Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

We live in a false paradise

This is a top thread. I have really enjoyed reading it.

Keeping Noddy and Peach on the field may give you a different perspective next year Fiz.

Surely

At full strength this year we would have done all right, but it is difficult when you lose both playmakers, it happens to all sides.

Newcastle without Johns, Penrith without Gower and Campbell got belted a couple of times.

We have the basis of a solid squad, would be handy to have a good running backrower like hindmarsh, rather than a Harlen and Oborne.

Barring injury we should do well next year, but i still doubt we can win it.

The good thing, especially for the future is that we have been in a position to win against the good sides this year. With Noddy back we will these games next year.

fatshark

Next year is gonna be awesome. We'll be a little older, a little wiser, and if we can keep Noddy on the park for the whole year we'll go all the way. Stupid Gould.
\\:D/ :clap:

Generalzod

Genius Freak said:
Next year is gonna be awesome. We'll be a little older, a little wiser, and if we can keep Noddy on the park for the whole year we'll go all the way. Stupid Gould.

I'm excited already...can't hardly wait.

millersnose

fizman said:
Millers, I am sure Anderson said his plan was to win the comp in 3 years when he took over, can anyone confirm or deny this??

quite specifically year 2 was his prediction

millersnose

beekershark said:
PLayers that were brought to the club by Chris Anderson feeling like outsiders, particulary with staffers who publicly faught with anderson, who these players are still close to, having stated he wants them gone, two of these palayers are two of our most senior.

One player, our best player, is here for the long haul under contract, yet he obviously is still very close to anderson.

thats ok beeker ..you can say "kimmorley" if you want

i dont know where this is going

is there a hint of "kimmorley working with the evil anderrson to undermine raper" conspiracy theory emerging?

We have a new coach who has been desperate to coach in the NRL and has finally been given his chance by the board, yet he has also been given a star player who is bloody amazing on the field, but likes to call all the shots, and is not going anywhere for a long time and is being paid huge dollars.

lol

what does "likes to call all the shots" actually mean - if you are going to attack him at least have the decency to be specific

The coach must bow to this situation and accept it in order to keep his position as an NRL coach safe.

the evil anderson controled kimmorley about to do...ummmm...something to hurt raper

Other players are being let go that have had a very transient era at the club, Rieck, Bosnich, Franze, Gibson. Many of these players have formed a huge part of the clubs social culture over the past few years, they are very highly respected among the players and staff, yet have been on the outer under the new coach, who has felt pressure to include new "star" recruits in the side rather than those who were already at the club performing poorly under the ruptured atmoshpere of anderson. Merrits selection ahead of rieck last night perplexed many players and riecks performance in first divvy only further fuelled discontent.

and you have proof of this discontent?

do the players confide their dissatisfavction personally with you?

how many?

Over seeing all this is a board that rule with fear and collusion as their main strike weapons

did you steal that from the opening of "star wars"

But is there a plan as to HOW to go about it ? I don't think so at present, I think the plan to run the footy club is being run by the same board who are running the "plan" to re-develop our biggest asset, our land, and that has been a patch up, hodge bodge job since peter gow left, perhaps patch up, hodge bodge could also be used to describe the same boards overseeing of our football campaign ?

so a thread about players ability to win the comp morphs gently into a political platform

chili pepper

Another positive for next year is we shouldn't have a slow start loke the last few years when we have been coming to grips with a new coachs style (2002 and this year) or rebuilding a new team (2003).

Hopefully a stable off-season will allow us to start next season well and push for a top 4 spot towards the end of the year - rather than coming from the bottom of the table and struggling to hold a spot in the eight.

DJDL

Have a look back at what's happened since the win against the Broncos - and the injuries to Peach and Noddy.

We've lost 5 games against top 8 sides. Every one of those we were in positions to win. A little experience and guidance out there and we'd be sitting a lot prettier now.

If we'd have only won 3 of those (very realistic) we'd currently be sitting in 4th.
Win them all and we're 3rd.

Would we hear the same cries of us not building towards something then?

I'm not fretting. It's crucial injuries at a bad time which have cost us this year. Not much you can do about that.

beekershark

millersnose said:
beekershark said:
PLayers that were brought to the club by Chris Anderson feeling like outsiders, particulary with staffers who publicly faught with anderson, who these players are still close to, having stated he wants them gone, two of these palayers are two of our most senior.

One player, our best player, is here for the long haul under contract, yet he obviously is still very close to anderson.

thats ok beeker ..you can say "kimmorley" if you want

i dont know where this is going

is there a hint of "kimmorley working with the evil anderrson to undermine raper" conspiracy theory emerging?

NO Mate, that's not what I'm getting at, I don't think noddy is at fault or trying to undermine the club with his mate Ando at all, hes a fantastic player and will continue being one at our club I hope, but the comments are made in the context of fizmans queries about direction, specifically coaching. I am suggesting that our coach probably feels the need to bow to and suck up to our highly paid halfback, in order to ensure his own job security. If a falling out with noddy meant the board had to choose between letting noddy go, or raper, what would the result be ? i don't know, but i'm sure rapers doesnt want to find out.

