Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The NSW Dragons

Tigerpete

The NSW team for Origin III:
Anthony Minichiello, Luke Rooney, Matt Cooper, Mark Gasnier, Luke Lewis, Brad Fittler, Trent Barrett, Shaun Timmins, Craig Fitzgibbon, Nathan Hindmarsh, Mark O'Meley, Danny Buderus(c), Jason Ryles.
Bench: Willie Mason, Brent Kite, Ben Kennedy, Craig Wing.
(18th man: Brett Finch)

Well how about that one, cant say its underserved.

Tigerpete

Yeah i'd agree, Fittler shouldnt be there, no disrespect meant toh him but he retired and i believe if there is a player who warrants selection he should always be ahead of someone who is in fittler's situatiion.......Phil Gould, you've done it again. :roll: :roll: :roll:

_A_J_Gray_

I think every Dragons player in that team deserves to be there. The only one who should not be there in my opinion is Brent Kite.

Ryles , Barret, Timmins , Cooper & Gasnier all are exceptional players.

Cooper & Gasnier are two of the most freakishly talented backs in the game, though its hard to give the flick to Tahu & Gidley.

Anyway back to the point, I think most of the selections were fair.

cadburys

I think the melbourne 5/8th half combo should both be pissed.

If they have'nt been the best scrumbase duo so far this season, then i'll give up my glass and a half of full cream dairy milk.

And believe me folks, that will never happen.

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Wobbygong

Why does Gould always pick Dragqueen players, I can understand him picking all the Roosters, but what is his fascination with the Dragons???

Gasnier OR Cooper should have been picked not BOTH. What did Gidley do wrong?

Ryles has played about 60 minutes of footy over the last two weeks, how does he get in after being out all year? Barrett well he's just overated.

Only two deserve their spots:

Timmins and probably Gasnier deserve it.

Personally I reckon Hornby is bloody unlucky to miss out, he is heads and shoulders above Minni this year, Minnis ordinary defence and dropped balls in SOOII should have seen him punted.

MAFIA

Wobbygong said:
Why does Gould always pick Dragqueen players, I can understand him picking all the Roosters, but what is his fascination with the Dragons???

Gasnier OR Cooper should have been picked not BOTH. What did Gidley do wrong?

Ryles has played about 60 minutes of footy over the last two weeks, how does he get in after being out all year? Barrett well he's just overated.

Only two deserve their spots:

Timmins and probably Gasnier deserve it.

Personally I reckon Hornby is bloody unlucky to miss out, he is heads and shoulders above Minni this year, Minnis ordinary defence and dropped balls in SOOII should have seen him punted.
THATS AN EASY QUESTION WHY DOES HE KEEP PIKING DRAGON PLAYERS ????, HIS ASS OF AN ASSISTANT DIKHEAD DALEY IS A SELECTER AND ALSO ON THE COACHING STAFF OF THE DRAGONS, SIMPLE REALLY,WHY DID YOU THINK WITHERS SIGNED THERE LOL LOL

IM MAFIA AND IT STILL HURTING 106-0

Saint 60

if any player in Saints deserved it, it would be Thompson. the rest can have the week off as far as im concerned...im sick of injuries and loosing players to this crap...
and i bet Brisbane are also lol

Saints team aint bad this year no doubt but 6 players? ehhh

I think Gould should do a swan dive off the back of the SCG
but im sure Daley would catch him :roll: surprise me

kicks wobbygong

cheers
----------------------------------------
Go U Blues....

Trollhammaren

Hallelujah, Gidley and Tahu are gone!! About freaking time. I'm actually happy with that team, barring perhaps Kite's selection.

This the happiest I've been with a NSW selection in years. Not that I'm over the moon.

Gobbso

Gasnier i'm pissed is there. His disgraceful behaviour should have resulted in a more severe punishment in him not being able to wear the Blue jersey for NSW. But that's the way politics and favouritism goes in Rugby League. Copper, Timmins deserve to be there. Barrett ain't a halfback's bootlace, and Ryles? For the love of God, what has Skandalis got to do? He recently signed another 2 year deal, that stipulates another 2 years of not playing Origin. Gidley and Tahu gone, their attack was a great spectacle in Origin 2, but their defense was ordinary. Majorty of Queenslands tries were scored on that side of the field, and the selectors obviously saw fit that it was a problem they did not want to experience for the decider in just over a week's time here in Sydney.

Suzie

Saint 60 said:
if any player in Saints deserved it, it would be Thompson. the rest can have the week off as far as im concerned...im sick of injuries and loosing players to this crap...
and i bet Brisbane are also lol

Saints team aint bad this year no doubt but 6 players? ehhh

I think Gould should do a swan dive off the back of the SCG
but im sure Daley would catch him :roll: surprise me

kicks wobbygong

cheers
----------------------------------------
Go U Blues....
I wish we were playing the dragons this week :cry:

Gobbso

Cooper is a left centre. Gidley made way for Gasnier, as they're both specialist 'Right' Centres. That's the reason Gidley was left out according to the selectors.

Dragon21

Every one of those Dragons deserve to be there..

Imagine if Bailey wasnt injured aswell. Thompson, Hornby could be there aswell.. :D

Anyway, Tahu is injured, hence I think thats why Gidley didnt make it. However, Gasnier was always gonna make it. They need someone who can break the line, and I think theyve named a very strong team.

Tigerpete

Gasnier has been brilliant, its good to see selectors havent held the phone thing against him really, good luck to him.

Dragons_#1

Dragon21 said:
Every one of those Dragons deserve to be there..

Imagine if Bailey wasnt injured aswell. Thompson, Hornby could be there aswell.. :D

Anyway, Tahu is injured, hence I think thats why Gidley didnt make it. However, Gasnier was always gonna make it. They need someone who can break the line, and I think theyve named a very strong team.

well said mate i agree 100%, i think that hornby would be a bit pissed off with minis performance in SOO 2 and may have got his chance but he'll be around next year.