Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

We have all learnt the Bennett lessons well.

Roopy, cmon mate.Do you really believeconceding 50 pointsis OK?. To say the Knights defence was good to restrict the Sharks to 50 is a dead set joke. I know youcopped some today and your searching for positives but geez, thats going too far.

You can play your"harem scarem" all you like but facts arethe eels blow your theory to shreds.They are an example of a teamNOT sacrificing defence to score points and last time I looked they have scored far more than anyone else,concededfar less and are very much in the top eight.

BTW, Bennets teamshave dominated on a combination of both attack and defence. The last two years Brisbanewere the best defensive team and I don't think that's just a coincidence.

Ok Roopy, I take your point but I still think that attack is made to look a lot better than it really is by poor defense. As you say, measure the attack against the defence and for mine the defence was pretty ordinary today,a team that misses 46tackles deserves to get wacked. Apart from Parsons the Knights defense was just non existent all game. The sharkies defense started out well but it fell apart in the second half when they gotcocky and became too fancy.

Roopy, I don't know whatyou expect from Morris mate, he was your best defender by far. (btw, think he will stay a knight) I thought Kennedy, Perry and Peden went missing and the stats seem to back that up.

Johns 15 Tackles 5 misses
Kennedy 29 tackles 5 misses
Perry 11 tackles 3 misses
Peden 17 tackles 5 misses

Parsons 17 tackles 0 misses
Morriss 33 tackles 0 misses

Too many one on one misses.I still stand by my assessment early in the year too Roopy,fancy runners but not much good in the trenches.Still, time will tell
emwink.gif

BTW, I have heard Johns walked out on his missus and kid a few weeks back and is playing up around town, making a real ass of himself. Any truth in that?

LOL, onya Roopy, well I guess if the stats don't suit then its best to ignore them, as for the grandfinal, think you'll find that ratherdifficult to win from the grandstand.
emwink.gif

<table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=0 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td valign=top bgcolor=#000066 rowspan=3> </td> <td width="100%" bgcolor=#6666ff>
dot_clear.gif
</td> <td width=109 bgcolor=#6666ff>
dot_clear.gif
</td></tr></tbody></table> <table> <tbody> <tr> <td>Match Scoreboard Stats Breakdown Match Flow Team Lists
Sharks Player Stats Knights Player Stats Live Matches
</td></tr></tbody></table> <table> <tbody> <tr> <td colspan=12>Player Stats - Newcastle v Sharks </td></tr> <tr> <td></td> <td>Try</td> <td>G</td> <td>FG</td> <td>Ht</td> <td>Tk</td> <td>Ms</td> <td>Er</td> <td>LB</td> <td>As</td> <td>Pts</td></tr> <tr> <td>D.Albert</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>7</td> <td>4</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>4</td></tr> <tr> <td>J.Bailey</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>7</td> <td>14</td> <td>5</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>4</td></tr> <tr> <td>M.Gidley</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>5</td> <td>11</td> <td>2</td> <td>2</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td></tr> <tr> <td>G.Grief</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>7</td> <td>22</td> <td>2</td> <td>1</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td></tr> <tr> <td>A.Johns</td> <td>0</td> <td>5</td> <td>0</td> <td>8</td> <td>15</td> <td>5</td> <td>4</td> <td>0</td> <td>2</td> <td>10</td></tr> <tr> <td>B.Kennedy</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>12</td> <td>29</td> <td>5</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td></tr> <tr> <td>P.Marquet</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>1</td> <td>11</td> <td>1</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td></tr> <tr> <td>J.Morris</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>8</td> <td>33</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td></tr> <tr> <td>C.O'Brien</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>5</td> <td>12</td> <td>2</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td></tr> <tr> <td>R.O'Davis</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>14</td> <td>6</td> <td>3</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>4</td></tr> <tr> <td>M.Parsons</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>11</td> <td>17</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td></tr> <tr> <td>B.Peden</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>7</td> <td>17</td> <td>5</td> <td>0</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td></tr> <tr> <td>J.Perry</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>5</td> <td>11</td> <td>3</td> <td>0</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td></tr> <tr> <td>S.Rudder</td> <td>2</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>7</td> <td>20</td> <td>4</td> <td>1</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>8</td></tr> <tr> <td>J.Ryder</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>14</td> <td>8</td> <td>2</td> <td>0</td> <td>2</td> <td>2</td> <td>0</td></tr> <tr> <td>S.Simpson</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>6</td> <td>23</td> <td>2</td> <td>0</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td></tr> <tr> <td>T.Tahu</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>8</td> <td>6</td> <td>5</td> <td>1</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td> <td>0</td></tr> <tr> <td colspan=12>Try - TriesG - Penalty Goals &amp; ConversionsFG - Field Goals
Ht - Hit UpsTk - TacklesMs - Missed Tackles
Er - Handling ErrorsLB - Line BreaksAs - Try AssistsPts - Total Points </td></tr></tbody></table>
&lt;!-- Begin Page Body -->&lt;!-- Sabela Media Project OTS. This goes at your ad location -->&lt;ILAYER id=zSabela1 height="60" width="468" border="0">&lt;/ILAYER>&lt;NOLAYER>&lt;/NOLAYER>