Hence me making the comment, because we talk of direction and masterplans here, yet rapers options for amaster plan were pretty much in place when he arrived, noddy is a half who determines totally the style of play the team must play, and in some degree, what players must be purchased I guess.

We have a new coach who has been desperate to coach in the NRL and has finally been given his chance by the board, yet he has also been given a star player who is bloody amazing on the field, but likes to call all the shots, and is not going anywhere for a long time and is being paid huge dollars.

lol

what does "likes to call all the shots" actually mean - if you are going to attack him at least have the decency to be specific

far from an attack Millers, as explained above, it's no secret noddy is an extremely dominant footballer, on the park and off the park, the history of his career shows this, teams must work around him, his best mate and old coach anderson publicly states that, pick 12 forwards and let noddy play footy.

The coach must bow to this situation and accept it in order to keep his position as an NRL coach safe.

the evil anderson controled kimmorley about to do...ummmm...something to hurt raper

you are seeing things that don't exist mate ! lol

as explained, the coach cannot afford to have cross words with noddy can he ? nothing to do with anderson at all and I never said anytihng about him, I refer to his postition as NRL coach at the club, and the board. My point in the context is, how can a coach , club and board have a master plan when there is no much politicing that determines things ?

Other players are being let go that have had a very transient era at the club, Rieck, Bosnich, Franze, Gibson. Many of these players have formed a huge part of the clubs social culture over the past few years, they are very highly respected among the players and staff, yet have been on the outer under the new coach, who has felt pressure to include new "star" recruits in the side rather than those who were already at the club performing poorly under the ruptured atmoshpere of anderson. Merrits selection ahead of rieck last night perplexed many players and riecks performance in first divvy only further fuelled discontent.

and you have proof of this discontent?

do the players confide their dissatisfavction personally with you?

how many?

You only have to talk to them after matches in the club to know mate.

Over seeing all this is a board that rule with fear and collusion as their main strike weapons

did you steal that from the opening of "star wars"

No, but george can use it if he wants !

But is there a plan as to HOW to go about it ? I don't think so at present, I think the plan to run the footy club is being run by the same board who are running the "plan" to re-develop our biggest asset, our land, and that has been a patch up, hodge bodge job since peter gow left, perhaps patch up, hodge bodge could also be used to describe the same boards overseeing of our football campaign ?

so a thread about players ability to win the comp morphs gently into a political platform

no, a thread about the CLUBS ability and position to win a comp mentions the board of that club. Unusual ? hardly they captain the ship.

We have spent big on coaches sacked coaches, halfbacks, other players , cleaned out playing staff, changed trainers etc etc over the past 6 years mate, yet we appear as close to a title as any other year, so it's not about a platform or any agenda, its about me wanting the best for the club, I make no aplogies if that means wanting change in the ONE CONSTANT who have over seen these past years.

millersnose

god its annoying when people dont use the quote function

i will assume it wasnt an effort to confuse and conceal beeker - i will assume you just cant work it out

beekershark said:
NO Mate, that's not what I'm getting at, I don't think noddy is at fault or trying to undermine the club with his mate Ando at all, hes a fantastic player and will continue being one at our club I hope, but the comments are made in the context of fizmans queries about direction, specifically coaching. I am suggesting that our coach probably feels the need to bow to and suck up to our highly paid halfback,

hang on

our "highly paid" halfback is not at fault yet our coach needs to "suck up" to our "highly paid" half back?

in order to ensure his own job security.

in order to ensure his own job security?

far from an attack Millers, as explained above, it's no secret noddy is an extremely dominant footballer, on the park and off the park, the history of his career shows this, teams must work around him, his best mate and old coach anderson publicly states that, pick 12 forwards and let noddy play footy.

sort of like johns lockyer etc

this guilt by assosiation trip you are laying on "our highly paid" halfback is not relevant unless our "highly paid" halfback decides to go to wales to play rugby

you are seeing things that don't exist mate ! lol

as explained, the coach cannot afford to have cross words with noddy can he ?

why not?

. My point in the context is, how can a coach , club and board have a master plan when there is no much politicing that determines things ?

so in essence your point is if a club has a player like johns lockyer kimmorley fittler he cannot effectively coach

surely your kimmorley hatred is driving you to make silly statements

You only have to talk to them after matches in the club to know mate.

with due respect beeker i dont think they would share such information with some fan drooling on their shoulder

i wont comment on your political agenda against the club

dont care really

but if you are gonna bag kimmorley at least try to use some facts

innuendo may be effective but there will always be someone like me to call you to account

Shark

To offer a comment on the 'unhappiness' of players...Millers, maybe it's your approach, I don't know, but I have had numerous conversations with players about contract negotiations, form, relationships with coaching staff, etc etc.

I don't know them terribly well, they know my name and they say g'day [name] after a match, but apart from two current players I am hardly 'mates' with these guys. A 'dribbling fan', am I???

Still, over the course of the season, I have spoken to quite a number of the players that I don't know all that well, and they have given me open, frank and honest answers when questioned about topics including form, contracts, the board (who the players LAUGH at, by the way) etc etc.

