various 'exotic' fruits, desserts, and all of the punch and CWB made egg-knog we can eat caps off the day's festivities.

By 3pm everyone is either asleep, settled in front of the television watching a new DVD, or off somewhere trying out whatever it is 'Santa' left.

I absolutely adore Christmas. From the carols that start playing in late November to the last carolling at midnight mass. From the bustle of buying Christmas presents to the rustle of wrapping paper as you have to literally wade through it to get out of the living room. The smell of fresh baked cookies and the tinny music that our Christmas lights play.

When I get home on Thursday night and see the house alight with my father's annually growing Christmas lights project I'll know it's well and truly Christmas.

I know my traditions and loves will differ from others, but I just wanted to take this moment to wish everybody on the Knights' forum a wonderful Christmas. Whilst the Crusade are all close friends who have made my first year in Newcastle tremendous, I consider everyone on here friends to some extent. I don't know where I'd be on a lazy afternoon without my LU family.

So, from me to all of you, I sincerely hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a prosperous New Year. May you find happiness, get that gift you've been hoping for, see your friends and family, and not forget what the day is about once it's stripped of its commerciality.

Jono078

I wish everyone a happy Christmas aswell.

I absolutely adore Christmas. From the carols that start playing in late November to the last carolling at midnight mass. From the bustle of buying Christmas presents to the rustle of wrapping paper as you have to literally wade through it to get out of the living room. The smell of fresh baked cookies and the tinny music that our Christmas lights play.

In 2002/2003 I was in Canada for Christmas (and New Years). And damn Christmas is great out there. You have every single (almost anyway!) house lit up with nice Christmas lights and the beautiful snow. It was so great out there. I just wish everyone in Aus would get into Christmas as they would. Every year seems to get worse here... I dont know if its because im aging or not, but Christmas is just turning into another holiday now.

Sorry If I went a lil off topic but I wish there was more spirit in Christmas over here.

Misanthrope

I know exactly what you mean, Jono. Christmas as a holiday has been increasingly devalued by its commercial aspects, so much so that I have friends who actually *hate* the holiday because of it.

I love the entire holiday, from the religious associations to the incredible commercialism of Christmas shopping and sending cards, but I can definitely understand people failing to see the significance of the holiday once it's buried within layer after layer of wrapping paper, gifts, cards, poppy Christmas songs, and specials at your local grocery store.

Been a shocker of a year for me so to be honest cant wait for it to be over.....

But will be good to catch up with the family.

Merry XMAS all and many more to follow!

Nice read CWB... sounds very similar to my family's Christmas.

Although I must say that I agree with your Dad... Christmas is about fine foods and alcohol. The presents are just a delightful bonus!

MrCharisma

I'm not a fan of Christmas at all... don't get me wrong, I've never had a bad Christmas. My mum puts alot of effort in preparing a huge arse Christmas lunch feast and there is always a fridge full of grog and stacks of presents to open... but I've never really gotten into it. I like giving presents out to my family but that really is it.

This year I'm hoping will be a little different.

This will be the first year where I'll have a girlfriend who's come over for Christmas. Not only that but this will be the first time Nikki has met my family in the 10 months we've been dating, so it should be interesting. That and then we'll be going down to her place to spend Christmas with her family for the night... so should definately be interesting.

NC

For the past few years, I haven't been the biggest fan of Christmas, but this year, I'm very much looking forward to it!

This year will be very different because we're spending it differently.. lol. We're spending it with another family this time - my brother's gf's family. Last year I spent it with them but this year, both families... every single member, will be there. Also, it'll be my nephew's FIRST christmas! He only turned 8 months on Sunday, so obviously he won't be aware of what's going on, but he LOVES it when we turn the christmas lights on, he'll just sit there and stare at the tree. And I can't wait for him to open the big present his father got him! Will be very exciting (more so for us I reckon lol).

After lunch we'll all go our separate ways, either going out, going to sleep, or playing with our presents. Also, I actually made a huge effort this year when it came to presents! I've gone out of my way to get things, even if it meant travelling to places I'd never usually shop, or having to spend some extra cash by ordering stuff online. It's only 5 days away... I can't wait! Just looking over to the tree on the other side of the room and seeing all the presents underneath it, it's exciting!

