Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Today's Tele - Anderson = Wanker

ghoti

Has anyone seen today's telegraph yet? If you grab it, turn to the sports section (would u look anywhere else?) and read Chris Anderson's prediction's for 2004.

Cronulla, not surprisingly, are tipped to come 10th.

Strengths: I cant remember word for word, but he mentioned VAGANA as basically their only strength.

Weaknesses: Get this A HEAVY RELIANCE ON THEIR HALFBACK AND PROPS! and...NEW COACH WILL NEED TIME TO GET TO KNOW THE PLAYERS

WHAT THE f**k!? This guy is the guy that brought in Brett Kimmorley, changed our game-plan to revolve around BK and didn't sign any decent back-up halfbacks...AND let Brett Firman go!

This is disgusting stuff by Chris Anderson...blaming Stuart Raper and the Sharks for something he did himself. The 10th place doesn't bother me, because we could end up anywhere this season. Chrissy, Chrissy...at least stay home and whinge to your wife rather than saying it in the papers....or is she sick of hearing 'Brett doesn't love me anymore'?

Sharkie73

I just go's to show the bloke has no Idea, As you said the weakness he put in place at the club. A first rate D**KHEAD :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Special K

:lol: the 2004 squad was the squad he wanted with Vagana added to it

millersnose is right he has a great sense of humour

wittyfan

:lol: Anderson failed to mention defence as a team weakness, which become a basket case under his coaching.

HAHAHAHAHHA
I just read this nonsense and scrambled to the computer as quick as I could. An over reliance on their props and halfback? Is he kidding?! It's his f**king squad!!!!!

New coach will take time to know the players? Just like Ricky Stuart did in his first year? He won the comp. I think the players will take time to know a coach who isnt eager to piss them off ALL the time.

Besides, I was of the impression that all you needed in rugby league was a halfback and two props "and the rest is gravy"????

I think he really may have lost the plot. Someone needs to give him his pills, or put him in a straitjacket.

turn to the sports section (would u look anywhere else?)
:lol: :clap:

RICHO

HAHAHAHA!!! :lol:

What a goose.
He's undermining his own case aainst the Sharks in regards to his sacking!!

I recall Ando saying that all he needed to win a comp was 2 good props and a great halfback, or something along those lines.
Now he says our major weakness is that we rely on or props and halfback TOO MUCH!!!!!

So seeing as though that was the basis of his whole coaching style, wouldn't that mean that he was wrong, and coaching badly, so his sacking was warranted.

Opes hoped the Sharks would make the GF with a weaker squad last year. He predicts us running tenth with a much stronger squad. Interesting logic. What was Opes pearl of wisdom? "You only need a good halfback, and props. The rest of the team made of athletes?" Might have been right at Melbourne, but the game has moved on.

It didn't take long for Triester, Campbell, McKenna, Graham, Mellor, Best to get to know the coach. A lot of players got to know Opes, some liked him, while others hated him. Not exactly good for team cohesion was it?

Yep, Stuart won a comp in his first year. Hagan also won the comp in his first year at Newcastle. New fresh ideas seem to be good for a club. let's hope it works for the Sharks this season.

ghoti

Interesting note: Opes didn't mention the first year coach thing for Manly, how hilarious...

Aries

I, like SS, came running to the computer as soon as I read that piece of crap.

I am just stunned that with a court case pending, and one on HIS performance in question, that he would basically admit he had no clue as to what he was doing and that his hand picked team for 2004 wont finish in the top 8, which is what was required by him in his contract with us and to gain any further "options" he had. OR is he defaming Raper and claiming that he cant coach?

The other interesting thing I found was that our strengths were also our Props and Halfback, yet our weekness is to rely on those same Props and Halfback, and who coached them that way for the last 2 years?!!... fair dinkum CA, you truly have lost the plot mate!!

I wish I'd run a little slower

Now I just think he's taking the piss

I dont think he's serious
Rating us tenth is a bit of a joke though

President Lee

RICHO said:
So seeing as though that was the basis of his whole coaching style, wouldn't that mean that he was wrong, and coaching badly, so his sacking was warranted.

Exactly. Unless I have been watching too much Third Watch, if our legal team are smart, they will take that paper cutting to the depositions hearing for his "unfair dismissal" and insert it in his rectum. Case closed. He just cooked his own goose.

ali

I too saw that in the paper today and it just goes further to confirm my theory that he has seriously lost the plot.

It would great if those comments can be used against him in court.

givmeabeer

I'm not worried about that or Daley's comments finishing 13th in Big League. Our team will not rely on one or two players this year but rely on each other to get the results that are required to be up there week end week out.

But it was a three year premiership plan. :shock:
This was the third year :shock:
He has a wrap on his own coaching talent. The difference between him coaching and Raper coaching: 1st :arrow: 10th :oops:

In the strange world that is planet Ando, the coach is the key factor not the players, and Jarryd is a quality first grader. :?

Chris must be great - he says so.

Aries

ShireShark said:
I wish I'd run a little slower

Now I just think he's taking the piss

I dont think he's serious
Rating us tenth is a bit of a joke though

I don’t see any "smilies" SS, in CA's article. I don't see why our defence team cant use this to destroy his case before it even gets going. He just doesn't think before he acts or speaks. That I have learnt over the past 2 years.

I just cant believe he at the least wouldn't have rated us 8th, I mean honestly, what does go through that guys head at times. He obviously didn't consult his lawyers about what he was going to write. Just as he didn't consult anyone at Cronulla when he opened his BIG mouth to the press over the past 2 years and dribbled the garbage he did to them, or made some of the stupid decisions I thought he made!

Opes

I don't mind if we get predicted to finish 8th+

Underpromising and Overdelivering is always a good strategy! ;-)

dreary

Considering he needed to get the club to the eight again this year to have his contract extened, the 1.3 mill claim looks to be on very shaky ground.

He would only have been contracted for one more season if as he has said the sharks only make 10th, therefore only $400k in lost earnings.

Same as Ando saying I wouldn't have been able to get the contract extention.