Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Touch Footy Day?

Hey,

Dunno if you Sharks fans are familiar with this, but during the offseason various NRL fans often get together and have a touch footy day. Fans from various Clubs form their respective teams, congregate in North Parra and play some terrible touch footy for a day.

It's all just in the name of a bit of fun, a game of dodgy touch and some socialising. This year we have confirmed teams for the Eels, Tigers, Dragons, Raiders and Panthers and I was wondering if you lot were interested in being the 6th?

Here's a crappy little website I made with the info:

http://members.iinet.net.au/~tcotz/touch/index.htm

The short and sticky is - 29th October, Richie Benaud Oval in Nth Parra, $6 each (trophy, medals and BBQ cost), 8:30 am congregation (yeah I know its so early it sucks, but its a long day and we dont wanna be there all night), 14 players per team but half need to be "handicaps" (chicks, kids u14, guys over 40, fat blokes).......there's info on the site if you wanna have a look.

There's an email link to contact me if you're interested, and I'll pop back in to check here over the next couple of days.

It's basically just a relaxing day in the hot sun, drinking a few cool ones (if you're that way inclined), playing some dodgy touch, having a chat and a BBQ and just having a bit of fun.

wazzashark

I am sure us sharks fans can put a good side together..... #2 and others lets do this for the Sharks.....

We need to win another thing this season apart form the Mermaids.... lol

Well that's a good start :)

It is a pretty fun day, and a good chance to meet fans from other teams (which is good cause you can have some fun with them at games), and a good chance for your fans to get to know one another better.

Don't forget, friends and family are good targets too, especially if you're looking to fulfill the handicap quotas.

stevie013

i may be able to get some shirts for us to wear as well, i know the guy who does the merchandising for oztag, he may be able to lend me some shirts for the day

Ausguy

il play..... we could struggle to get half of them being handicaps..... wats that about.... i dont liek that idea though

the idea is that if I said "Let's play touch" everyone would go out and get teams consisting of teenagers/early 20s males in order to win.

that means automatic exclusion for most females, anyone that's even a little chubby, the young kids, the oldies etc etc - these guys are as much fans as everyone else and they deserve a run just as much as anyone else.

Snoop Shark

Hollywood Jesus said:
Hey,

Dunno if you Sharks fans are familiar with this, but during the offseason various NRL fans often get together and have a touch footy day. Fans from various Clubs form their respective teams, congregate in North Parra and play some terrible touch footy for a day.

Lost me there!!!

Also, if you're having trouble.......

.........the Knights have half a team, you guys have half a team..........

.........the social forum in Knights section is where you can contact them, if you're interested

What I've done is go to the teams that have full squads, and thus might have people who didn't make it in and still wanna play, and asked if they can supply any players for those teams who are only half done.

Would you guys be ok with this? If I could scrounge up some non-Sharks supporters who don't mind playing with a sharks team would that be OK with u guys?

You lot still interested?

Ausguy

mate i reckon it wold be easier if you actually tried to get strong teams not teams who are half interested and the other half just there for the sun....no offence but the reason you have only a few half teams filled is cos you are only advertising for half a good team. there i smore than enough guys on this forum who if you said its a serious run i reckon u'd fill it 2 times over. but thats cool its your thing so good luck thanks for the offer