Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What sites do you visit. ??

Another 'getting to know each other' question.

What sites do you visit on the net?

When I sign on I first check and answer my email. It is mostly about history and, in particulat, bushrangers. Next I check out my on line share trading account to see if I am rich yet (not today dammit). My next stop is the Rugby League news sections, first the crusader site for the Knightly news, then SMH sports, 13world and CNN for international news. Lastly I do the circuit of the Rugby League message boards starting with the North American board then totalrugbyleague (English), WORL and finally LWOS where I post anything I have picked up on the roundabout.

L

legend

I start with this site and I usually check news.com.au for any major sporting news. I also check soccernet for premier league news, NFL.com for gridiron news and I check all the league sites for any news on rugby league in general and it's been pretty quiet of late. No major scandals and not many player player signings at the moment.

I don't get to spend as much time 'on line' as I once did due to being self-employed recently.
I'm usually up (not by choice) around 4.00 am every morning (sometimes earlier), including most weekends. That's why some of my posting are really early in the morning Sydney time.I always log on to the Internet first thing with a hot cuppa coffee or cocoa, and stay on for about an hour or so.
First is my emails, for personal and business related messages. That can take anywhere up to half-an-hour or so replying to and readingemails.From there it's Nine MSN's Aus website for latest news and sport around Australia. I then visit the US CNN website for the best up-to-date World news and sport. From there I visit the Sportal site and then Foxsports. Depending on time availability, I'll then browse LWOS and WORL Forums. LWOS takes alot longer because of the worthy posts, as WORL has really deteriated of late. They're pretty muchmy usual sites, but there is the odd one or two every now and then.I try to log on throughout the day, but if I do so, it's only for very brief moment ... but that's rare in itself.
I'll try to log on tothe Netsome nights, but it's very rare if I do so. That's why I'm unable to join the chat room with the rest of you all, because I'm either spending quality time with the family, a business related meeting, or just in bed early for another early start. I will join the room one day though, because all of you speak so highly of the time you all spend in there.
It's tough, but some poor bastards got to do it.
Cheers - Aaron C.

L

legend

Aaron, what line of work are you in that requires you to be up at 4 a.m? You better not be my milkman mate.

Dog-T

i is like y'all. i is check my is email first. it is mainly from my is associates in the finance field and also hollywood producers because i is thinkin of is investing in a film. i is also get many emails from honeys who want my is body. also i is get emails from homeys wanting to is join my possy

after that i is go to the newyourk stack exchange and check all my investments. i then like to check out some porn for about half an hour. finally i is come here and is converse with my is homeys in some deep and thoughtful discusion

doug-t out

imported_bronco

Well first up is always my email.
Next stop is ICQ and messenger to chat with whoever else is online.
Next its into the forums, LWOS, WORL and the Grandstand.
Then its onto the News sites: rleague, SMH, nzoom, foxsports, NZ city and ananova for all the latest in the league world.
Next up i have a look at newgrounds.com for any latest funny vids, and maybe just have a surf around for any new sites.
Then its back into the forums.

bronco

No legend, it's been awhile since I did that mate. lol
I install home and comercial alarm and air conditioning systems. I've been in the industry for a number of years now working for a large firm one time, and finally and wisely, decided to go into business for my self only recently (for the second timeI might add). Becuase I get alot of work outside the Sydney metropolitan area (infact most), anywherefrom Newcastle to Woolongong, Iget them out the way first beforeI finish my jobs in and around theSydney area. But this means getting up every day that early to get to the locationson the time. i'm usually out of the house by 6.00am.
Also, because I don't ATM have an accountant or any legal advisors, I do all my own book-keepings andpaper work in the morning before I leave the house. It saves alot of money, which is beneficial early on in the business. On most weekends, I'm also up that early for the same reasons, and also, because I'm so use to getting up at those hours during the weekdays, I find it tough to sleep in. I also attend church regularly.
My significant other purchased a lap-top PC for me the Christmas before last, when I was thinking of getting into Web Designs, Which is always by my side,so that's why I'm able to contribute here and surf the Web during breaks throughout the day ... sometimes.
The money's good, but sometimes I wonder if the lifestyle and sacrifices are worth it.
I'm hoping to reap the rewards later on .... I'm praying for itanyway.

Cheers - Aaron C.

El Duque

Check mail
then in no order check Secondsout(plus their forums),Boxingfanatics(plus their forums)Fightnews,Kronk GymMaxBoxing,Ringtalk and House of Boxing,ESPN,CNN,Foxsports,Parraeels,Eelsvoice,SMH,LWOS,WORL,Sportal,NRL,Blue and Gold Army just to name a few.

O

ozbash

el dingbat.
for someone who spends so much time on boxing sites,your knowledge of boxing is pretty limited.
are you illig--illate---alitter-- cant read?

I'm a Uni student so I don't have a lot of time on my hands on weekdays.
E-mails are always first, then followed by Fox news, weatherand sports, Nine Msn news and sports, ESPN sports and news, LWOS, Sportsbar, WORL, Rleague's news and Bulldogs chat forum,and end always with educational and information sites that will help me with my studies.
On theweekends, I'll type a keyword off the top of my head on Altavista's search engine, and just roam around. Anywhere from trivia to girls (at least I'm honest).
Go the Doggies!

