Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Blue and Gold Army Swarm Report

Tony Bongo

We really were up against it this week. A diminishing crowd total compared to last week, an oven to play in with only banners for shade and still only a 2 beer limit at the bar.
Things got off to a fantastic start with all of Sterlos knowing what to expect this week and really joining in big time and enjoying the Chants and songs. After the game was even louder. We have really established a fantastic platform there that will by years end be a solid new tradition I'm sure.If you missed it so far make sure your there next time when we play the Raiders.
Off to the ground and it didn't take long to realize players and fans were in for a scorcher. We were set up early and once the place started to fill we got off to a great start getting the Northern End involved. We had kids jumping out of their skins to hold banners and flags and asking if they could hand out Chant Sheets. There were a few who, even though not on the site , sought us out this week and came and sat with us. We are building in numbers after only week 2 even with less crowd numbers.
During the warm up Feleti heard our Chant for him and looked over and laughed at us. I spoke to him and others about it after the game and he and the boys all clearly heard us at different times throughout the game, which was something they really appreciated. Tim Mannah actually commented that he had read the Chant Sheet and was disappointed he wasn't on there. Some of the others told me he was blowing up about it in the sheds before the game I quickly blamed Ando for taking so long to make his mind up and he was sweet with that.
The tone quickly changed as Manly racked points up against us but we still had a highlight singing Chant 3 when Lyon missed a conversion. As the crowd got hotter and our team colder we really had our backs to the wall. Only a handful of true die hards continued to support us while the mob was getting angrier and laying the boot in. Some of the so called Parra Fans did a better job of bagging our team than the Manly supporters which was a total disgrace. They had quickly turned from Eels into Shark Warriors ( see blog what kind of fan are you ).
They however suddenly morphed into a Swarming Frenzy of Eels when our boys came storming home. Some running to the front and grabbing our Bongos and frantically banging away while dancing and Chanting. Were these the same supporters I had to ask myself while rubbing my eyes in disbelief, but I cared not. The boys success had bred our success and we were ecstatic. I banged my bongo so hard I put my arm straight through it. We were back and the Swarm was a sight to behold.
After the game I entered the field with kids from all over coming up to play my spare bongo and I delighted in it as much as they did. Then it was off to say my goodbyes to the Manly supporters bus. The Sea Eagles Suck song worked a treat as I faded off into the distance singing it all the way to the Leagues Club. Once inside, without a Chant Sheet in site we had an amazing chorus of Swarming eels belting it out word for word along with many others.
This Friday we will be in Bay 38 at the SFS.If you normally can't join us at home games in the Northern End because you have tickets elsewhere, here's your chance.
Thanks to all who helped organise this week,contributed, joined in or just support us in our endevours. You are all a credit to our great club

Hellsy

Luv what you guys are doing, and I'm fully behind U.... from my seat in the grandstand.
I really saw the energy over there this week, so hopefully it builds each week for you guys! Maybe next year you'll have several bays of craziness behind those posts :D

No offence intended at all, this is just my personal opinion but your bongo has driven me up the f**king wall from the first time I heard it :lol:
I'll be the one the furthest away from U in Bay 38, and if I scream abuse towards where U can shove it during the game - don't take offence I do the same to those morons with horns/trumpets... to me these are all just like fingernails down a chalkboard!!

you know what Tony, I'm supportive of what you're doing despite the fact that I knocked back the song sheet and invitiation to join you lot, however I'm sure the NYC boys would also appreciate your support and it probably wouldn't be a bad thing if you did you thing while they represented our club.

Tony Bongo

Luv what you guys are doing, and I'm fully behind U.... from my seat in the grandstand.
I really saw the energy over there this week, so hopefully it builds each week for you guys! Maybe next year you'll have several bays of craziness behind those posts :D

No offence intended at all, this is just my personal opinion but your bongo has driven me up the f**king wall from the first time I heard it :lol:
I'll be the one the furthest away from U in Bay 38, and if I scream abuse towards where U can shove it during the game - don't take offence I do the same to those morons with horns/trumpets... to me these are all just like fingernails down a chalkboard!!
Thanks and I can appreciate your opinion. I get just as driven up the wall by silence and apathy. The horns and trumpets do my head in though too I must say. The Bongos are meant to be constructive in that they keep the time of the Chants so people can follow etc. I wont take offence all the same when you tell me to shove it as I will probably not hear you anyway.

