Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Tigers have little chance of winning as favourites......

Swampdonkey

After years of tipping the Tigers to win games when they were favourites, I have finally turned the corner and unfortunately think they will lose on Sunday, purely on the basis that their track record suggests they can't win when they are favourites....

The Tigers have gone for years without winning a game as the favourites and up against a Manly side that has pushed the likes of the Bulldogs and Eels until the final siren in the past 2 weeks, i think there is even less chance.

Win or lose, i can't wait to see them play at Leichhardt for the first time this year, should be a fantastic afternoon regardless of the result........of course though, all the better if they win.

simon says

I just love Manly v WTs at Leichhardt.Its always an exciting game,and the crowds are usually really good and right into it.

Except for that game in the cyclone where we flogged Manly a few years ago 38-6 I think.
About 4000 hardy souls that day of which me and the boys were a part of.

I just luuurve beating Manly....GO WESTS TIGERSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!

Swampdonkey

simon says said:
I just love Manly v WTs at Leichhardt.Its always an exciting game,and the crowds are usually really good and right into it.

Except for that game in the cyclone where we flogged Manly a few years ago 38-6 I think.
About 4000 hardy souls that day of which me and the boys were a part of.

I just luuurve beating Manly....GO WESTS TIGERSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!

I agree Simon, it doesn't get much better than Manly and WT's at Leichhardt. Sitting on the hill and having a few schooies and watching the footy all afternoon.

I too was there at the 38-6 hiding we gave the Sea Eagles, it was a glorious occasion. But you are right, the weather was attrocious, it was one of the rare occasions i have had to relocate myself up in the High Rollers grandstand....

If the weather is good there will be over 16,000 there on Sunday.....

simon says

Gee I hope yer right mate.Id love to see 16k there.Great for the players to know we are right behind them and good for the coffers too.

On that Manly game,for some strange reason I was on the hill all game.Might have had something to do with the 20 odd schooners me and the boys sucked down.

Great day though......lets hope we stick it to one of our dearest enemies again.....
Cheers.

Swampdonkey

Long weekend + ANZAC day is a BIG factor.

Both sides would think they are a good chance to win, Manly losing narrowly to good sides recently and the Tigers being competitive for all but the St George game.

Tigers haven't played for a fortnight.

It is the first of only 4 games this year at Leichhardt.

There are always plenty of Manly supporters that travel to Leichhardt.....

I am travelling down from Brisbane for it and taking 4 mates with me....

All adds up to a BIG crowd.....provided it is a nice day.

brook

I'll be disapointed with anything less than 15k - manly have probably drawn bigger crowds to leichhardt than anyone else over the last 10 years (with parra but I think marginally ahead) and all the factors above should see that trend continue

Swampdonkey

They'll probably have to delay the kick off because of the 1000's of people trying to get in to the game at around kick off time. At about 2.45pm I reckon i will walk across the back of the hill on the way to the bar and look out past the entry gates and there will be a line up extending around the corner, i have seen it many times before for Manly games, no reason it won't be the same on Sunday......

I sure do hope they have sufficient staff on..... :?

Dale.2.

Manly can score tries but their defence seems to have a bit of trouble staying in a straight line,our old school sideways style of play should cause them plenty of problems so as long as our support play is up to the mark we will score an easy win.

Tigers by 16 or more :D

8-10 thou my guess, though the weathers sposed to be good so that'll get a few more.

Wests Tigers 28-20 Manly :!:

Swampdonkey said:
They'll probably have to delay the kick off because of the 1000's of people trying to get in to the game at around kick off time. At about 2.45pm I reckon i will walk across the back of the hill on the way to the bar and look out past the entry gates and there will be a line up extending around the corner, i have seen it many times before for Manly games, no reason it won't be the same on Sunday......

I sure do hope they have sufficient staff on.....
It wont be the same on Sunday....its not the 80's anymore mate. :lol:

** If someones there tomorrow watching the Jnrs, and that bloody sign is still there near the kiosk under the main stand ( the one with last years players on it) plz take a crowbar or screwdriver to it or see the groundsman if possible.

Swampdonkey

innsaneink said:
8-10 thou my guess, though the weathers sposed to be good so that'll get a few more.

Wests Tigers 28-20 Manly :!:

Swampdonkey said:

I sure do hope they have sufficient staff on.....
It wont be the same on Sunday....its not the 80's anymore mate. :lol:

I take your point Innsaneink and i hope you are wrong.

But do me a favour if you are at the game and on the hillside, take a few moments to walk up to the back of the hill about 10 minutes before kickoff and check the lineup outside of the gates, i think you will find it will be winding its way down the slope and around the corner.....

....in the 80's it was common place for this to happen, now in the year 2004 there are only 2 games a year at Leichhardt where this is likely to happen, Parramatta is one of them and Manly is the other.

Unless the weather is attrocious it is a safe bet to say that it will happen on Sunday.....

simon says

I reckon ya might find the Tigers v Souths might just go as well as these two in crowds these days.

Fingers crossed its a big crowd on the weekend....

bonstonker

Swampdonkey said:
After years of tipping the Tigers to win games when they were favourites, I have finally turned the corner and unfortunately think they will lose on Sunday, purely on the basis that their track record suggests they can't win when they are favourites....

The Tigers have gone for years without winning a game as the favourites and up against a Manly side that has pushed the likes of the Bulldogs and Eels until the final siren in the past 2 weeks, i think there is even less chance.

Win or lose, i can't wait to see them play at Leichhardt for the first time this year, should be a fantastic afternoon regardless of the result........of course though, all the better if they win.

but you must also consider we have a good record against both manly and the northern eagles.
played 8 and won 5 with an average score of 29-22 to the tigers and at leichhardt the average score is 34-19.

with a stronger looking bench this weekend with boof and possibly lima being added we may finally be able to create enough space for reynolds and prince to put on 34 against manly.

manly games don't concern me like a cowboy or bunnies game.

tigerdan

i wish we would play more games at home
4 @ leichhardt
5 @ compbellwown
is not enough for either ground

Gobbso

chileman said:
I hope he's right ....you'll be cheering for Manly if they win Gobbsie wont you :p :D

You're on drugs amigo! :lol: Manly's recent act with Buddha has really left a bitter taste in my mouth. If it wasn't for my hate of the Sharks, i'd be hoping Manly would get a big whack of the Wooden Spoon to teach them a lesson not to sh#t on people.