Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The 5 senses, rate them.

I find it tough.

Reckon sight would be the worst to loose.

Glad I can see, hear, feel, smell, taste.

So can apes, we communicate better is all.

But the question is rate them.

I say sight no..1

Yeah sight would be my no. 1...

Smell would be my second....some terrific memorys are triggered by smell

3 touch...you can feel with all parts of your body I guess

4 taste...Id miss a charcoal grill scotch fillet taste tho

5 hearing....i reckon it would be OK not to have to put up with the BS we cop on a daily basis

SpaceMonkey

The problem with losing your sense of smell is taste is actually 90% smell, you'd find you could taste hardly anything either. That said:

1: touch (you actually be completely screwed without it, think about trying to use your limbs. Also having a wank would be impossible)
2: sight (being blind would be a pain)
3: taste (food is awesome)
4: hearing (music is great, but a lot of noise is annoying)
5: smell (but only if I can still taste)

Trying to imagine a world where your sense of touch didn't kick in would be quite weird... apart from that I've always valued sound (listening/talking, music etc) and reckon I'd miss that more at this stage of life than losing my sight? I've got a shit sense of smell (and therefore taste) so am not too bothered by them.

1. Touch
2. Sound
3. Sight
=4. Taste
=4. Smell

Mogsheen Jadwat

1. Sight
2. Touch
3. Smell
3. Taste
5. Hearing

As much as i love my music i could go without it. Smell and taste would be shit but i reckon it would improve most peoples health. Why eat shit food if you cant taste it? Might as well just eat veges and fruit 24/7. Prob end up being cheaper too.

After watching my Mother go through chemotherapy earlier this year, I'm surprised how many people have rated taste as either 4 or 5. Her chemo all but killed her taste buds and as such anything she ate tasted like cardboard. In fact it caused her to not want to eat as the food was so tasteless, it would cause her to gag. It was that bad she all but didn't eat for 2 weeks and she collapsed (true story).

She's off the chemo now (in case you were concerned), and she can taste her food and enjoys eating again.

As such I think taste is important, but for mine would probably be behind sight and hearing.

Cowboy_4_Life

1. Touch - cause bustin' a nut (what would be the point of existence otherwise)
2. Sight - cause a$$, ti#ties, a$$, a$$ and ti#ties
3. Taste - cause cake
4. Hearing - cause footy commentators talk s##t anyway
5. Smell - cause s##t stinks a lot worse than flowers smell nice
6. 6th Sense - cause who wants to see dead people

Lambretta

After watching my Mother go through chemotherapy earlier this year, I'm surprised how many people have rated taste as either 4 or 5. Her chemo all but killed her taste buds and as such anything she ate tasted like cardboard. In fact it caused her to not want to eat as the food was so tasteless, it would cause her to gag. It was that bad she all but didn't eat for 2 weeks and she collapsed (true story).

She's off the chemo now (in case you were concerned), and she can taste her food and enjoys eating again.

As such I think taste is important, but for mine would probably be behind sight and hearing.

Glad your Mum's OK
I did chemo last year and my taste buds went weird too

Everything tasted crap, but the more bland the food was, the more like the actual food it tasted. Spicy food was awful - but plain chicken and say peas tasted like chicken and peas..... almost.

I ate soup most of the time and then got scared every time I wanted to fart in case I shit myself. But that had nothing to do with a lack of taste buds.

The worst was that beer tasted like washing up water with metal filings in it. I was distraught.

Lambretta

I have a Stepdad who is blind. Most "blind" people are "technically" blind, which means they can see blurs and use guide dogs etc to assist them getting around. They just can't see details.

My stepdad has no eyes - they've been removed by surgery because his retina's detached completely.

He still see's blinding lights in his brain (a rare neurological disease that effects a small number of blind people) which keep him awake. So as well as not being able to see a thing he is being driven slowly insane as well.

On top of that, the British Government don't see blindness as a real disability. After all, people who are blind can do braille etc and get jobs - so they pay 25% of what they would pay if you say, had no legs

That's all well and good if you're like that from childhood, but when you turn blind aged 50 it's a bit harder. Good luck finding the funding to have you re-trained and taught braille cos that doesn't exist. You have to fund all that yourself on 25% disability allowance.

So you can't get a job, you can't pay for anything and you can't be retrained. You may as well pack it in and kill yourself.

I have a mate, who has no sense of smell. Absolutely none. He had operations in his 20's which f**ked his nasal passages up prevent him from smelling unless he is on really strong steroids. His lack of smell doesn't prevent him from running his own company, driving a car or generally getting on with life

On balance, I know which one I could do without

1. Sight (cos Stepdad)
2. Hearing (cos music)
3. Touch (see 4 for explanation)
4. Taste (been there and it ain't as bas an not being able to wank)
5. Smell (Cos people with BO on public transport)

alien

I find it tough.

Reckon sight would be the worst to loose.

Glad I can see, hear, feel, smell, taste.

So can apes, we communicate better is all.

But the question is rate them.

I say sight no..1

vestibular and proprioception are 2 other senses