Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What albums remind you of...

Knightmare

There's been threads in here before about what certain songs remind people of, but how many complete albums remind you of stuff? Here's mine (in no particular order):

The Cruel Sea 'The Honeymoon is Over'- reminds me of 1993/94 being an 8 year old and thinking the ultimate symbol of coolness was wearing your hat backwards :lol: Still, this remains one of the best albums I've heard.

Paul Kelly 'So much water so close to home'- reminds me of 1989/90. This song reminds me alot of driving round in the car with Mum, she played this album alot back then.

The Hoodoo Gurus 'Electric Soup'- reminds me of the time just after I turned 18, I got this album given to me and I listened to it heaps driving in the car. Reminds me of liking this chick at the time and finishing school and all the stuff that was going on in my life at that time.

Jimmy Barnes 'Two Fires'- reminds me of living at Cammeray with my folks in 1991.

Prince 'Graffiti Bridge'- same as above. I thought this was THE coolest album as well :LOL:

Fine Young Cannibals 'The Raw and the Cooked'- reminds me of 1988/89 driving in the car with Mum. She got the tape to play in the car because I LOVED the song 'She drives me crazy'. Pretty hip for a 3 year old!

Blink 182 'Cheshire cat'- I bought this album in late 2002, I remember I listened to it alot over the New Year on holiday up in Coffs, as well as playing it on low volume as I went to sleep. It's cool hearing Blink so raw. :)

Paul Kelly 'Under the sun'- I have vague memories of Mum playing a tape of this album in about 1988 during trips in the car. For some reason I remember going past the gates at Centennial Park while 'Dumb Things' was playing :?

Those are just a few as well!

spider

Nirvana - "Nevermind" which would have been 91' as i had a milestone celebration that year.

I hear a song from that and i automatically think of the partying that went on.

Young, dumb and always loaded in some way.

Good times though.

When i was young - my father always played a song called - "its only for sheep", i have only heard it once in the last decade - but always reminds me of him, and no my family are not Kiwi.

Anyone know who sang that?

SpiderShark said:
Nirvana - "Nevermind" which would have been 91' as i had a milestone celebration that year.

I hear a song from that and i automatically think of the partying that went on.

Young, dumb and always loaded in some way.

Good times though.

When i was young - my father always played a song called - "its only for sheep", i have only heard it once in the last decade - but always reminds me of him, and no my family are not Kiwi.

Anyone know who sang that?
The Bureau sang it.

I have it somewhere at home...if you really want it I can set up a link for you...only because you are a sharks fan though.:D

Nevermind was at a traumatic time for me...thank god for Nirvana.

Raiders Plight

Grinspoons first album (don't remember what its called) the one with "Just Ace" reminds me of getting wasted at schoolies, same with "punk in drublic" by nofx.

matchbox 20 first album reminds me of an ex girlfriend

korn "follow the leader" and limp bizkit "breakstuff" reminds me of high school parties.

snoop dogg "doggystyle" reminds me of the first time i got drunk with mates at my house when my parents went away.

ice house "man of colours" reminds me of driving to and from sydney with parents from canberra in the late 80s.

whitney houston "i want to dance with somebody" reminds me of my mum with a perm.

there are tons more i could come up with going way back.

spider

carcharias said:
The Bureau sang it.

I have it somewhere at home...if you really want it I can set up a link for you...only because you are a sharks fan though.:D

Nevermind was at a traumatic time for me...thank god for Nirvana.

Absolutely - that would be greatly appreciated thanks Carch.

Cheers.

choc_soldier

Garbage's self titled - pretty much my 'soundtrack' whilst studying for my HSC... flogged it to death.

Origin of Symmetry by Muse - going through the break up of my first girlfriend.

The Alphabetchadupa by Betchadupa - my "sample" of Kiwi music I bought whilst over there in 2002... great memories.

Fly Or Die by N.E.R.D. - bought it with my first pay cheque for my first "real" (i.e. 9-5) job, post uni.

Knightmare

Tom Petty 'Full moon fever'- reminds me of 1989/90 as well, being in Preschool a couple of streets away from North Sydney Oval.

The Clash 'London Calling'- I think my Dad must have played this album just before Christmas 1990, because it reminds me of spending that Christmas week with my relos and Grandparents in Taree.

Smashmouth 'All Star'- reminds me of the end of 1999/ start of 2000, being 14 and going bodyboarding with my mate and spending the rest of the time talking about different chicks and what we could do with them :LOL:

Skeletor

The Verve 'Urban Hymns' - reminds me of a particularly sh*tty period of my life I was going through, cracker of an album though.

Crowded House 'Farewell to the world' - I had this one on MP3 before it came out as an album, always reminds me of watching that concert live on TV.