Hellsy

Thanks and I can appreciate your opinion. I get just as driven up the wall by silence and apathy. The horns and trumpets do my head in though too I must say. The Bongos are meant to be constructive in that they keep the time of the Chants so people can follow etc. I wont take offence all the same when you tell me to shove it as I will probably not hear you anyway.

:thumb :thumb

Believe me, I don't like silence either! I just prefer voices to constant banging and tooting instruments.

Kepp it up though! And yeah through NYC would be good too, imagine the noise you guys could make when the stadium is still filling up.

Maybe we can all think up some NYC chants? The kids would luv it I reckon :ls:

you know what Tony, I'm supportive of what you're doing despite the fact that I knocked back the song sheet and invitiation to join you lot, however I'm sure the NYC boys would also appreciate your support and it probably wouldn't be a bad thing if you did you thing while they represented our club.

First things first mate.
Give 'em a chance to get established eh?

fish eel

Why? The club has sanctioned it.

Just dont try leaving your seat without your ticket or to take a swish camera in :sarcasm:

Seriously though, credit where credit is due, it's great the club have clearly got together with the stadium to ensure the swarm can take in what they need to make a go of it.

Just dont try leaving your seat without your ticket or to take a swish camera in :sarcasm:

Seriously though, credit where credit is due, it's great the club have clearly got together with the stadium to ensure the swarm can take in what they need to make a go of it.

The cameras are another story. :lol:

Agreed with the efforts of the swarm/stadium/club.

First things first mate.
Give 'em a chance to get established eh?

I understand that, however yesterday, Mr Bongo spent a great deal of time at Sterlos spruiking his thing by insisting that everyone take his sheet and sing with him to patrons who were having a quiet drink before the game, and this was happening while our NYC boys were out there doing it tough.

now I'm not sure whether many of them would of been sitting in the Northern Terrace, but I would of thought it would of been more productive if he was doing his thing inside the ground and in the area where they were sitting and encouraging those who were there to also there to join in.

fish eel

Even the banners, I'm sure I remember in past years there being issues with the size of banners they'd let in?

What would be great is if that Blue and Gold Army flag (that you mentioned earlier), could be pulled out there just as the boys come out?

fish eel

I understand that, however yesterday, Mr Bongo spent a great deal of time at Sterlos spruiking his thing by insisting that everyone take his sheet and sing with him to patrons who were having a quiet drink before the game, and this was happening while our NYC boys were out there doing it tough.

now I'm not sure whether many of them would of been sitting in the Northern Terrace, but I would of thought it would of been more productive if he was doing his thing inside the ground and in the area where they were sitting and encouraging those who were there to also there to join in.

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Sorry Stagger but....'Mr Bongo'?

yes! Mr Bongo!!!...I'm only being polite..

btw, banners and instruments are only allowed if they're registered by the clubs prior hosting the game, I hope Mr Bongo has been on the phone to the Wests Tigers about his drum...

It's the NRL that counts. If you and whoever else want to get there early and support the kids, good luck to you.
I think it's a bit rich to start asking what is potentially a well organised supporters group with club support to go extra yards while they are only still trying to establish themselves. Maybe come back in a year and ask the same questions, or if you are so intent on getting support for the kids, organise it yourself.

As for encouraging those who were there to do the same thing - they do that and do it well leading up to and including first grade.

Lets just get the Swarm established first, ok?
I'm quite looking forward to Friday night. I think it could be a cracker in Bay 38.

Nikki

A Fui Fui chant went up while the NYC boys were still running around on the park.. I got confused!

tbh..suity I see it differently, my little issue (and i must stress it's only a minor issue) is that he's used his time and resources trying to encourage people who are sitting in other parts of the ground to join in when he can lead from the front while our NYC are playing.

Tony Bongo

We were at sterlos at 11 gates opened at 11.45 and we headed over to the Stadium at 12 and were there to support the Toyota cup boys in the Northern End.You may have not known that though as you were probably still at Sterlos Mr Stagger. I think it would have been more productive for you to take a sheet and join us but we all have a difference of opinion don't we.

who was the guy who were handing song sheets out to pensioners at sterlos halfway through the first half of NYC??...and then proceeded to sing a few songs?..if it wasn't you who was it?

Tony Bongo

A Fui Fui chant went up while the NYC boys were still running around on the park.. I got confused!
Hang on. A Chant went up while the NYC boys were running around and I was at Sterlos at the same time ? Now I'm confused. We were simply rehearsing all the chants before the main game to get people familiar with them.