Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

where will we finish unbiased

winnyason

as manly fans where do you think we will finish & the other sides.

manly will be in the top 4 it is just a matter of who plays 13 & 9 i hope burns & ballin rotate.

gold coast: 14th cannot see any better than that.
cronulla: shoes in for spoon no talent, sh*t coach.
warriors:big improver somewhere in top 8.
bulldogs: top 4 again.
dragons: cannot see any better than top 8 won;t make top 4.
souths: slight improvment around 13th
canberra: very little players to know of 15th
melbourne: favourites for title
nth qld: in the top 8 somewhere
wests: small pack lacks go forward 14th
penrith: good coach talented team in the top 8 for sure
brisbane:in the mix but cannot see them win it again.
newcastle: just miss out on top eight
parra: will be around top 8 mix.
roosters: 12th a aging team wing, fitzgibbon, mini all not that young any more
penalties will be a problem with the likes of nutley, beattie & myles.

i just hope lyon puts egg on the parra scums face.:D

Disco

This is the first year since 98 that i've gone into the season genuinely thinking we can win the comp, so top 4 for me

mattyg

winnyason said:

manly will be in the top 4 it is just a matter of who plays 13 & 9 i hope burns & ballin rotate.

mate you have 2 teams finishing 14th :lol:

Delboy

By the way, we Eels fans realise Judas can play and will do well for you. It's his treatment of the fans and his two faced attitude that we dislike, I expect your lot to finish in the 8, real issue will be who will handle the go forward that BK did time after time, Beaver is a year older and the props don't inspire anyone much. Still top 8 though.

Ryan

Delboy said:
By the way, we Eels fans realise Judas can play and will do well for you. It's his treatment of the fans and his two faced attitude that we dislike, I expect your lot to finish in the 8, real issue will be who will handle the go forward that BK did time after time, Beaver is a year older and the props don't inspire anyone much. Still top 8 though.

Good & fair summary of us Delboy. One would assume The Bulldogs have the benchmark when it comes to forwards in Mason, O'Meley, Ryan, Matua, Williams & co. In my opinion, and in todays game, I think forwards are extremely important. The Bronco's had dominating, ruthless props in Webke, Civeneceva, with X Internationals coming off the bench in Carlaw & Thorn if Bennett decided to add him to the prop rotations.
Look at the year before with the Tigers as well. They were winning because of their props skill, and ability to create 2nd phase. That then leads to my Manly:-

Any team with Williamson, Rose, Bryant, King may well struggle. Espescially if Beaver / Watmough have similar years to 2006.

That said, our backline may well be one of the best in the NRL. I mean, in whatever position they play, we will have:-

Matai (Current International)
Stewart (Prime ministers XVII)
Bell (Current QLD Origin)
Lyon (Current International)
Orford (Current City / Country)
Hicks (Current City / Country)
Robertson (None)

But without room, these backs may well be defending and or getting hit as soo as they get the ball.

For that reason, and it saddens me to say this, but probably 9th or 10th guys. My prediction:-

01. Canterbury Bulldogs
02. Melbourne Storm
03. St George Dragons
04. North Queensland Cowboys
05. Brisbane Broncos
06. Penrith Panthers
07. Newcastle Knights
08. New Zealand Warriors
09. Sydney Roosters
10. Manly Sea Eagles
11. South Sydney Rabbits
12. Parramatta Eels
13. Cronulla Sharks
14. Wests Tigers
15. Gold Coast Titans
16. Canberra Raiders

Don't get me wrong though..I HOPE we get the minor premiership, but this was meant to be UNbiased.

Delboy

Thanks Rysn, not surre I agree with all your places, we have anumbver of very good young players coming through , they won PL against a doctored Roosters side last year. We probably have the depth , lack a real X factor a al " Benji" or "lockyer", but think both our side will punch around the 6 - 8 mark.
I have some big questions about the Roosters, Panthers and the Knights , but that is the beauty of this time of the year, no one has lost a game and its all theory.
By the way, have had to tune out of the Sunday morning 2KY programme, it is now just an advert for the Sea Eagles, see what this year brings on 2GB, known as MMM outside the northern beaches ( Manly Media Machine).
Lets have a good humoured debate, probably means we have to exclude Effnic **waits for disparaging response**

Dave Q

The BK factor.

He's been one of the most dominant footballers in the code for several years.

At the elite level of Origin he appeared on a hefty thirteen occasions over six years. In his ninth year of rugby league, while playing for the Sea Eagles he appears in every game in Joey's sweet swansong.

