Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The sign of a good coach

millersnose

as the season progresses my respect for raper increases

no panick

he tries things - he gambles

discipline fixed - offloads are creating second phase play

all this with one of the worst defensive teams seen at the sharks - he cannot totally fix the lack of ability in tackling

again on the weekend his selection of kent has proved to be a very wise move

although his persistance with merritt puzzles me i cede to his experience and inside knowledge

RICHO

Who would you rather he gave Merritt's spot to today Millers?
There's not exactly that many wingers/fullbacks beating the door down in Premier League!

Stu Raper is showing that he has the qualities of a successful coach.

The sign of an enthusiastic coach - the daft bugger popped a rib cartilage during the second half watching the game. :lol:

Get well soon, Stuey.

RICHO

Fairfax reported that he popped it in the 1st Half!!!!

Probably did a lot more damage to it in the 2nd Half!!!
Or maybe it was something underneath the ribs that was hurting.......

millersnose

RICHO said:
Who would you rather he gave Merritt's spot to today Millers?
There's not exactly that many wingers/fullbacks beating the door down in Premier League!

Stu Raper is showing that he has the qualities of a successful coach.

fair point

but i was speaking not just about today

normally i would have kent on the wing over merritt

RICHO

Yeah, that's fair enough too.
I'd rather have Kent closer to the action though. I'm now convinced that he's not a winger!!!

Kent is was always a centre, now he looks like becoming our best option at 5/8th.

pogo

fair dinkum!! mcJOEY you are kidding mate ......first you wanted hilder at 5/8 then you were happy with bird....then you are spruiking for dykes to return .....and now you want kent and he hasnt even played one first grade game in that position.

I think once Peachey is back, and we have Simmons and Rieck on the wings there will be no discussion of who to put on the wing, both Simmons and Rieck are way ahead of the closest competition for that position. Rapers choice to put Kent at 1/2 back was a good one which goes along with other good decisions such as using Hilder as kicker over Merritt. I think they also trained during the week to be less dependant on the 1/2 back (as they usually are with Noddy around) and this seemed to have success as they played very much as a team.

Well I'm with the Mac here....

Obviously he's stepped up since the last time I saw him play(which was last year)

5/8th seems like an obvious choice for him with the return (hopefully) of Noddy on the week-end..

Oh and I had a look at that Bird tackle again today and he's goooorne!!!

Amazing what a little brown fluid does to your perception :oops:

imasharkie

coolumsharkie said:
Well I'm with the Mac here....

Obviously he's stepped up since the last time I saw him play(which was last year)

5/8th seems like an obvious choice for him with the return (hopefully) of Noddy on the week-end..

Oh and I had a look at that Bird tackle again today and he's goooorne!!!

Amazing what a little brown fluid does to your perception :oops:
you been down at that pub again coolum
wasn't the replay on at 10.30 this morning
and i don't think "a little" brown fluid was the case here, eh