Figure the Knights to finish3rd or 4th havingto play either the Broncos or a resurgent Roosters and being eliminated first up.

BlueAnGold

ha only a knights supporter could write that, good defence to restrict em to 50 lol. guess you expect to win the gf 75 to 70 eh,sounds more like afl

BlueAnGold

nah, i agree with rassie, a good team dontignore defence just toattack, none of the greats have done that. the eels have been the best team so far and they have a great defence. yeah, they can attack, new premiership points scoring record is evidence to that, but they still tackle and teams that don't will not win. semis &amp; gf's are always built on defence

Roopy, wasn't having a go at the nights mate. The stats were only to back up my assertion that Morris was your best defender and I thought you were being harsh on him. He made 33 tackles with no misses and Buderus averages 29.9 per game so that's not bad.

I know where your coming from in saying the game is more attack orientated and to some extent I agree but I still believe a lot of the attack is due to plain bad defense and not good attacking skills.Good attack can open up a defense with ball movement over 2 or 3 playsby creating holes in the defensive line to run through.It is possble to see teams score a lot of points yet the opposition still have a low missed tackle rate, always a sign of good attack. But look at some of these high scoring games and you will see it is by way of missed one on one tackles, not a case of creating gaps or avoiding players but simply running straight through them.That's not good attack its poor defense.Anyway, thats my opinion.

BlueNGold, I think you miss the point there mate, he was talking about the trends of the game.BTW, I see in your "Getting to know you" post your an old front rowerfrom my old junior clubHills District. What years were you there mate?

L

legend

This should be interesting. Two Hills distrcit blokes. I'll have to try anf find some more Fairfiield Pats blokes. I used to love my weekend footy and Hills and Wenty were always the toughest games.

Ha, fairfield pats eh, always thought there was somethin a bit strange with you
emwink.gif
Still, you guys were always worth 2 points to us so I guess that makes you OK. When I played they had a split comp and the two grand finalists played off against each other for the district championship, always Hills V Wenty. Now they were tough games,the playoff was abandoned in the 2nd half for 2 consecutive years, just when they were getting interesting too
emwink.gif

Oie! Where doesa patties boy get off calling anyone a galah
emsmilep.gif

I played with them from 1969 to 1975, came through all the junior grades, undefeated in the last 3years, I may add with all humilty.

LOL, those were the years when I could always legallybeat the tripe out of a pansie second rower from Marist Bros by the name of fitzgerald.

I had a bit of a thought when I started this thread, but I put it across so badly that the whole thread quickly went to hell. Anyway, I'll have a think about the subject and see if I can put it down a bit better next time. I have deleted all my posts because they were basically all drivel.

Rasputin,
I can always rely on you to keep me honest in these things. Thanks.

Roopy, what did you do that for? You were making your point, blame legend for leading the thread astray, after all, he's a manager and deserves to be blamed
emwink.gif

Rasputin,
I put the point very badly in the first post and it was downhill from there.
I thought about trying again to save the thread, but decided my best bet would be to think about it a bit more and try again later, when I get it straight in my own head.