Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WCC 18 man squad

Vicious

As everyone would probably already know, they are cutting the squad back to 18 to go over to the UK for the WCC. Just wondering who everyone thinks will be in this final 18???

My Tip Is:
1.Hodgo
2.Fitzy(unfortunately)
3.Elford(hesitantly)
4.Whatuira
5.Lolesi/Collis
6.Fulton
7.Prince
13.Galea
12.Heighington
11.Laffranchi
10.Skandalis
9.Farah
8.Payten

14.Harrison
15.Harris
16.Gibbs
17.O`Hara
***I reckon Galloway, Reynolds and McDonnell might miss out?

Vicious

Balmain_Boy said:
That's only 17...

Lolesi and Collis bracketed.
Thinking more about it, i`d say Reynolds would definately go, as even if he`s not in the nominal 17, i`d say they`d still want a back up playmaker just in case anything happened to Prince at training or in the warm up.

westie

18 is probably too small a number to be taking overseas. What happens if the two halves collide at training and are out???

Mighty Tiger

Vicious mate I have a funny feeling Reynolds is 1st choice to partner Prince in the halves for this year whilst benji is out injured

westie said:
18 is probably too small a number to be taking overseas. What happens if the two halves collide at training and are out???

Move Payten into halfback and snap Adrian Vowles up for a game

Seriously what does Fitzy have to do to get the *Unfortunately* away from his name? Starred for us in the Finals, and played some fine footy for us during the last half of the year.

Also, bring back Patty for the game if we have some injuries!

tiger_nick

westie said:

That nearly happened last year with Canterbury. Brad Cylde was going to play.

Maybe Royce will pull the boot out? ;-) If not I'm sure Wigan or the Frogs would lend us Patty or Wilson lol

tiger_nick said:
Maybe Royce will pull the boot out? ;-) If not I'm sure Wigan or the Frogs would lend us Patty or Wilson lol
Maybe we could say they are 'Rat Pitchards' and 'Wohn Jilson', the English aren't too smart (Just look at the arguement over in the other thread about the NRL being better than SL) so they won't know the difference!

fitzy69

The_MaFeeLi_Tiger said:
Seriously what does Fitzy have to do to get the *Unfortunately* away from his name? Starred for us in the Finals, and played some fine footy for us during the last half of the year.

Also, bring back Patty for the game if we have some injuries!

well said !!
I second that...

Tim Brasher

I think the team that Sheens will pick will run out like this...

1.Brett Hodgson
2.Shannon McDonnell
3.Dean Collis
4.Paul Whatuira
5.Jamaal Lolesi
6.Benji Marshall
7.Scott Prince
13.Ben Galea
12.Liam Fulton/Chris Heighington
11.Anthony Laffranchi
10.John Skandallis
9.Robbie Farah
8.Ryan O'Hara

14.Liam Fulton/Chris Heighington
15.Bryce Gibbs
16.Sam Harris
17.Bronson Harrison

Tim Brasher

I dunno Palms....I meant King Fitzy. He played so well in the Gunnedah trial. Im excited to see him in the number 6 in WCC

Tim Brasher

The_MaFeeLi_Tiger said:
Keith Galloway also played very very well in the trial, doesn't he get a run?

I just feel he will be the 18th man...Sheens has said that the new players will be licky to play and from the squad i think he will miss out. Id love to see him play but I think Sheens will pick O'Hara and Harris ahead of him

daveking

Sheens named a 20-man squad for the trial match against New South Wales country outfit Gunnedah and after consulting with his coaching staff, has opted to leave out centre Shane Elford and five-eighth/half Ben Reynolds for the trip to the UK.

The Tigers line-up does include Australian half back Scott Prince plus Kiwi internationals Paul Whatuira, Jamaal Lolesi and Bronson Harrison. Also included is former Australian Rugby Union player Sam Harris.

The Wests Tigers squad in full is: Brett Hodgson, Shannon McDonnell, Paul Whatuira, Dean Collis, Jamaal Lolesi, Daniel Fitzhenry, Scott Prince ©, Bryce Gibbs, Robbie Farah, John Skandalis, Chris Heighington, Anthony Laffranchi, Ben Galea, Liam Fulton, Bronson Harrison, Sam Harris, Ryan O'Hara, Keith Galloway.

as a rhino come on you tigers