Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The 2013 World Cup Thread

I generally agree with your thoughts re: Mossop, but what I did like about him was the fact that he seemed to just fit in with the team around him. I think he will be a good team man. When watching him he reminded me a little bit of Ian Hindmarsh.
If he turns out to be anything like hm I will be happy

can he kick field goals? - if not then he's no ian hindmarsh

eel01s

Looked like Mossop got through abit of work, but he did not dominate at all. He tends to get put on his back easily when getting tackled which is a worry.

Yeah I agree with this summary. Mossop is no worldbeater, but looks to me to be a real defensive workhorse. Running the ball is definitely not his forte.

Looked like he was playing right in the middle of the field, so does that make him a lock or a prop???

Pazza

Lets not forget in assessing Mossop's performance is that the Kanagroo forward pack is the best in world. No ifs no buts. I didn't see a dominate performance from Mossop but I didn't see one from any of the Burgess boys either, who dominate in the NRL week in week out.

I saw a guy who didn't look out of place at that level, didn't look dominate but didn't look out of place. Which I think is a good sign for us.

Pazza

The only difference is how often they make hitups.

Gallen, Parker and Wotmough make plenty of hit ups from lock. I think the biggest difference between lock and prop is that the prop returns the ball off the kick off. Which is why I would rather see Lussik at prop than Mossop.

IFR33K

The only difference is how often they make hitups.

Agree with what you said earlier, that his stats indicated he was playing at lock.

The only stat that probably indicates otherwise, are his total minutes played. 40 minutes is a little low, for a defensive lock. Although, there could be a number of reasons for this.

Sensai Cobra

Yeah I agree with this summary. Mossop is no worldbeater, but looks to me to be a real defensive workhorse. Running the ball is definitely not his forte.

Looked like he was playing right in the middle of the field, so does that make him a lock or a prop???

Gotta say I thought his work rate was very poor. If I wasn't looking out for him I would not have even noticed he was on the field.

The stats might suggest he got through some work in defence but all up I was disappointed.

But hey it's just one game.

Agree with what you said earlier, that his stats indicated he was playing at lock.

The only stat that probably indicates otherwise, are his total minutes played. 40 minutes is a little low, for a defensive lock. Although, there could be a number of reasons for this.

I'm sure Mossop could have played more minutes, given his low rate of involvement in attack. But it seems England wanted to start the game heavy, so they went with three props (like Souths, and also the Chooks when FPN starts). Then later in the game, they were chasing points so they went back to three big humans in the middle and removed Mossop, who obviously offers less in attack.

Sensai Cobra

Lets not forget in assessing Mossop's performance is that the Kanagroo forward pack is the best in world. No ifs no buts. I didn't see a dominate performance from Mossop but I didn't see one from any of the Burgess boys either, who dominate in the NRL week in week out.

I saw a guy who didn't look out of place at that level, didn't look dominate but didn't look out of place. Which I think is a good sign for us.

But isn't that the point. That's basically the standard he'll be up against every week in the nrl.

The burgess boys looked a class above to me.

But isn't that the point. That's basically the standard he'll be up against every week in the nrl.

The burgess boys looked a class above to me.

The Burgess boys are definitely better attacking players. They run the ball as well as any of the Australian forwards.

Lee Mossop will come to Parra as a dependable tight forward who holds his own. I expect his attitude will be as much of an asset as his playing ability.

I bleed blue & gold

Everything ive seen and heard about Mossop's attitude toward Parramatta and footy in general impresses me. It will be refreshing to have recruits like Mossop, Hoppa, Peats etc who are hard working, professional players players that also come from winning cultures.

IFR33K

Everything ive seen and heard about Mossop's attitude toward Parramatta and footy in general impresses me. It will be refreshing to have recruits like Mossop, Hoppa, Peats etc who are hard working, professional players players that also come from winning cultures.

Hopefully the winning culture rubs off on our losing culture and not the other way round.

Knowing our luck though, I ain't holding my breath.

Did anyone else think a couple of the aussie lads were carrying an extra kilo or two eg gallan, bird, thaiday compared to how they looked during the NRL season?

Thought Morris was a standout for us

I bleed blue & gold

Hopefully the winning culture rubs off on our losing culture and not the other way round.

Knowing our luck though, I ain't holding my breathe.

Hopefully mate.

New recruits + letting go a few certain players + a new coach can hopefully turn the tide.

Fingers crossed.

What he means is that even the best NRL packs aren't as good as the Aussie pack.

So he will have an easier time against NRL teams than against Australia.