Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

We're letting Beale go, resigned Gagai

Snappy

Broncos have withdrawn an offer to Beale and resigned Gagai, so Beale will be gone next year.

http://www.nrl.com/broncos-gagai-in-new-two-year-nrl-deal/tabid/10874/newsid/66394/default.aspx

Broncos' Gagai in new two-year NRL deal

Wayne Heming AAP Mon, Mar 19, 2012 - 6:33 PM

Brisbane have re-signed speedster Dane Gagai, an exciting young talent many believe has the potential to one day take over from star NRL centre Justin Hodges.

The Broncos officially informed Gerard Beale's manager Issac Moses late on Monday that they had withdrawn an offer to the 21-year-old Kiwi international, strongly rumoured to be St George Illawarra-bound next year.

The club however is still in negotiations with hard-hitting back-rower Ben Te'o who might also be forced to look elsewhere.

A cousin of Broncos fullback Josh Hoffman and former winger Wendell Sailor, Gagai extended his deal with Brisbane on Monday until 2014.

Asked after training on Monday about rumours the Dragons were circling, Beale shrugged his shoulders and said: "I might know more tomorrow or later in the week".

Brisbane were always keen to hang on to Gagai whom they chased as a schoolboy at Brisbane Boys' College when the Queensland Reds were also hunting his signature.

The son of former Bronco flash Ray Gagai - a try-scoring specialist who was prevented from making his mark on the NRL because of injury - has bulked up by four or five kilograms this season and is pressing for a start following two strong showings for Queensland Cup side Redcliffe.

He's already shown glimpses of his potential, scoring four tries in just seven NRL games in 2011.

"He's someone we've had (at the club) since he was 17 and he's come through our system so we're delighted he's committed for two more years," said coach Anthony Griffin.

"He's got ability to play anywhere in the outside backs - fullback, centre or wing.

"We see him as a future first-grader or we wouldn't have re-signed him."

Griffin said the 21-year-old was "very elusive" and a player who read the game well for someone so young.

"He's got that knack of putting himself in the right position.

"Like all good finishers, he's got a habit of scoring that impossible try with his catching game or quick feet.

"He can find the tryline and he's a good kid and we're hoping he plays a lot of first grade for us."

Meanwhile, Griffin said he was expecting Greg Inglis and Dave Taylor - confirmed by Gold Coast as their latest big-name signing on Monday - would pose major threats in the NRL showpiece game against South Sydney in Perth on Friday night.

Inglis was back to his devastating best from fullback in the Rabbitohs' 40-24 win over Penrith at the weekend when the 120kg Taylor scored two tries.

Coach Michael Maguire said he liked the idea of Inglis having the freedom to attack both sides of the field.

"No matter where he (Inglis) plays - five-eighth, centre, fullback - he's very good," said Griffin.

"It's up to us to do a job on him defensively.

"As for Dave, he's always hard to handle.

"He's just another challenge for us."

GoTheBroncs

It's probably the right move for him if he wants a better chance of playing fullback at NRL level. Although I guess he has some competition with Morris/Nightingale.

Do people think that we will now likely see Gagai replace Beale in the NRL side some time soon?

Big Pete

That's a nice silver lining, he looked very good in those replays for Redcliffe.

All the best to Beale, wish we could have kept him but at the same time I don't think he'd ever get much of a go at fullback and he's simply not effective elsewhere. Dragons are a respectable club and I reckon he'll play some good footy for them.

Steve_oneskie

good player sad to lose him but its probably in his best interests, he simply isn't a winger and Hoffman is a pretty damn good fullback. From the little i've seen of him Gagai looks like a good find and will hopefully do well to replace Beale at stages throughout the year and also next year.

Nevcost

Good riddance, bring Gagai into the team now. Beale has been playing like garbage this season anyway

Vol-Crane-O

Good riddance, bring Gagai into the team now. Beale has been playing like garbage this season anyway

Not good riddance. Beale has been a fantastic player for us (especially last year).

Shame we couldn't keep him, but I think he will be better off at another club where he can play his natural position without interference.

AceAv

Well,

I am happy to hear this news. Beale has been average this year. Simply because he just isn't a winger -sure if he was dead set on becoming a great winger and had the physical traits we would see some improvement, but he has been below average for the bronx this year and was only just above average last year. A lot of you may disagree, but a lot of his tries were done where most of the work had been set up.

When hoffy got injured. I was impressed with most of his ability to play FB and BigPete said it right. I hope he does OK with the dragons. But this is Gaigai's year, he has that Xfactor that so many other amazing Broncos have shown and I really hope we see some game time for him Fri.

Anyone know what's happening with Teo? -I would hate to lose him!!

God-King Dean

Good depth signing. But with Morris having a blinder at fullback, & Vidot debuting on the wing, 'twill be interesting to see what happens.

beads6

Good depth signing. But with Morris having a blinder at fullback, & Vidot debuting on the wing, 'twill be interesting to see what happens.

Beale wants to play fullback or centre. Will be interesting to see what happens. It looks like hasn't even signed with the Dragons yet.

AuDragon

FB is the only position Beale is really good at. He's isn't that great a centre either...

But if Morris displays that sort of form on a consistent basis at fullback, Beale might be in for a nasty surprise...

Tigers, chooks, tits would be better choices imo, or even 5(c)uff$ if Inglis returns to the centres.

Big Pete

I don't think BMoz will be able to replicate that sort of form for an entire season. Let's be honest, the Tigers were pretty bad on Friday night.

Fingerbang

Pretty sure if you let him go immediately, that you still got to pay his wages for this year. Not very smart to pay for him to help another team this year. What happens then when you get a few injuries, or outside backs playing origin?

GoTheBroncs

Pretty sure if you let him go immediately, that you still got to pay his wages for this year. Not very smart to pay for him to help another team this year. What happens then when you get a few injuries, or outside backs playing origin?

My post was in the interest of Beale.

God-King Dean

I don't think BMoz will be able to replicate that sort of form for an entire season. Let's be honest, the Tigers were pretty bad on Friday night.

He doesn't need to replicate it, he just needs to be good under the highball - Stanley doesn't look comfortable in the #1, but looked good back in the centres again.

In the past the Morris' hands were diabolical at fullback. I truly doubt B Moz is our long-term fullback - don't think I've ever seen him pass ball other than from dummy-half.

As I said, time will tell.

He doesn't need to replicate it, he just needs to be good under the highball - Stanley doesn't look comfortable in the #1, but looked good back in the centres again.

In the past the Morris' hands were diabolical at fullback. I truly doubt B Moz is our long-term fullback - don't think I've ever seen him pass ball other than from dummy-half.

As I said, time will tell.

Slater was not much of a passer. I recall alot of harbour bridge passes from him and now people rave about him (media types). Morris can improve too.

Big Pete

BMoz can do a 'job' at fullback and I'm sure he'll be better than Stanley who just didn't look comfortable in the position but in the long term you'd have to prefer a player like Gerard Beale if you do indeed sign him.