Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todays Leader

Family Thought

By Brad Forrest

Cronulla Sutherland Sharks fullback David Peachey said he went "walkabout" earlier this year, and drove to his home town of Dubbo to talk problems through with his family. On Saturday, about 20 family members will be flown to Sydney to celebrate first-hand Peachey topping 200 first-grade games, when he walks onto Toyota park to play South Sydney.

The Sharks' gesture to his extended family means a lot to Peachey, like his former team mate Andrew Ettingshausen a 'one club man' since joining the Sharks in 1993. Off contract at the end of the season, Peachey, 30, also knows this could be his last year with his beloved Sharks. "I'll just have to see how my body is coping and see whether the club still thinks I can still contribute" he said, in his 12th season with the club he's a life member of. "I have not really thought much about it, or about playing with anyone but the Sharks."

An idol to a generation of Aboriginal and Anglo-Celt players, both young and old, the big-striding Peachey in full flight is the team's most inspirational footballer, alongside fellow Test representatives, captain Brett Kimmorley, prop Jason Stevens and new centre Nigel Vagana. The former Australian and NSW State of origin representative is injury free for the first time in many years and says he is enjoying his footy with a team which, he believes, is like a "sleeping giant" in this tight NRL comp.

It wasn't that way at the start of the year, when Peachey's marriage break-down saw him walk out, temporarily, on the Sharks. "I went to yoga, dropped the kids at school...then drove straight past Toyota Park and training," he said. "It was a real spur of the moment thing and I just kept on driving until I got to Dubbo. I didn't tell anyone for a few days because I didn't want to involve the Sharks. Then I phoned Stuey (Stuart Raper) and he agreed I should take some time off.

Peachey spent most of the week with his mother Irene, step-dad Marto, his aunts and uncles and his nan, Joyce. They were the same family members who made sure a young, homesick Peachey returned to Cronulla a decade earlier. Like then, Peachey eventually returned to Sydney, but not before making a detour to a town in Victoria. "Helping out with a lift for a family member" he explained with a grin. "I couldn't let him down."

Peachey says he is sorry he let his team down and sorry he didn't discuss it with general manager Steve Rogers. "I missed a game and I should have spoken to Sludge. I went walkabout, but I'm not sorry I did it because I think I'm a better person and I'm much happier now." A dally M runner-up, fullback of the year in 2001, Peachey has won praise for his community service, winning the NRL's Ken Stephens memorial award and the National Indigenous Australia's Sportsperson of the Year for 2003, in a ceremony attended by a number of Aboriginal sporting greats, including Cathy Freeman and Anthony Mundine. The Macquarie Bank David Peachey Foundation today provides sporting opportunity to under-privileged youth in outback and regional areas, thanks to the footballer honoured as Australia Day ambassador for Sutherland Shire this year.

For Sharks coach Stuart Raper the wheel has turned full circle. He was in charge of the premiership winning Cronulla Under-21 Presidents Cup team when Peachey arrived in 1993. "Having been there when it started for Peach it's great for me to see him reach a fabulous milestone," Raper said. "And all at the one club shows great loyalty." Peachey is only the seventh player in Cronulla's history to top 200 games, having played 250 in all grades. He's closing in on 100 tries (96 scored) and with Andrew Ettingshausen shares the record for most tries in a season (19).

As part of the presentation to him, Peachey will be given the ball from Sunday's manly game which marked his 200th match. Cronulla incidently did the same for Manly last year after winger John Hopoate topped 200 first-grade games. Cronulla will be out to turn the table on a Souths side which shocked them to win 36-12 in round four at Aussie Stadium.

chileman

Anyone get free postage down there....I'd love a copy of the Leader sent up here in treeswingerland (and I'm sure Fizman would read it after me) :p

pogo

thats a good story and hasn't he given all sharks fans a great deal of enjoyment watching him play over his career.

hard to remember a player that can catch a ball like peachey, amazing skill.

i remember him when he first came to cronulla as a skinny kid who had big wraps, but some comittee members were aghast at how casually he strode around before gathering the ball, he certainly proved his worth.

peach was actually signed a contract for cronulla after a trial game i m pretty sure it was at shark park if memory serves me correctly in the tunnel!!

big artie realised that other clubs were hot on his trail.

great clubman and i m reckon he still has some good footy left in him.

So do I. This club needs him just like we needed ET. I am not comparing the 2, but they are both great club men. Well done Peach. You're still my fave!

Houdini

:clap: :clap: to the Peach.

He has been both an awesome and inspirational player for the Sharks.
Its also great to see club loyalty, there aren't too many players around these days who have played all their careers at the 1 club

chileman said:
Anyone get free postage down there....I'd love a copy of the Leader sent up here in treeswingerland (and I'm sure Fizman would read it after me) :p

I'll bring you a copy up when I am there for the Lang Park game if you want.

:clap: :clap: :clap: Joins the applause.

Good on you Peach, a true champion and would be my pick for the next Cronulla Immortal!

I hope the club helps the celebration along by announcing a new contract. They're kidding if they don't re-sign him.

I am sure we could sign him for alot less than his current contract. I believe he is on around $330k at the moment. He'd stay with us for half that I reckon. He wants to stay here.

Houdini

If Peachey plays on after this season, I want to see him play out his career at the Sharkies

What a champion!

RainMan

Went to school with Peach or "Pep" as he was known then. Still the same bloke then as he is now. I hope the Sharkies re-sign him for another year or two.

He will be an immortal. No doubt. Let's hope he get's to lift a trophy before he goes!

Special K

But if he didn't tell anybody he was going... f**k that is a long time to stand at the bus stop waiting for dad :lol:

Peachey is a legend, I love the bloke but I dunno about him going around next year.

imasharkie

I'd imagine Peachey would be an immortal to all cronulla-sutherland supporters. The sharks are now a lay down mazare to win on saturday with all these celebrations going on for him. Whats that phrase..."we did it for peach etc etc etc