Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Watching the Grand Final...

I pondered how the Tiges would have fared with all the possession and territory that the Roosters were gifted in the first half as a result of Dragons' errors. Last week WT had only three attacking sets and came up with two tries. It was a shame that WT didn't get more opportunities, but credit must go to the Dragons' impregnable defence and brilliant kicking game which restricted WT to their own half for most of the time.

meltiger

Different games

last weeks game wasn't played in attrocious weather like much of todays was

To think we came within 1 point of another premiership.

Had we beaten the dragons last week I have no doubt we would have won today, especially after what the roosters dished up.

Typical Brian Smith grand final appearance.

blacklock

To think we came within 1 point of another premiership.

Had we beaten the dragons last week I have no doubt we would have won today, especially after what the roosters dished up.

Typical Brian Smith grand final appearance.
As a dragons supporter who attended the wt game, i felt that was the true danger game. I always said the roosters were overhyped. They got lucky to get as far as they did. That last minute scrum they won against the tigers was pure farce.

Having said that...as tigers supporters, did you prefer seeing the dragons get the roosters? Considering they forced you to have to travel to canberra then face the dragons. That def took some told physically toward the end of the game.

Different games

last weeks game wasn't played in attrocious weather like much of todays was

The weather was its most inclement during the second half when the Dragons actually held the ball. Sure the pitch was heavy in the first half but the rain otherwise held off. In any conditions, with as much ball as the Roosters had today I believe the Tigers would have scored more tries.

I'm glad the Dragons won, they deserved it. The Roosters cheated against us, and should've been out week 1. They didn't deserve to get where they did. On the other hand, the Dragons have been the benchmark for 2 years and have really earned it. I feel we were a bit unlucky with the knees by Smith last week, but such is footy and it's a tough call to make on the spot.

super_coach

Always good to see the minor premiers actually win the grand final. The Drags were the best side all year and I think us along with Canberra were the only teams that had a decent chance of beating them in the big one. I think the Dragons were better for the run that they had against up and were very close to their best, As for the chooks they have a few really good players mixed in with a lot of average players and I think they are in for a dip next year. Had the tigers made the grand final how would they have gone??????Probably better than the chooks but still would have come second

Last Saturday night was the real grand final

however won that was always going to pum the roosters

Tiger Hawk

We were saying during the match that we seemingly couldn't buy a dropped ball against the Dragons yet Ben Creagh made three mistakes in the first half alone (not unusual I suppose given he has hands like feet). Agreed that we would have converted some of that possession into points but still think we would have struggled to beat the Dragons on Sunday. Happy that the Roosters were shown up for the pretenders they were and fully believe they won't make the 8 next year.

Das Hassler

"Had the tigers made the grand final how would they have gone??????Probably better than the chooks but still would have come second"

I have a slightly different view on that..do you think it's possible that if we played better than the Chooks (in the GF)...we may have come.............first?

super_coach

"Had the tigers made the grand final how would they have gone??????Probably better than the chooks but still would have come second"

I have a slightly different view on that..do you think it's possible that if we played better than the Chooks (in the GF)...we may have come.............first?

Sure they could have won, but I think the dragons after a nervous start played way better than they did the week before, probably better for the run they had against us. I just think they would have grinded us out of the game, just my opion but yes the result could have been reversed--we will never know!!

westie

Probably should put my thoughts elsewhere and elaborate a little more... but the Roosters were stretching the sh*t out of Illawarra. Those early shifts were punching holes in the Dragons which they could do little about, considering their strengths were in the middle. It wasn't until the exact moment the rain came and the Roosters shifts were too difficult that the Dragons looked mildly capable of competing in the match (if you take out the obvious Brett Morris run through the 6th tier).

We'd have beaten them with Payten in the side to orchestrate the attack. I don't think most of you guys (with the exception of Hybrid and a few others [sorry if i can't remember names]) realise how important his play was to our attacking structure.

Even so, we'd have beaten them any way if we weren't trashed from that Roosters game, and the following harsh match in Canberra.

Illawarra held on against us. If Farah doesn't bugger that kick up, they stay on 6, even taking into account our inability to muster much attack. If Marshall doesn't go out on the full, they don't have a free shot at FG. Compare our efforts to charge down half a dozen attempts against the Roosters to not having the fuel to even consider one against the Dragons. Were we fit, we'd have slaughtered them. We had two realistic chances all game and scored 2 trys. They couldn't compete when the going got real... as it was, we just didn't have any thing left to throw at them that which we did at the Roosters.

As it was all year... we and the Roosters were the best teams, under normal conditions, to win a premiership. By normal conditions, i mean an even head to head battle with common weather conditions. We had the attack and the bollocks to outscore them, and were undeniably doing it, even as f**ked as we were. It's hard to deny we wouldn't have beaten them with a fit and firing squad, considering we went within 1 point walking wounded.

The Roosters were defending aggressively and pulling the Dragons all over the park until it got wet. On legit trys, with normal goal kicking, it should have been 12-0 at half time. That's a huge lead to the Roosters in normal conditions, especially considering they don't seem to start playing till the second half. The previous two occasions in 2010, they'd lost, narrowly, because their halves had been pressured in the middle. That wasn't occurring this time with the early shifts and arcing runs.

