Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

VB Sevens

mono_mal

Nfed said:
Following the cancellation of the World 7's in 2005, St Marys Leagues Club has decided to conduct the VB 7's on 11-12 February. 16-20 teams from around the world as well as the NSWRL foundation clubs will be participating.

Hurriflatch

Depending on where Parra are playing their trials cause I have a feeling they do have a trial that weekend but it could be the one in NZ I'm going to see if I can get there

JasonE

Good news, i'll be going for sure and hopefully they can attract plenty of overseas teams.

MRLA

With the majority of NRL clubs opting against participating in the World Sevens Tournament in 2005, the NRL have cancelled their tournament, giving added significance to St Marys League Club's VB Sevens.

The VB Sevens, which will be staged at the Western Weekender Stadium on Friday February 11th and Saturday February 12th, will involve 16-20 sides from around the world, as well as the traditional Foundation clubs of the NSWRL.

A schoolboys tournament will be held on the Friday involving 16 schools from around NSW, before the main tournament on the Saturday featuring sides such as the New Zealand Residents, New Zealand Maoris, America Samoa, Tonga, NSW Country, Aboriginals, Fiji, Malta and Italy.

A players tent is also being organized for the day where you can come along at certain times and meet some of your heroes from the NRL for an autograph signing session.

In a major coup for the event, Carlton & United Breweries have agreed to the naming rights of the tournament, which will be known as the VB Sevens.

Tickets are available from the gate and cost $5 Adulkts, $2 for kids aged 6-17 years and kids Under 6 are free. Family passes are also available (2 adults and 2 kids) for $10.

yappy

You could get upwards of 15,000. There's heaps of room, but the hills aren't very high. Most likely it'll be around 7-8 thou tops which is a good side crowd there, which is a good size. You can always grab a pass-out and have an ale next door at the leagues club too.

I just hope the Maggies hold onto their best players this year and try for the silverware rather than being everyones best mate and letting them play for everyone else. Sorry MRLA that should mean Borgy is playing for US! (but it probably won't :( )

MRLA

yappy said:
You could get upwards of 15,000. There's heaps of room, but the hills aren't very high. Most likely it'll be around 7-8 thou tops which is a good side crowd there, which is a good size. You can always grab a pass-out and have an ale next door at the leagues club too.

I just hope the Maggies hold onto their best players this year and try for the silverware rather than being everyones best mate and letting them play for everyone else. Sorry MRLA that should mean Borgy is playing for US! (but it probably won't :( )
I may be mistaking your post...but 15,000 into the Weekender Stadium...No chance.
It would be chockers with 7,000 as it was in the first year of the stadium's opening. Absolute full-house!

I guess we'll wait and see....Borgy definately proved himself for Malta against the British Defence Forces before being a late omission due to injury before our game against Fiji A, where he was sorely missed.

yappy

MRLA - you could get 15k in, but you're right only about 7 of em could see anything. At around 7-8 you'd have a top crowd that would feel like much more.

On Borgy - he really came on last year. At the start of the season I was worried he wasn't going to develop, but no fears now. His kicking game has improved 300% and his general play and confidence have gone through the roof. Looking forward to a big season from Ryano this year.

MRLA

7,000 is capacity.
Im there almost once a week and have seen the numbers...
The day 15,000 can fit in there...then Ill take my hat off.

You're right on Borgy. Penrith developed him well in the year they had him. :lol:

yappy

You're right on Borgy. Penrith developed him well in the year they had him.

They almost ruined the poor lad.

We're in though for the VB Sevens. Can't wait