Merry Christmas to EVERYONE! Hope you all have a lovely day :D :D

MrCharisma

Believe it or not, my favourite time of Christmas is the night before when I'm wrapping presents.... I have fun with that :D

the_knights_rule

omg i loooooooooooooooooooovvvve christmas! i get so excited! i cant wait its only 5 sleeps!! i actually like working when its nearly christmas cos im so happy and so are the customers lol we went to the carols in the domain the other night and had heaps of fun. i love everything to do with christmas :D

i hope everyone has a fabulous christmas and that santa is good to you all ;-)
MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE :)

Jobdog

CWB, what a great thread :D I can honestly say that I can relate to every single thing u said. Even though I'm 19, I still look forward to Christmas morning and unwrapping whatever presents are left for me. Its only 5 days away, counting down the days, then the hours and then finally the minutes. Also what I enjoy about Christmas is the sh!tload of food that I get presented with. Its great! Although its not all about opening presents and playing with whatever you get, its always a handy bonus to be doing that. Computer games I've found are always one of the best presents to get, cos by about 8am I'm begging dad to put the game on his computer :lol: More often than not I have to ask about 15 separate times before he actually does it, but its all good :D

Hope everyone has a great Chrissy and a prosperous New Year. (and a little off topic, lets hope 2006 is the year of the Knight hey :D :D)

astrogirl

Merry Christmas everyone!!!

I just went Christmas shopping on my lunch break and went shopping for the Christmas tree at work - the gifts are to be donated to the Smith Family. It's my only chance to buy for kids so I had a lot of fun buying Narnia books and a my little pony on a scooter. Doing that is my favourite Christmas thing.

Other than that, for me Christmas is about seeing family and getting home for a few days. I'm not religious so it doesn't have that significance for me. To me the holidays are all about family and spending time with people you care about.

Misanthrope

I wish my customers were the same as yours, Stacey. People doing their final shop before Christmas are easily divided into two categories:
- Those who enjoy Christmas and are subsequently nice
- Those who do not and are absolute sh*t-heads

There's a fair few of each group, but no matter how nice the first group are, the second always seem to get under your skin. Only two days of work to go, though, so I'm sure I can survive.

garden fairy

This year seems to suck...in the 2 1/2 years I've been with Tim, we'd managed to see each other up till Christmas Eve, get our last minute shopping done, and exchange our presents. Then I get the big family Christmas, where we all stay at my nans, go to Christmas Eve mass, have a big BBQ and cake for my dad's birthday (everyone seems to forget him on Christmas Day, so we do celebrations the night before) the teenagers stay in the pool till all hours, and I have to share a bed with a wiggly 6 year old who wakes me up at 4am.

This year, I don't finish work till the 23rd, Tim and I saw each other last Saturday and had to do gift exchange because we won't see each other till the New Year, I've received one Christmas card, and I'm just not into the swing of things...ergh. Maybe next year.

Hope everyone has a restful, happy Christmas.

Stranger

For me, Christmas is just about seeing people simle as they open their pressies and the food... No way in hell would christmas be christmas without eating from about 8 in the mornin till when i sleep at night... endless phone calls from rellos and mates wishin a merry christmas, and a mail box flooded with cards...

The usual lead up of endless hours in the pool, and no sleep on the nights before because of the heat.... In ways i wish i never got an air-con because i dont use my pool nearly enough, and it dosnt feel like summer cause its not 1000 degrees...

Im just not as excited this year as i have been... i mean yeah its christmas... but yeah...

Jedda

I'd like to wish all Knights forumers a very Merry Christmas and a great New Year.

I can't believe that Christmas is only 5 days away. I really just can't seem to get into the spirit this year and spending my first Christmas apart from family (complete with guilt trip) isn't really helping matters.

May your day be relaxed and joyous with fine food and plenty of pressies!

Take care guys

Risa

I haven't really been able to get into it. I think after this week is over I will, but I've just been so flat out at work that I haven't really had time to take it all in. It's just been a crazy last few weeks. I can't believe my birthday's next week also lol.

I think the reason why is because we did the family thing on 11 December because my uncle is going back overseas just before Christmas. So at Christmas it will just be lunch with Mum, Dad, my sister & her hubby. Then Christmas night it'll be a quiet one.