Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

When do we call time?

This seasons failure is on everyone involved with the club, from top to bottom. Just because I want Ba sacked doesn’t mean I think he is solely responsible.

A fish rots from the head and while I think his tactics, style of football, selections, use of the interchange and the squad he built have been not up to first grade standard he has been given no help at all from the people above. Bernie has been hot air and not much else, but as someone stated does he have his hands tied as well???

Until we get rid of the tight arse merkin running this club like it’s bankrupt I can’t see much changing. Yeah it’s great that merkins like Fitzy and Spags don’t have a say atm but it doesn’t mean much when you have a bloke running the club with no love for the Eels or little understanding of the game of RL.

The review will mean jackshit if the people implementing them have their hands tied by a tight arse merkin running the show.
All good mate. Agree with that.

When I respond and suggest that there are bigger issues at the club I am not suggesting BA has been perfect. Far from it. He has made his fair share of mistakes.

My main concern is that unless you have the club running effectively then I think it will be a struggle for any coach at this club. Changing coaches does very little if we don’t change the way this club is managed.

Its almost like half the people on here aren't looking forward to the season starting. f**k.
I religiously build hope and confidence up about now on what may go right and get excited. Come mid Jan I start looking forward to the game.
It feels like many font want 2019 to start.
Yeah but we are talking about the Eels merkin.

All good mate. Agree with that.

When I respond and suggest that there are bigger issues at the club I am not suggesting BA has been perfect. Far from it. He has made his fair share of mistakes.

My main concern is that unless you have the club running effectively then I think it will be a struggle for any coach at this club. Changing coaches does very little if we don’t change the way this club is managed.
And I can’t argue with any of that either. Let’s just hope Max gets his reforms up because I can’t see much changing if they don’t.

Gazzamatta

Id be very surprised if the club isnt looking at alternatives for BA. We dont know because the club is fairly leak proof now days.
BA probably deserves his final year given
A) Hes contracted
B) What he did during the Salary Cap Scandal.
I think his ticket has been marked though. His "Relationships" interview yesterday shows hes been charged with making change. Last year all we heard was how close the team were etc. Now he says they wernt. Who's fault was that. Even BA admitted it was his. Im sure things are happening in the background even if BA isnt aware. He would need a massive turn around not only in results but in culture and the way we play. If we are scraping wins but conceeding easy trys and showing no improvement in our defensive structure as well as playing head down bum up, 5th tackle bomb up footy Im sure he wont last. BA has to reinvent himself. Is he capable?
Will Junior be allowed to offload this year? Will Brownie return to his 2017 form and also be allowed to offload? Will Fergo be the player he was in 2018?
Regardless I cant wait. Bring on 2019.

Id be very surprised if the club isnt looking at alternatives for BA. We dont know because the club is fairly leak proof.

Agree, I think that the sport of sledging the club and clouds many minds. Of course the club are making plans for 2020 or even 2019 when it comes to the coach.

Not many here made comment about the article that stated that we made a huge play for Frank Ponissi from storm for the HOF gig. Some journo said we offered him stupid cash, but his anchors were firmly set, living in Melbourne with his family.

Finacial situation??? What being one of the richest clubs in the NRL backed by a leagues club raking in Millions a year??

we used to be and we had million dollar losses 2 years in a row as has previously been posted here

we will lose more money keeping this bloke in the long run than we will keeping him and saving a few bucks this season.

yeah, right, source ?

How much money did the cheapskate approach save in the long run this season??? It helped win us yet another spoon.

and how do you know we still wouldn't have won the spoon with another coach and the SAME ROSTER ?

No alternative’s??? More rot, McGuire was on the market

you cant say that he would have not won a spoon with the same lineup, you bag our players out, what makes you think this guy would have turned them around ?

why do you think he was unemployed ?

, looks like Bennett and Seibold were as well at the right price.
looks like ? lol , source ?

And just hurling abuse??? Yeah anyone remotely negative of the club is a death rider and just hurls abuse.

that I agree with

we used to be and we had million dollar losses 2 years in a row as has previously been posted here

yeah, right, source ?

and how do you know we still wouldn't have won the spoon with another coach and the SAME ROSTER ?

you cant say that he would have not won a spoon with the same lineup, you bag our players out, what makes you think this guy would have turned them around ?

why do you think he was unemployed ?

looks like ? lol , source ?

that I agree with
Gee break my post up all you like but you offer SFA as usual.

And I need an Source for an opinion now??? Gee Pou could be in trouble then......

We make million dollar losses most year and most clubs do bar Brisbane and Souths.

The Leagues club made I think 24milion last year. Oh noes we’re broke let’s fold the club!!

Edit - Oh and the Unemployed McGuire was coaching the Kiwis and also was working with the coaches for the NRL.

Gee break my post up all you like but you offer SFA as usual.

