Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tony Williams Seven Weeks

Cagey Mac

Mixed feelings about this one
I feel sorry for Williams...no intention to harm De Gois
He could have picked him up and thrown him into the crowd but realistically he could also have just gone to ground with him.
All the best to the big bloke. Too harsh a lesson IMO but let's hope that he can control his power against mere mortals or he may find himself too good to play the game.

zombie jesus

He obviously didn't mean for it to go like it did, he did mean to smash the f**k out of him though which is how you can get yourself in trouble if something goes wrong. I reckon he'll get downgraded and cop the 5 weeks or whatever it is.

snoozer

didn't look good and degoise did land on his head/neck.

7weeks is a bit stiff in my books(apart from wanting him for origin).4 would be fairer.

footy watch

So throwing a player is more dangerous than driving a players head into the turf as Robbie Farrah did ???? Robbie gets 2 wks and Williams 7 ?? Inconsistency already in the new commission . Guess Robbie's mum is on the judiciary

jbl31649

Wonder what his toy collection from childhood looks like?

He didn't lift under the legs, but he took a player past the horizontal. Hopefully 5wks at max, he really throw a spanner into my DT side.

jbl31649

So throwing a player is more dangerous than driving a players head into the turf as Robbie Farrah did ???? Robbie gets 2 wks and Williams 7 ?? Inconsistency already in the new commission . Guess Robbie's mum is on the judiciary

Tis not the role of the ARLC to be deciding on Judicial matters matey...There a governing body, not enforcement.

BigRedV

As bad as it looks, especially in slow-mo, feel sorry for the guy. Doesn't come across as a grubby player who would interntionally set out to hurt someone. Kinda what happens when two people of different sizes bump into each other i guess. 7 is a bit harsh.

2010Dragons

He could always start up a new buisness throwing people in his long break.

me_815.jpg

drago brelli

Wow! Just saw that wrestling throw by Williams. That's the worst 'tackle', throw, what ever you want to call it. Toovey said Williams didn't land him in a dangerous position. What? Toovey should be done for bringing the game into disruprute for that comment.

CC_Eagle

I think Manly will contest it tbh. Especially given the public testimony's from Gallen and Flanagan.

Either way, I hope he still maintains his aggressive nature when it comes to defence. Even if we don't see him for more than a month.

drago brelli

No one gets sent off for dangerous tackles. If Cronulla had lost that game Gallen wouldn't be sticking up for the Brontasourous. Why doesn't Gallen stick up for his own player. That 'tackle' was shocking. Judicary said grade 4.

StormHi

Isn't it due to his extra loading ??

Regardless sucks to see him gone for any amount of time hope he doesn't lose match fitness and form :( be hard to stay motivated and in shape for blokes his size if not playing.

Not a huge fan of manly but hate seeing any sides chances being crueled by injuries and overly harsh suspensions 7 weeks is a bit rich IMO. :x

firechild

No one gets sent off for dangerous tackles. If Cronulla had lost that game Gallen wouldn't be sticking up for the Brontasourous. Why doesn't Gallen stick up for his own player. That 'tackle' was shocking. Judicary said grade 4.

Derp derp. Judiciary has had nothing to do with it yet. Judiciary gets their crack at it tonight (assuming they fight the grading).

wolverine

I am still unsure as to why he didn't get put in the bin-does DeGois not being injured soften the referee's judgement? Does it require his neck being broken and him being paralyzed for the ref to consider that? 7 weeks is fair IMO

bubs

You don't get binned for stuff like that.
Cautioned, reported or sent off are the only 3 options.

The bin is used for professional fouls, fighting or repeated penalties. Stuff like that.
The ref cannot send you to the bin for high tackles, or spear tackles.