Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tigers 30 Knights 20?

oro

Did anyone attend the game and is aware of the pointscorers and standout players?

Well done Tigers!

Tigerpete

Balmain 30 (D.Harris 2, A.Tippett, B.Cupples, C.Farah tries. A.Tippett 5 goals beat Newcastle 20.

Apparently Newcastle had the game won before a tigers comeback late in the game. Tippet apparently injured as is one or 2 others, not sure how bad they all are?

Mighty Tiger

Tigerpete said:
Balmain 30 (D.Harris 2, A.Tippett, B.Cupples, C.Farah tries. A.Tippett 5 goals beat Newcastle 20.

Apparently Newcastle had the game won before a tigers comeback late in the game. Tippet apparently injured as is one or 2 others, not sure how bad they all are?

Well Cupples and Bowman both left the field and didn't play again after injuries which both looked like leg injuries of some sort.

I didn't see Tippett get injured and his godl kicking, running, passing and tackling appeared fine all game so I don't know what type of injury he was meant to suffer :?

The player that your thinking off that got injured but came back on to play was Obst he did get smashed and came back on to replace Bowman when he got injured.

Overall it was a good win for the Tigers considering that they where missing Small, Lima, Heighnigton, Caine and then the injuries suffered by Bowman, Obst and Cupples it shows that we do have some good depth in the club :D

Big Charlie Farrar got the matching winning try and appeared to work out running straight and hard is the way to go (well at least for 1 hitup that is) apart from that Tippett again played well and was close to the stand out attacking man for the Tigers.

brook

bah how can you forget balins try?

he got the ball in his own in goal and beat several defenders to get in the clear and then beat the newcastle fullback to race 100m and score - sensational work :)

I was also very proud of thomo who did take it upon himself to have a higher workload with our forward pack missing all its go-forward men (hawkins played but hardly - i don't know why but he got very little game time), he troubled the newcastle pack with some good runs until they worked out to put 3 men on him every time he got the ball - and even then he still made some metres, a great effort given that i still don't think he's physically ready for that level of footy.

it was a good team effort though - all our backs put in and while i'd say our forward pack was dominated by the knights for much of the game thats no shame given that the knights had a few first graders in their pack and we were missing all of our star forwards, the players that were there worked hard all game and deserve credit for the win.

Mighty Tiger

brook said:
bah how can you forget balins try?

he got the ball in his own in goal and beat several defenders to get in the clear and then beat the newcastle fullback to race 100m and score - sensational work :)

Don't worry I didn't forget his try #-o he stepped past about 5 players in our 10meter area then just raced the length of the field to score almost untouched :D I just got carried away doing the injury report!

Your right about Thomo he did have a cracker really considering his size and expereince he has had at this level. He was the stand out forward for the Tigers!

This week will be our real test I just hope that Lima, Hawkins, Small, Bowman, Milton, Cupples, Luland and Farrar are all ready to go aganst the Cougars.

Tigerpete

Any of u guys able to confirm weather Simon Greally played again?

I didn't see Tippett get injured and his godl kicking, running, passing and tackling appeared fine all game so I don't know what type of injury he was meant to suffer

The player that your thinking off that got injured but came back on to play was Obst he did get smashed and came back on to replace Bowman when he got injured.

Thanx brook, i was told it was Tippett but it sounds like my source was wrong.

Bald Tiger

Thanks for the reports by the way - only just saw them. Injuries and loss of Caine and Trindall (OK I know they werent cracking it in first grde but in PL they were doing OK) might dent our chances? Any news on Robbie Farah or Simon Grealy?

brook

Trindall and caine won't hurt us - to be honest i couldn't find a place for caine anyway

the really vital concerns at the moment are Small, Bowman and Cupples - without at least two of those three on the park we will struggle

Greally played most of the game against the knights and looked to be fine - he's still wasted on the wing and still finding his feet in the higher grade as well but he's starting to settle in - will be essential as a replacement for balin if he does turn out to have a serious injury

Farah I'm not sure of, I think that'll be a matter of wait and see

It would really help to have milton back too although at the moment tippets kicking has been exceptional and carney and nowland handled the wings well last week so we should still be ok without him

Mighty Tiger

Bald Tiger said:
Thanks for the reports by the way - only just saw them. Injuries and loss of Caine and Trindall (OK I know they werent cracking it in first grde but in PL they were doing OK) might dent our chances? Any news on Robbie Farah or Simon Grealy?