In his last season, his tenth at the top level, he makes 21 appearances, all as captain? He scores twice and he makes the honour roll of Big League Magazine. Moreso, he makes their list of top five players.

Remarkable.

The only player of note Manly have bought in 2007 is Jamie Lyon. A couple of premier leaguers after that. I suppose if you have to secure a player, someone like Lyon is a pretty astute purchase. Loses are minimal in the big picture except for our man.

The backline drips with talent. From Orford to Bell.

But obviously, Lyon cannot replace Kennedy and that means some adjustments are neccessary.

But I look at the pack and the nervousness sets in.

I cant see anything near BK. No dominance sighted. That will mean that the pack will be left to play a mobile game. Certainly the Panthers havent resiled from the fact that they have chosen mobility over power, obliging their feared forwards to lose I think it was up to 20% of their nett weight. Thats an unbelievable figure. Quite a statement from them about the game this year.

A capable Kite (genuine talent), an aging Beaver, doubt remains.

Prognosis: A good start to the season smeared by injuries to key players.

Lack of extensive purcahsing means depth not quite as good as it should be.

Lyon to regain his NRL form in roughly 1.2 seconds. Certainly Origin-bound.

Verdict: Range 6th to 12th.

If they have a bad start, they may lose confidence and crash badly.

Their first eight matches:

Rd 1: Canberra brookie: Expect to win.
Rd 2: West Tigers: Expect to win
Rd 3: Roosters: winnable, but I predict a loss.
Rd 4: Tigers: close contest, winnable.
Rd 5: Bulldogs: loss
Rd 6: Titans: Surprise loss
Rd 7: North Qld: winnable
Rd 8: Canberra: winnable

So they could certainly mount an good early campaign. Rd 1 will be tough against the grossly underrated Raiders.

Hasler is at the upper end of the coaching ranks.

domdom

some good points there dave, and you've touched on a few points that i have been stewing about while i await the season to begin.

the way the pack reacts to the loss of BK will be telling, but i think if choc and beaver improve on last season and kite keeps up his 06 form, we'll look pretty good. i'm interested to see a how a trimmed down george rose looks as well. he needed some work on his defence as he missed a fair amount of tackles, but he might be the bloke we need to give us go forward.

back onto topic, i think we'll slot into the 8 at about 5th or 6th. IMO our back line is the best in the game and will carve it up if given half a chance.

as to other clubs, the top four i reckon will be melbourne, brisvegas, dogs, and either the cows or dragons. big improvers will definietly be the panfers and kiwis (even with that useless git witt). canberra will be the most underrated team again and might just give us another upset in round one (bloody well hope not).

Despite all that, i still think we can win the comp, as long as we sort out the forwards, the backs will carry us home.

Ryan

winnyason said:
sorry my mind was elsewhere, that was your mum was sucking my old fella that hard
i could not think straight:D

Mate - that is extremely out of line. Scuba - do something about this post please mate !!

t-ba

Top right hand corner, Report function...

3-8 imo. As long as the forwards are not consistently found wanting, we should win a good few matches. But somebody besides Beaver and Kite needs to step up. Watmough and Rose have the talent, but the application may be an issue!

Dave Q

Thanks for the kind words, I had a go.

The backs will improve at least 10% on last year considering their extra time together last year and the off-season.

Then one adds Lyon and its the land of milk and honey.

Manly's backline "happy time" so long as they arent devastated by injury.

The best in several years Id say.

I look at all the clubs, only a few have depth of what I consider reasonably satisfactory.

So you are not alone there.

intheknow

winnyason said:

9 teams in the 8, and 2 teams in 14th...?

Ryan

Good calls dave. I kind of think depth is generally down the year after a new side is admitted into the competition. I mean, you guys lost Minichello for example. Someone needs to replace him, and man, did you replace him or what !!! But that means more fringe 1st graders are given a shot, also meaning depth is stretched.

Dave Q

Disco said:
Its a good Thing souths lost Minnichello, average player, horrible hands

Lovely bloke but hes a shocker isnt he!

We fooled the Titans into thinking he was some kind of gun forward!

Maybe they misread his first name on the contract!

All his done in 3 years is wipe out SBW a couple of times, otherwsie, very ordinary.

Oh look, I wish him well.

Knowing our luck, he'll probably play origin this year!

I generally agree with Ryan too. Its a sound theory re depth.