Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todd Carney

Godeangogogogo

I'm fairly new to following rugby league (mainly tracking the progress of the Englishmen playing in the NRL).

I decided to read up on Todd Carney after reading his latest article for the Rugby League World magazine and I couldn't believe some of the trouble he's previously been involved in.

Though obviously very talented (from what I've seen of him at the Catalans Dragons), his past actions have seen him deny himself the chance of being a mainstay at a top NRL side after NRL executives claimed its unlikely that they would agree to register him.

Thoughts on the native of Goulburn?

Ibleedblue

Was sacked quite unfairly in the end for being an idiot on the piss. As a player he was up with the best in the NRL in terms of playmaking and was rewarded with selection in NSW and Australian teams and won player of the year in 2010.

Great player but he wasted it with his off field antics. I would let him back in the NRL though, there are ex thugs and prisoners playing the game who did worse than anything Carney ever did.

Evil Homer

The thing about Carney is that, as far as I know, he's never actually done anything maliciously violent or directly hurt anyone. He just does stupid things when he's been drinking.

As mentioned, the vast majority of sports including RL have many players who have committed far worse offenses than Carney.

deluded pom?

The thing about Carney is that, as far as I know, he's never actually done anything maliciously violent or directly hurt anyone. He just does stupid things when he's been drinking.

As mentioned, the vast majority of sports including RL have many players who have committed far worse offenses than Carney.

The EPL have dozens to spare.

Mr_Ugly

I'm pretty sure pissing on some unconscious bloke's head that you or your mate has just knocked out in the dunny of the 'All Bar Nun' is generally frowned upon.

Barking like a dog at bloke's girlfriends to force blokes to fight is also pretty ordinary.

The bloke should be banned for league for life and go to union where he (and that behaviour) belongs.

BTW mods - I once had a post deleted for suggesting that Joel Monaghan was caught on a compromising position with a dog. Before you delete this post, please: (a) do a Google search, and/or (b) check with a couple of Canberra locals (... btw, if you check with Goulburn locals, you'll hear worse).

I love footy ... but c#nts like that are better off in union where they belong!:x