Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

This is the most important game of the season for us

Bib

I was talking to a fellow tigers fan today, and we both agreed that this is the most important game of the season for us if we want to qualify for the 8. When i looked at the draw at the start of the season and saw a run that included the two grandfinalists (Roosters and Penrith), one semi finalist (bulldogs), quarter finalist( raiders) and parra i just about died. However we have won two out of four, and should knock off Parramatta this weekend. I will be shattered if we lose, this season shoudl all be about consistancy, and we can lose this game this week because it would undo all the hard work. Im going out to leichhardt on sunday, but i dont reckon i can watch the game i will be too nervous. Good luck boys, but if we dont win we can kiss the 8 good bye

Do you agree?

simon says

I agree that this game is vital.To have confidence in our team we must win this game.We must be able to win games that we are expected to,if not we are laso rans.

This game is vital.....and for some strange reason I feel quietly confident......

Bib

looking at parra side i feel confident, but id much rather peterson was playing so that Price could kick to his wing

If we knock off Parra this week it should help our finals chance a great deal. not just the points side of it but our Confidence should improve and hopefully our F/A. We have the SPirt

Bib

innsaneink said:
We have another Souths game yet, as well. At least its at Campbo...never played em there.

You sure? i thought there was four games at leichhardt this season and they were
Manly
Parra
Souths
Storm.

I thought we played Brisbane,Canberra, North Queensland, Roosters and Penrith at cambo

Nook

At the risk of gross hyperbole, I'd go so far as to say that this weekend's match is one of the most important, if not the most important game in the short history of the J.V.

It is a game we should win, given the form of both teams. At home, big crowd, few injuries, a weakened Parra team. Vital to entrenching ourselves in the top eight. Vital to demonstrating that we can win when we should.

Could be a turning point in our season in many ways. We win, thats 3 on the trot, coming into a few tougher matches with high confidence and sucessful combinations... We lose, and we again show that we are incapable of taking that extra step.

Can't wait!

Bib

Nook said:
At the risk of gross hyperbole, I'd go so far as to say that this weekend's match is one of the most important, if not the most important game in the short history of the J.V.

It is a game we should win, given the form of both teams. At home, big crowd, few injuries, a weakened Parra team. Vital to entrenching ourselves in the top eight. Vital to demonstrating that we can win when we should.

Could be a turning point in our season in many ways. We win, thats 3 on the trot, coming into a few tougher matches with high confidence and sucessful combinations... We lose, and we again show that we are incapable of taking that extra step.

Can't wait!

Agree totally with what you say!

super_coach

its a must win game-and game we need to win well.as we all know in the past we have had some good wins against the big guns-and the next week get smashed by a struggle team.Parra are at rock bottom at present,and we have to keep them their.I think with guys like sattler moodie payten etc,we now have the experience to win the games we should-maybe one day even the bunnies.they just got keep the worm going slowly up.Its all about peaking at the right time and not at the end of may--lets hope we get a sellout crowd,and grind into the dirt--but a win will do

Tigerpete

You guys sum it up perfectly, this game is probably our most crucial to date, this time we are favourites, we're at home, Leichhardt on a sunday arvo against a struggling eels side.. its damn crucial we win this!

bonstonker

i thought the raiders game was the most important game so far,considering we had only won 1 game since round 4 and dropped to 11th with a non existant attack.

if we lose, does that mean everyone will be writing the tigers off again.

Looking back dropping that Souths game was a tragedy really. A game that they should have sewn up easily to be fair.

They were deserately unlucky against the Panthers and while beaten 22-0 I thought that game was a case of the Roosters took there chances and when Wests had a lot of the ball and field position early they didn't put the scoreboard pressure on. That win against Canterbury on Saturday should give the Tigers the confidence to say we can beat the good sides in this comp or at least be competitive with them. I hope they do beat Parramatta on Sunday and then go on with the job of making the 8. There are exciting times heading Wests Tigers way I think.

Mighty Tiger

innsaneink said:
We have another Souths game yet, as well. At least its at Campbo...never played em there.

Mate its at the Den ;-)

And I agree this match will be make or break for us - for any other side in the top 8 a win against the eels would be point down before the match had even been played and with the side they have named it should be the same for us.

We have to win this for so many reasons but the main reason is to keep our momentum going and prove to all the guys in the side we can not just 1 game here and there but we can actually perform week in week out and have results show our performances for once!

I think the key in this match is for us to score 2 tries early, we can't let the eels get a sniff early on in the match we do really need to start well and wipe them off the park early and if we can do this well i even think we could win by 40+