Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wayne Bennett

forward pass

I heard the other day that there are calls for Bennett to stand aside for next year. Can you confirm if this is true?

they have called for his head since 1993. Until they can find someone suitable to replace him (like get bellamy back to the broncos) then i want him to stay.

forward pass

Ok thanks for that. I wasn't sure what the general feeling was in Qld.

Personally, I think you guys need a change but can't see that happening.

Ghoulies

forward pass said:
I heard the other day that there are calls for Bennett to stand aside for next year. Can you confirm if this is true?
As Charlie said, there have always been calls for Bennett’s sacking, but it has probably intensified over the past few weeks with our 3rd straight capitulation (that is we lose on Saturday of course) at the business-end of the season.
gregstar said:
always look at who the people are who call for his head.
gregstar said:
That'd normally be the case with the Bennett bashers, but there's now a great deal of frustration around the usually solid Bronco fan. Even a mate of mine, who was the staunchest of Bennett supporters, questions his value to the club.
brissyleaguedude said:
we finished 3rd and we need a new coach? wat a f**king joke
Finishing 3rd in such a tight comp is a great achievement, but if we lose on Saturday (and the following week, provided we're still there) it will be the 3rd year straight, and with a line-up like ours the fans expect their team to be competitive.

Personally.....

- I believe Bennett’s job should be secure until we at least find a better replacement than Kevvie Walters.

- I think that some new blood needs to brought in, whether from the Clydesdales or other clubs doesn't matter; Webbie, Civ and Thorn won't be around for too much longer and I'm not exactly confident in the ability of Dane Carlaw or Corey Parker to take over the reigns as our number one prop.

In previous years I would always be quick to shoot down any Bennett-doubters, but times are changing. I'll continue to support him (as I did when we were playing great footy 2 months ago), but one more end-of-season collapse, after promising so much, and I don’t think I could bring myself to support him in his position at the club.

Then again, if we go on to Grand Final glory this would all be for nothing.

Cheers.

salivor

I've called for Bennetts head a couple of years back but gave credit where credit was due when he made changes to genuinly re-develope our attack after a number of years being a one dimensional defensive side.

As I said then though and as I say now, theres no point sacking a guy with 18 years at the club who has brought us 5 premierships and had success at state and international level unless we have a damn good replacement. We had the perfect opportunity of mentoring Bellamy to take over the ropes and instead Bennett continued to slog on and he moved on to Melbourne, we are and will continue to regret that decision. This has in most cases been a club that always looks to the future but we couldn't have been more short sighted in that instance.

Also Goulies, I think your being kind saying it's 3 years in a row that we've capitulated. I'd say it's been 5, every year since we won in 2000 and had the exodus of senior players at the end of that year.
2001 - Lost 8 of our last 10 matches
2002 - Lost 5 of our last 7
2003 - Lost our last 8 matches
2004 - 4 losses, 1 draw and 1 win from our last 6 matches
2005 - Currently 5 straight losses

Bennett will go around again next year but if this slide happens once again we'll be left with bugger all options. The best man manger coach Rugby Leauge has ever seen who can't mentally get this side up at the back end of the season and no credible replacement. Things like this quickly can become ingrained into a clubs culture, that's what I'm most worried about.

gregstar

bennett basically IS the broncos.
management have always deferred to his judgement & given him free reign over HIS football team, unlike any other coach.
the vacuum should he step down would be enormous & would reverberate for many seasons that followed.

Big Pete

Agreed with subs, I doubt Bennet could do the same with Souths as he could with the Broncos.

Dazzat

I reckon Wayne Bennet will want to appoint his deputy as future coach of the Broncos. I just can't see him walking away and leaving the appointment to the club. It will either be Bellamy or Walters.

Big Pete

And I hope we get Bellamy back, ever since he's left the Broncos havn't been the same side.

Big Pete

He isn't a bad coach or anything (well most of the time) I just want to see what someone else can do with this team.