Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The next big thing

Someone mentioned that we should concentrate about getting the next big thing from our lower grades and not buy has beens any more, well they are spot on.

here is a list of the next big things that are coming out of the Parra Juniors:

Tim Smith: He is the next big thing trust me. Promoted to 1st div this week
Feleti Mateo: Promoted to1st grade 18th man
Jack Afasmanga Promoted to 1st grade
Weller Huraki- Jersey Flegg only a matter of time
Josh Cordoba-Promoted to 1st div
Ben Smith-Promoted to 1st div
Brett Anderson-Promoted to 1st grade
Blake Green-Promoted to Jersey Flegg. Has a great future
Ryan Hinchcliff- Tough as nails
Brett delaney- Injury prone but shows huge promise.

Now these players are the standouts who definatly will be playing 1st grade. These are the players from the flegg team as well, so we are doing something wright junior wise. These players are the best up and coming Juniors that I ever seen come through all at once. I've seen alot of earlier grades this year and I knew these players would break through the class that they have is beyond there years.

And to make things better our Harold Mathews side has some future star in it as well one name comes to mid is Jarryd Hayne the full back.

Parra task is to keep them together because they have a winning culture.

parra pete

Remember when Fitzy signed the Presidents Cup team with Greg Drake in it in the eighties. EELAVATION reckons that was a bad move.
Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

GAME FIRST

Good-call Jake the snake, however i think you will find some of the players will not be first grade regulars-Drake at least got there and played a few games-dont know how he and Catanach ever were seen 1st players,
Anyway,here is my list in order of class, football nouse,fitness , aggression

Tim Smith-excellent footballer-instinctual reader-doesnt need much coaching-just nurturing -solid defence, good size and outside backs -Macgougan, Anderson and Delaney enjoy his service-unselfish player-the best young gun we have i rate so far
Delaney- plays centre and 5/8 but is very strong for a young player and looks likely-confident body language- probably a lock in the future for mine but needs more speed if to develop as a centre
Ben Smith-wathch how dangerous this guy is-heard opposition player name caling him against Souths in round-5 -jersey flegg- and they double marked him and he was awsome as was MacGougan and Anderson-he may learn to go for it more often himself as he can be deadly

parra pete said:
Remember when Fitzy signed the Presidents Cup team with Greg Drake in it in the eighties. EELAVATION reckons that was a bad move.
Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

I'd like to correct you on that!

The players that Jake listed are all outstanding and I believe I've seen enough of them to suggest they are going to be stars of the future! I reckon you can also add Thomas McGoucan , Joel Reddy, Paul Mazzella, Matt Lantry and Brendon Oake in the mix!

What I actually meant was it shouldn't necessary be the only objective, in forming a premiership winning team, I believe it's essentual to also have established stars in the scene to guide these kids around, we already have the 2 Nathens, Fresh, Grothe, Burt, Vella and Cannings and I believe another 3 or 4 of these stars are needed to assist in the progress.

Jake also failed to mention 4 blokes who have already had a handful of first grade experiance and are only 19!! they are Tsoulos, Witt, Graeme and Armit.

so I hope that clears things up!

Hurriflatch

Going back a couple of grades Jarryd Hayne, Trent Hodgekinson, Kristopher Keating and Joseph Malete in Harold Matthews should also be snapped up to long term deals before other clubs get to them.

Tim is something special!

Maybe I haven't seen many young half backs go around but this the youngest kid I know who can revearse kick ala Johns style and revearse pass like his been doing it all his life.

I'd give Jarryd hayne 2 years before he makes full back. Karmeichel Hunt will be eating from his boot laces talent wise.

Tim Smith will be the next super star half back. He has the VISION and directs the team around the park.

His bannana kicks is Johns at his best and his passing game is even better. He plays like Johns, he is even an excellent goal kicker even from the sidelines. 12 clubs weren't chasing him for nothing.

TIM SMITH IS THE NEXT CHAMP.

parra pete

How many can we sign to contracts? How can you stop predator Clubs like Manly? especially when you have blokes like Peter Peters, the CEO and a broadcaster casting aspersions on the Eels Club.
I believe he posed questions to ex players about their time at the Eels that were aimed at causing disharmony. He should be charged by the NRL for bringing the game into dis repute at the very least the Parramatta Club should write a very strongly worded letter to the Manly Club.
Peters is another bloke who was first given his opportunity in football by the Eels Club. His best mate, Greg Hartley, another Parra favorite!!!!!
"I'll tell you a tale about Manly Warringah, the team with the League wrapped around their finger, in the grand final they wanted to be, so XXXXXXX went and brought them a XXXXXXXXX" and so on and so on. I have a VERY long memory.
Some memories just won't die.......

Im not putting pressure on anyone alex and its not like the player come on these boards and see what we wright anyway. They have true talent, if they are genuine players they will put up with it.

But from what i've seen these guys have potential, Ive seen a fair few young players come and go but none better the lot coming through this year and next.

GAME FIRST

Agree Alex, we cant get too far ahead as anyone can look a million dollars in lower grades and not be disciplined and hardened enough for firsts-take note also Jake that T.Smith will only perform if our forwards are going well and we have a good hooker-and both of these are our immediate problems that the coach nor players have been good enough to overcome

Don't worry what that fat f**k Peters says or thinks. Manly are envious of the Talent out at Parra thats why they bought half the side this year.

parra pete

Hope they don't come here. They would be ashamed at the disloyalty shown to them and their coach by SOME (not all) contributers.
You have to accentuate the positives, eliminate the negatives, seek out the afirmatives, and don't mess with Mr In Betweens.

Wait for it Pete, Wait for it. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Here it comes....can read you lot like a book. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I truly believe that we have to bring these players on slowly and all that, and that they have to have there heads screwed on properly and all that. Its up to them how far they want to go in footy, discipline is a major thing I agree.