These guys include Bickerstaff, Beattie, Gallen, Gibson, Sully, Peach, Stevo, Bails, Bosnich and Nutley.

I know, and you know, that even the GM of the club is prepared to provide honest, up-front responses to reasonable questions put to him by sensible, coherent and down-to-earth people.

So, I have to ask this: Why is it suddenly a crime for Beekershark to suggest that players have spoken to him about the current situation at the club and their views on the leadership of the club at Board level? I'm a nuffie, and the guys talk to me about this stuff. So, knowing that beeks is far better known to most of the players than I am, I reckon it is highly likely that his conversations with players are a fair bit more in-depth than the chats I enjoy. It would be the same for many other forum members, I reckon.

So does that make us 'dribbling fans' or whatever you labelled us? Come on mate!

Shark

Sorry Millers, in the interests of accuracy (which I know you value very highly), your context was:

with due respect beeker i dont think they would share such information with some fan drooling on their shoulder

Look out! Don't talk to players after games people, you will be officially classed as a 'drooling fan'. :shock:

Nice one, Millers! :clap:

millersnose

no shark

perhaps you are some weirdo drooling on players feet i dont know

but i responded to a specific claim

selection ahead of rieck last night perplexed many players and riecks performance in first divvy only further fuelled discontent.

do players confide their "discontent" to you as well shark?

do they bag out other "highly paid" players to strangers?

Shark

millersnose said:

Well actually, yes on occasion they have. In fact, on the most recent occasion two or three other forum members were present.

Not that I am a complete stranger though.

And I hope that my use of the
function pleases you.

millersnose

Shark said:
millersnose said:

Well actually, yes on occasion they have. In fact, on the most recent occasion two or three other forum members were present.

and what did they say?

Not that I am a complete stranger though.

oh i am sure they tell you everything

but alas you didnt answer my question

Shark

Well, I think I did answer your questions, Millers.

You asked if players confide their discontent in me or something. I said yes they do. :shock:

You then asked if they bagged out highly paid players to strangers. As I am not a complete stranger to the players I am speaking to, I am not in a position to answer that question. :lol:

And I am not stupid enough to expect that these guys are telling me the inner secrets of the entire club operation, Millers. So don't fret. But as a half-intelligent person with a reasonable understanding of the game, I am able to have a reasonably in-depth conversation with a footy player and figure out just how much he is telling me, and how much he is keeping to himself. It's not hard mate. It's called communicating. Get out and try it sometime! :D

beekershark

GOd it's annoying when someone gets so belittling and pompous simply because another forum member made an error in quoting and responding ! :roll:

It's bloody hilarious that you can see my "hatred" of Kimmorley Millers, seeing as though it doesn't exist ! say g'day to santa clause and a classy eat at Oki stadium when you next see either of them for me mate ! :lol:

You read my comments totally differently than I intend them to be read, you seem to think I am having a niggle at kimmorley, you faily to look at the big picture here.

THe BOARD signed him to a long term contract, too long in my book,. Now, does that mean I hate the player ? far from it. It means that the board has signed an expensive star for too long. it does NOT mean I think noddy is a bad player or not playing well etc etc. IT means that the board has hamstrung any coach who comes , becuase noddy, regardless of future coaches, or form, is here for good money.

The relationship between Raper and NOddy is fantastic, however that has been to the detriment of other players at the club.

a similar scernario is happening with our other star recruit, Vagana, the difference is that vaganas form is failing because of it, wheras noddy , when fit, is playing extremely well. work that out I hear you say ?? Vagana is being mollycoddled and sucked up to by the coach and his form is failing ?

At Bulldogs, it was common knowledge that Folks is a harsh disciplinarian, regimented and strict, he demands what he wants his players to do and commands respect at training by making them sure in no uncertain terms that they know if they are not playing well, this sometimes caused friction ( mason) but it also got the best out of lazy players, or players who needed constant coaching and guidance to keep them motivated.

Vagana leaves that environment and comes to a club where a brand new coach has arrived and the club as a whole idolises him , expects him to be the saviour and kisses his ass at every given chance, Yes NIge, Sure nige ! what a guy !

and his form as been telling this season as a result.

Now, before you go getting all " beeker hates nigel, just say it ! " read what I have said, and understand that this is more a criticism of the CLUB and the ENVIRONMENT we provide for our players.

I think it's been a worry for a good few years at least and I think it is greatly underestimated as a componant that is stopping us from winning a title.

beekershark

Millers, were you at the presentation on the weekend ?

If you weren't , then I understand your pressing of this point regarding player discontent. If you were, then did you not see Bosnichs speach after recieving the reserves player player award ?

beekershark

THat was just one more public example that some players are discontented. personal conversations aside, it doesnt , as shark says, take much nouse to understand whichi players are happy and which are not.

" I love this club:

is a common phrase used by many players...

" i dont want to leave, but they've given me no choice"

" they aren't nick politis' shoelace but carry on like they are"

in reference to the board.

Just open your ears at the club after games mate !