O

ozbash

first i goto lwos , then to msn extra news, nzoom,stuff.com.league oz,the league co-op,trade-me,buy me (2 local auction sites) xtra.co.nz ,
i do a hell of a lot of link surfing,its amazing where you end up.
i have found the best footy sites are often the fans own work,willows and 90210,s aregreat examples.

El Duque

Posted by Ozbash

" el dingbat. for someone who spends so much time on boxing sites,your knowledge of boxing is pretty limited."

Who told you Chris Byrd was gunna beat Tua???
9 times out of 10 the boxer beats the puncher so it was quite an easy prediction really.

L

legend

Ozbash, I sgned your guestbook last week and noticed Studebaker had also signed it. Did you know he has unjoined the forum?

Aaron.
A friendly word of advice mate. Get an accountant.
I did what you're doing for years and never saw any benefit in doing my own accounts just to save a few bucks.
I had the best looking set of books in Sydney but I also had no time for anything else other than work.
I now pay an accountant what works out to be about $30 per week and believe me he's worth every penny.
I took the advise of a friend and threw out my bank statements...managed to find all the family pics and old love letters underneath... far more valuable.
emwink.gif

Like most people, I check my emails first and that can take a while as I answer the business related ones. I also surf a little to download some programs or do some research on a topic that interests me or it may be related to this site.
I reckon the internet is by far the best research tool available but sometimes I find the information to be wrong so it pays to double check things.
I also control a few websites and that requires a bit of daily updating.
After that, I spend my time cruising around LWOS looking for trouble...
emsmilep.gif

B

Bomber

First I check my e-mail on the uni server, where most of my e-mail is sent. Then I go to my hotmail account.

Next is the WORL website, then the Grandstand forums to see what trash is being talked about today.

Then it's onto LWOS and the WORL forums, although I spend far less time on the latter then on the former.

Lately I've been checking that soccer comp site. I also shift through the AFL (www.afl.com.au) website for a Victorian friend who can only use the internet for e-mail (which sounds odd!). If we ever had a league website that was really in-depth as that, it would be great. WORL is the closest I've seen yet.

I very rarely check actual news websites, but those who get a jersey are the Sydney Morning Herald (www.smh.com.au) website and the ABC. (www.abc.net.au) Recently I've been checking the The Australian website (www.theaustralian.news.com.au) to check a sports columnist by the name of Patrick Smith, who is very witty and cynical about most things and usually good reading.

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5744,2529497%255E12270,00.htmlis one of his better works, about the new St Kilda coach, Grant 'Cornflakes' Thomas. Even if you don't like AFL, you'll like this!

Cricket has been at the foremost of my conscience since the first test, so I reguarly check www.cricinfo.com for a few updates from all around the world. An excellent website.

During cyclone season in particular, www.bom.gov.au is a must.

Being a pianist and a pretty mad music fan, I check a few band websites for tabs (which I have to bloody 'translate' into proper music!) and lyrics. www.deadheart.org.uk is an excellent websiteof one of my favourite bands, made by a fan(guess which band? Clue - bald singer)

And the website of my university for any news, www.jcu.edu.au.

That's about it!

Bomber

Studebaker may have left this Forum (does anyone know the reason), but he is still active on theWORL Forums.
Infact ,he has opened up a can of worms, with his trade mark abuse, on a thread titled 't-shirts' at WORL. have a read of it.It's also an interesting thread, and one of the better threads in a long time that I've seen there, evident by the number of old posters posting.
I must warn you though, there's alot of hot heads emerging on the thread, and some heroes making fools out of themselves.
Head over and have a look as I've been doing.

O

ozbash

legend,
i saw that and i assume the other signature was studes.
he chose to leave, he wasnt pushed at any time.

Thanks for the friendly advice Willow, as it's something I'm seriously considering taking up early in the new year. It's not too bad ATM, and thanks to diffent Microsoft programmes I seem to be coping fairly well. But if the work load keeps growing at the rate it currently is, it's something I'll most definately have to do.
Reservoir Dog,
Studebaker was involved, yet again, in one of his infamous abusive conflicts with The Saint (I don't remember the thread title) a few short weeks ago. It was something that he started, and The Saint and him went at it for awhile, until a Moderator stepped in and warned Studebaker that a line was drawn and he could cross it at his own risk (or words to that effect). I don't think Studebaker took too kindly to the fact that he was the only one singled out and threatened by the Moderator in hispost, when clearly two people were involved, and shortly thereafter deleated the posts on that thread that he wrote,and seems to me like he unjoined himself there and then. He never said goodby or gave his reasons as to his actions.
I don't know for certain that they were the exact reasons why he left, as he never said so, but because it happened during that thread, I tend to think it was.
Like I said in that thread, he was wrongfully labled out as the only culprit (evident by the Moderator directing the thread at him only) during the thread, when there was two people clearly involved.
I'm not trying to promote bad feelings or conflicts by my comments, but just telling it the way I saw it.
Anyway, I've got to get back to my final job after a break, and hope everyone has a good time in the Chat Room tonight.

Cheers - Aaron C.