Until it rained and these tactics became impossible, I thought the Roosters would win, counter to my pre-game thoughts that the Roosters halves would get done by aggressive defence.

I've never said this before, and it's harsh... but Illawarra are the only disappointing premiers I can remember watching. It's a shame as pre-rain, it was looking like a classic.

Das Hassler

Sure they could have won, but I think the dragons after a nervous start played way better than they did the week before, probably better for the run they had against us. I just think they would have grinded us out of the game, just my opion but yes the result could have been reversed--we will never know!!

I'll try again.."I just think they would have grinded us out of the game"..no they wouldn't as it was impossible for us to have played them in the GF..right?...may as well wonder about how Canberra would have gone against the dragons..so the only "what if" that was possible is how we would have gone against the chooks...quite well i would think

I've never said this before, and it's harsh... but Illawarra are the only disappointing premiers I can remember watching. It's a shame as pre-rain, it was looking like a classic.

Hardly harsh when its true.

Possibly the most representative players in a single team,the best coach and great support base and yet 95% of their 2009-2010 highlights would be "Boyd second man to Morris...try.

Once teams shut that play down they looked totally lost in attack. Yes the best team in 2 years (ladder position only) but hardly a memorable year by any measure. When u think of a great season u think Eels 2001, lost the final but most records still stand and certainly something they could brag about had they won it.

Tigers run into finals 2005 something u can brag about and is memorable for all those who watched our run, tigers supporters or not.

Manly 40-0 after losing the year before to the most dominant team in years (cap aside) is memerable.

Im happy for the Dragons 2010 title, the fans have stuck in there for a long time and deserved something, but what will they be remembered for??? Suffocating defence......boring. Can anybody, even dragons fans pinpoint a highlight from 2010 that will be remembered or replayed in 2 years??

Says alot when you for and against is +219 (best by 70 odd points) but only the 8th best attacking team.

So to get to the point, i agree. Was very disappointing for NRL in general, but their fans have bragging rights for now. In their eyes it was a brilliant season and we cant argue with that, after all they have the trophy.

macnaz

Hardly harsh when its true.

Possibly the most representative players in a single team,the best coach and great support base and yet 95% of their 2009-2010 highlights would be "Boyd second man to Morris...try.

Once teams shut that play down they looked totally lost in attack. Yes the best team in 2 years (ladder position only) but hardly a memorable year by any measure. When u think of a great season u think Eels 2001, lost the final but most records still stand and certainly something they could brag about had they won it.

Tigers run into finals 2005 something u can brag about and is memorable for all those who watched our run, tigers supporters or not.

Manly 40-0 after losing the year before to the most dominant team in years (cap aside) is memerable.

Im happy for the Dragons 2010 title, the fans have stuck in there for a long time and deserved something, but what will they be remembered for??? Suffocating defence......boring. Can anybody, even dragons fans pinpoint a highlight from 2010 that will be remembered or replayed in 2 years??

Says alot when you for and against is +219 (best by 70 odd points) but only the 8th best attacking team.

So to get to the point, i agree. Was very disappointing for NRL in general, but their fans have bragging rights for now. In their eyes it was a brilliant season and we cant argue with that, after all they have the trophy.

Well written heaps of numbers , great post +1

Das Hassler

I never would have believed an NRL game could possibly be as boring as saturday afternoon club rugby..well it wasn't quite that boring but it was close. You have to respect the man and i sure as hell do, but if anyone at the Tigers ever gets the brilliant idea of bringing Bennett in to ensure another premiership then that's the day i'll forget about 'em..i'd rather a team filled with (and maybe even coached by) circus freaks than a team filled with a bunch of charted accountants. By the start of next season more people will remember the exploits of Canberra .the Roosters and the Tigers than they will about anything the Dragons did apart from how sensible and safe they were..but then again winning is everything ...zzzzzzzzz

blacklock

you realise that the tigers scored 537 to the dragons 518 right?

The "8th" ranking in attack is rather superficial when you look at the difference in attack amongst the teams is nominal when compared to the difference in defense.

What that tells me is, the teams with flare are not as effective in attack as we may think. Its just that they get involved in games where they let in so many points, we perceive them as more exciting. Knowing a team will just come out and DEFEND seems boring. Isnt that the point of the game? To score and not concede points?

In the end...no one remembers how a premiership was won aside from who won it. No one certainly will remember the amazing attack of teams who "almost" made it.

Tigers had many exciting moments during the season and are fun to watch. But i also know that with that excitement comes a side of agony. When the amazing plays dont come off. When perhaps pulling back 10% will make them that much more effective ie benji not kicking the ball out on the full. beau scott kicking ahead when there was time to set up for a field goal. Yes if it came off...we would be in awe...wow..last second try.

But...

Do you prefer going home empty handed? Or perhaps seeing Benji slot home a field goal to equalise the way braith anasta did.

(btw..between the tigers and roosters..id have said tigers deserved to be in the grand final. roosters got lucky all the way. period)