And I need an Source for an opinion now??? Gee Pou could be in trouble then......

We make million dollar losses most year and most clubs do bar Brisbane and Souths.

The Leagues club made I think 24milion last year. Oh noes we’re broke let’s fold the club!!

Edit - Oh and the Unemployed McGuire was coaching the Kiwis and also was working with the coaches for the NRL.

I asked you to substantiate your claims and you haven't. How come ? Would you rather just deathride the club.

I would have preferred McGuire over BA but it didn't happen and neither you or I can say he would have done any better.

I really dont know that we had much choice than to sit the year out but you were the one making the claims, as usual, that we could have done something about it so why cant you substantiate your claims ?

So you think your claims are beyond question and your opinion is fact ? Well I disagree and you get all uppity if some one challenges you.

Deathride the club all you like, thats your opinion and its f**king boring.

If Parra fired this year then BA all of a sudden looks good again.
People would see a succesfull 16/17/19.
With 14 a solid season and acceptable
15 always hard due to Hayne walkn end of season so we had around 900k under cap unable to spend.

2018 would be the only Horrid year.

2019 is interesting I must say. If Eels finish top 6 then id say BA has done well in his 5 yrs.

I asked you to substantiate your claims and you haven't. How come ? Would you rather just deathride the club.

I would have preferred McGuire over BA but it didn't happen and neither you or I can say he would have done any better.

I really dont know that we had much choice than to sit the year out but you were the one making the claims, as usual, that we could have done something about it so why cant you substantiate your claims ?

So you think your claims are beyond question and your opinion is fact ? Well I disagree and you get all uppity if some one challenges you.

Deathride the club all you like, thats your opinion and its f**king boring.
oooooh don’t get upset and start hurling abuse, that’s what us Death riders do.

So this year’s jerseys sales weren’t rubbish??? Our crowds were the lowest since I can remember and I’m sure sponsors are just lining up to pay top dollar for Spoonamatta.

I’m sure that was fantastic for the bottom line, as I said did we really finish ahead after those cutbacks?? Didn’t we lose another 11m again???

“ Whilst I may not agree with your opinion, I’ll defend to the death your right to express it”

LOL unless you express that opinion too many times..........

Or it’s neagtive.

oooooh don’t get upset and start hurling abuse, that’s what us Death riders do.

So this year’s jerseys sales weren’t rubbish??? Our crowds were the lowest since I can remember and I’m sure sponsors are just lining up to pay top dollar for Spoonamatta.

I’m sure that was fantastic for the bottom line, as I said did we really finish ahead after those cutbacks?? Didn’t we lose another 11m again???

“ Whilst I may not agree with your opinion, I’ll defend to the death your right to express it”

Or it’s neagtive.

upset ? lol, and now the jerseys too ? is there anything about the club that you dont bitch about ?

mate, have a rum and a lie down, life's too shorrt to be this angry and bitchy, you act like we had a choice of any coach in the NRL but we just decided to stick with BA but you and I know thats not the case

I actually agree with some of the thing you say, I mean most of us agree the club has been a failure but you would never know because I dont whinge about it 24/7

Even Bernie has admitted the jerseys were not popular. But it was a two year deal so we are stuck with them.

I’m fine Twiz I will be having a few sherbets this arvo but this is a forum where peolle give their opinions. Sorry for telling it how I see it, what do you want me to do just lie and BS??? Most of the fan base are absolutely fed up with the club and the dopes in charge. I know we have a new stadium coming but i’d Be interested to see how memberships are for next season I know quite a few people who aren’t going to bother next year. Don’t blame them.

Or it’s negative.

Sounded like a cool quote at the time but he has been caught many times contradicting it.

Even Bernie has admitted the jerseys were not popular. But it was a two year deal so we are stuck with them.

Wouldn't it be refreshing if he just admitted he made a mistake? Focus groups don't work Bernie. Fans do. If that jersey was voted on I would put everything that I own on the line and safely say it would not be the top pick. This is the jersey that has gained us the most spoons and presto it happened again.

The 86 jersey we had this year looked awesome. Can't believe they don't make this our permanent jersey. Looks awesome and was involved in our last GF win.

Seriously who gives a f**k about the jerseys? The Broncos change theirs everytime they change their undies. You guys are overthinking the whole thing.

For me there only 3 things worth contemplating right now:

1. We need to win a few early on, so we can be in touch with the 8 by the time we play game one at the new joint.
2. I suspect that the club has decided that we will need a change and I reckon that it will be a highly credentialed recruit. Flanno or Holbrook or maybe even the next gun rookie.
3. Maquee players will be all over the fact that we have so many off contract now. Virtually our entire top 25 are up for grabs. Looking forward to who we snag.

I’m pumped for the first game next year and am excited for the future.

P5gs.gif