Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What has the Sharks scoring more points?

Poss

What has the Sharks scoring more points?
Paul Johnson

15/07/2011 9:40:04 AM

Averaging 28 points per game the Sharks have been able to find the try-line with greater frequency of late.
But what has changed in their make-up to allow them to be so creative?
Despite the calm assertions of players and the man himself, Chad Townsend’s ability to control the game is not the reason and nor is the arrival of Sam Tagataese, who is yet to taste defeat in a Cronulla jersey.
The truth is the Sharks have been solid defensively and shut down opposing team’s offence, but surprisingly their attack is the sixth-best in the NRL.
This has come on the back of some key Sharks posting big metres, including some 200-plus metre games from Paul Gallen and Kade Snowden earlier in the month and fullback Nathan Gardner also chipping in with 119 metres a game during their four-game winning streak.
The metre-eating, particularly in the middle, has led to Cronulla being able to offload the footy and get their second-phase play going, which has in turn led to tries.
In their last four victories the Sharks have thrown the idea of locking up the footy out the window and are averaging 15 offloads per game, bringing back memories of Parramatta’s carefree and exciting run to the 2009 finals when the ‘Hayne Plane’ hit ridiculous heights.
The keys have been former offload king Anthony Tupou and veteran centre Colin Best, who have thrown 6 and 5 offloads respectively in the Sharks’ last two victories to set up plenty of point-scoring opportunities.
The end result has been the Sharks’ quick outside backs making the most of their opportunities.
Gardner has bagged three tries in the last fortnight, while fellow speedsters Nathan Stapleton and Matthew Wright have grabbed two tries, with big centres Best and Ben Pomeroy also bagging a double in the last month.
The moral of this piece, a little go-forward goes a long way and Cronulla are starting to benefit because of it

http://www.sharks.com.au/?s=article-display&id=39180

Too simplistic.

Can some boffin or wizard out there please dig up the meters gained stats for 2008, 2009 and 2010 for the Mighties?

I'd be interested.

It's not the offload that does the damage but the structure after the offload.

I have noticed that Flanno is a huge fan of forwards running in twos. Options before the line for Dougie and others to try and get quick play the ball. The metres is irrelevant in my opinion when combined with slow play the ball.

I know Cordoba cops a bagging in here but he has a consistently quick play the ball. I'd love to hit it up after one of his 6 metre darts.

Too simplistic.

Can some boffin or wizard out there please dig up the meters gained stats for 2008, 2009 and 2010 for the Mighties?

I'd be interested.

It's not the offload that does the damage but the structure after the offload.

I have noticed that Flanno is a huge fan of forwards running in twos. Options before the line for Dougie and others to try and get quick play the ball. The metres is irrelevant in my opinion when combined with slow play the ball.

I know Cordoba cops a bagging in here but he has a consistently quick play the ball. I'd love to hit it up after one of his 6 metre darts.

Quite a well thought out article, I thought, though missing IMO one huge ingredient- Gallen!
Gallen, has over the past month shamed his teamates into endeavouring to keep in touch with their leaders mighty efforts:)

Vin Fizz

We're not dropping the pill nearly as much as we were in the recent past. Also not as many frustating stoopid penalities. We also have a couple of finishes growing in confidence. The go forward has been a strength for ages.

shaggs

I started a thread earlier in the week with this exact theme. I called it Forward Attack, but really should have said Direct attack.

We are scoring more points because our first movement is forward. This enables us to make more metres and fit in with the authors simplistic reasoning.

There is no mention of the straightening of the attack which has enabled Morris to make metres out of dummy half, best and pom to have some space and the forwards to roll on a bit.

I would like to see a bit more support play. I dont necessarily want more off loads, just a bit more of the fabled 1% plays some commentators toss off about.

Someone pushing up on each hit up. Puts the defence in two minds despite knowing that Cordoba is very little chance of passing the ball. The good sides always have one or two runners pushing up. This then has the added bonus of causing defenders to stay out of the tackle and 'limits' the gang tackles, which in turn leads to speedier play the balls, which helps the roll on, which enhances metres gained which puts us in for attacking kicks and heaven-forbid a repeat set. 'Phew'

Feel the flow. 'Circular'

DJShaksta

I give it a few more hours before a certain poster comes in here and starts on about "dicky"

shaggs

I give it a few more hours before a certain poster comes in here and starts on about "dicky"

Who will be first?

The one who drives a bus or Cartwrights best mate?

Or is it the former players dad or the plane driver. I cant keep up. Who is on who's side again.

And Dj, i reckon that is a negative attitude to suggest that it wil be hours before this thread turns to crap. Lets be positive sharks fans. It will be within the hour. Surely?

The Popper

I give a lot of credit to Chad Townsend who probably has the best ability to steer our team around as I've seen since Steve Hansard..................unless my memory fails me.

shaggs

Brett steered the team around. Pity it was not always the way that would a game.
Steering was his strength. Ball playing, not so much.

tye

Maybe it has a bit to do with Flanno's coaching tactics. The players could be warming to his methods!

The reason the team is playing better that previous seasons? Pretty simple.
It hasnt had 3 players sacked at the start & midpoint of the season.
It hasnt lost Gardner & Luke Douglas for the entire season to injury.
The half back is playing what is in front of him & never robotocially turns the ball inside.
The club is drawing on 5 years of junior development coming & pressuring A grade as opposed to zero years.
Instead of the Roster weakening coming into the 2011 season, it was strengthened.
The Coach is concentrating on football & not running the club, organising sponsorship, press releases, player interviews, disaster control, building modifications.
The press around the club is neutral as opposed to the highly negative & deflating press of of 2009 & 2010.
creating a more conducive environment for positive attitudes.
The Coach & the CEO are not at war.
The Coach is doing an adequate job to date. there are not that many wins but the last month against he worst teams has been good. So confidence is growing.