The Whitlams 'Eternal Nightcap' - reminds me of my flight to the states the first time I came here.

and

Cold Chisel 'East' was what I listened to a bunch the second time I flew here, the time I knew I wasn't gonna be coming back for a while.

Ron Jeremy

Nirvana Nevermind- great time of my life, an dthis album played a huge part in the way i lived my live in my teens

Sound Garden Super unknown- great album this album was liek a chapter in the bible in year 11 and 12

Stone Temple Pilots Purple- Amazing album, and still an album me and my mates reminice about doing our high school years.

Van Halen 1- the album that totally changed me as a guitarist, and took me from being an ok guitarist in music class at school, to by far and away the best in the district in my age group, whilst others still kept playing Hendrix and getting no where by learing nothing, i learn the variety needed to be a good guitarist and soon the Hendrix followers were over my house every arvo saing "whoah, i wanna be able to play that" or "Oh my god, that is amazing".....they soon ditched Hendrix and played my style.

red sails in the sunset-
Bush walking and canoeing end of school activity, year 8.
Ah yes ....we wrote in zinc cream "Oils" on our backs and got sunburnt.

miccle

Raiders Plight said:
Grinspoons first album (don't remember what its called) the one with "Just Ace" reminds me of getting wasted at schoolies,

The album's called Guide to Better Living. Good times - reminds me of being a grade nine boy in my first band!

The album (or double tape) that got me through studying for the HSC was New Order's Substance '87. All the 12" A and B sides, old school dance/electronic, great to concentrate to.

The albums that reminds me of Year 12 were Hummingbirds' Love Buzz, Hoodoo Gurus' Magnum Cum Louder, and Nick Cave's The Good Son, all played a lot at parties at the time.

The album that reminds me of starting Uni was Stereo MCs: Connected, which always seemed to be playing in the bar no matter what time of day you'd arrive there... The album that reminds me of finishing Uni was the soundtrack to The Mission, played it on virtual repeat while writing my thesis.

The Cure's Wish always reminds me of a particular girl, at a particular party. We were the only ones left, the hosts had gone to bed and left us in the lounge room, and she said go and put a CD on... :D. Another particular girl borrowed my Clouds CDs after a few dates and never gave them back. We lost contact so I had to buy new copies, but when I hear them I think of her :(

bartman said:
The album (or double tape) that got me through studying for the HSC was New Order's Substance '87. All the 12" A and B sides, old school dance/electronic, great to concentrate to.

The albums that reminds me of Year 12 were Hummingbirds' Love Buzz, Hoodoo Gurus' Magnum Cum Louder, and Nick Cave's The Good Son, all played a lot at parties at the time.

The album that reminds me of starting Uni was Stereo MCs: Connected, which always seemed to be playing in the bar no matter what time of day you'd arrive there... The album that reminds me of finishing Uni was the soundtrack to The Mission, played it on virtual repeat while writing my thesis.

The Cure's Wish always reminds me of a particular girl, at a particular party. We were the only ones left, the hosts had gone to bed and left us in the lounge room, and she said go and put a CD on... :D. Another particular girl borrowed my Clouds CDs after a few dates and never gave them back. We lost contact so I had to buy new copies, but when I hear them I think of her :(
good one
Love buzz is a great CD.
"blush" always gets a spin when host a party as does the Falling Joys.

choc_soldier

Out Of The Blue by Electric Light Orchestra - trips to the Blue Mountains with the family as a kid

X + Y by Coldplay - road trip to Canberra last year

Hot Fuss by The Killers - the first couple of weeks going out with my now fiance

Ivy and the Big Apples by Spiderbait - started off many a house party in Year 12

frenzal rhomb "a mans not a camel". year 8 lanyon high school canberra.

rancid "and out come the wolves" year 10 lanyon high school canberra. getting drunk with friends and messing about not doing any work..

guns n roses "appetite for destruction"- first album i played in my car when i got my p's

song

Fuel- "Shimmer" reminds me of 1999 semi final when cronulla lost to st george...listened to it in the car on the way back. made me cry. makes me sad and nostalgic ever since.

oh I have one.

The first CD player/stereo dual tape deck /radio /turntable I owned....1987.
The first CD I got ( there were not a huge range back then as vinyl was still king.
The guy in the shop played me dire straits' "Brothers in arms"...whom I fuggen couldn't stand.
so
I got...
Album/CD was Led Zeppelin IV (self titled)

My mate and I put the stereo together and turned it up loud ...not really sure if we'd set it up correctly.
I pressed play...no remote control either.
A few seconds of silence passed.

Then .....BAM!!!!!!!

"Hey hey mumma , said the way you move , gonna make you sweat gonna make you groove" comes thundering out straight into our faces.
My mum came running in wondering what the hell had just happened.

I love that album still.