Caine and Trindall won't be any real big loss to the Tiges we have enough depth in those positions and to be honest long term it will only be for our advantage anyway that these young kids are getting a run now and not in the finals. :D

Bald Tiger

Actually I thought Trindall had been playing quite well in PL. Helped give us some go forward. Plus the experience was useful. Certainly agree about Joel - he was not even goal kicking.

brook

The thing with Trindall is while you're right he had been playing alright in PL this year it still hurt us when he was included in the team - because Balmain always play better when Small and Hawkins are the starting props, the two compliment each other really well and lay a great basis for the side to go forward

Snide the Tiger

Mighty - mate we lack depth at prop - and while Bull will not be a real loss - the fact remains that depth in the front-row is our major concern!!!

I am much happier since we signed Payten - but another youngster would have come in handy!!

Mighty Tiger

Snide the Tiger said:
Mighty - mate we lack depth at prop - and while Bull will not be a real loss - the fact remains that depth in the front-row is our major concern!!!

Mate I don't really think its as big a concern as most people are making it out to be at Balmain.

How many games have our forwards really been overrun? Sure last week we where over powered but in saying that Harper, Hawkins, Small, Lima, Heighnigton, Farrah and Bowman got injured during the game. Thats our whole starting forward pack plus bench power as well!

Now if Trindall stayed at the club then some kids like Thomo, Attebourough, Harper would miss out on a spot to gain expereince and to be honest they actually appear to make more of an impact than what the Bull did.

IMHO I don't see the Bull a major loss to the side!

Snide the Tiger

Mighty - in truth the loss of Bull is a benefit to the entire JV!

He has played at his best recently only to secure a contract elsewhere (and has somehow achieved it)!

But my concern is that the level of additional effort that needs to be produced by our smaller forwards is not sustainable over 26 rounds if we are without the necessary plough-horses within the squad!!

It can be done at a pinch - but it will take its toll on our back-row depth as the season progresses!

I would love to see Small - Lima & Hawkins rise to the occasion - but I have my doubts!!

Snide the Tiger

PS - It is not just the Balmain faction that are concerned about front-row depth!

Wests even used Tere Glassie at prop for a game - and Yappy is lamenting their lack of size just as much as we are!

brook

Match report from www.tigers.org.au

This game was played in two distinct halves, with the Knights playing the better football in the first half and the Tigers coming home strong in the second. The Tigers did not hit the lead until six minutes to go and it was only a strong try to Charlie Farah in the last minute that put the game beyond doubt. Head knocks to Leigh Bowman and Balin Cupples and a re occurring groin strain to Troy Wozniak left the Tigers with only one fit reserve for the last 20 minutes. Ciriaco Mescia, the conditioner for the Tigers, described the win as one of the teams toughest.

the fact that the injuries to bowman and cupples were only head knocks is good news cause it means both should be fit to play next week...as long as small and lima are back too we can fill in the rest of the team - these guys (and hawkins but i've got no reason to think he might be injured) are the essentials.

Mighty Tiger

Snide I'm with you on the overall benifit for this season in having Trindall at the club but next year Small, Hawkins, Hill, O'Farrell, Boof, Payten, Patterson and Skando will all be ready at some stage during next year. I don't think though he would have added anything to the Wests Tigers for the 2004 season however

Bald Tiger

I am not worried about his departure fro the JV in 2004, more concerned about Balmain in the PL finals this season. Reckon he would have been useful if we make the finals.

brook

this is the final review of the game i'll post i promise but it really does emphasise how big an effort the players put in to win this one - from the weekly times..

Cubs show courage in Premier League

A BUNCH of teenage tyros stood tall for Balmain rugby league team in Premier League action last Friday night at EnergyAustralia Stadium in Newcastle.

The Tiger cubs covered themselves in glory with a spirited 30-20 victory over the Knights that has kept the club on track for a top eight finals berth in the NSWRL premiership.

Minus ten regulars the Tigers were forced to blood Jersey Flegg prospects Mick Harper, Luke Thompson, Jamie Nowland and NSW U/19 rep Simon Greally who responded with mighty games.

Balmain are currently in seventh spot and face crunch games in coming weeks against Penrith, Parramatta and South Sydney.

The Tigers win over Newcastle was the more meritorious when you consider talented hooker Leigh Bowman (concussion), speedy back Balin Cupples (knee) and forward Troy Wozniak (groin) succumbed to injury after the interval.

With one reserve to call on the cubs dug deep to shut out the Knights and register a crucial win. Trailing 10-0 the Tigers rallied to lead 16-10 at lemons before Newcastle hit the front 20-18.

But with prop Joel Attenborough and halves Adam Tippett and Sam Obst leading the way the Tigers showed courage and skill to finish strongly and serve notice that they are a force to be reckoned with.

Bowman produced a blinder before sustaining a serious head knock while centre Daniel Harris proved dangerous in attack, scoring two of the Tigers’ five tries. Replacement forward Charles Farah made an impact with his bumping runs while Tippett proved resourceful with a try and five goals and his organisational skills.