Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who will be the next CEO of Penrith?

• Rodney Adler

• Ray Williams

• Allan Bond

• The Ghost of Christopher Skase

• Bagdad Bob

Pantherjim.

Chook said:
Calm down Jim, I never mentioned the cap or your position on the ladder, you just did. I only mentioned the underhanded, back door, under the table, brown paper bag dealing that is being investigated within YOUR club the Penrith Panthers.

You sound a little nervous Jim? Perhaps it's those digging and scrapping sounds? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Chook.

Brown paper bags? It's all in your imagination Chook. You've been watching too many re-runs of Cop-shop and Bluey. :lol:

Time to get yourself a job, get off the sofa, out of the internet cafe, out of the public toilets where you deface the walls or anywhere else you choose to hang out and waste tax-payers money. Maybe then you'll waste little time worrying about things that don't concern you like Roger Cowan and the business/financial management of The Penrith Panthers.

I'd be more worried about my own club. After all, it doesn't take much to annoy that idiot we have in State Parliament, and once a government appointed Q.C. starts scrutinising your clubs financial records, now, man.... thats somethin' ta worry about! :shock:

"Digging and Scraping sounds"? Isn't that the sounds that a Rooster nervously makes as it is stalked by a Panther? :badgrin:
Sorry to bring bad tiddings Chook, but it appears that Craig Gower's knee injury is not as serious as we first thought, and he will be fit for duty in 3-4 weeks. Needless to say he should be right for round 23... In fact, I think everyone will be O.K. for round 23 ;-)

Sorry about that.... Bit of a blow I Imagine? :lol:

Pantherjim.

Campbell,P-4040201L.jpg

Chook

Pantherjim. said:
Chook said:
Calm down Jim, I never mentioned the cap or your position on the ladder, you just did. I only mentioned the underhanded, back door, under the table, brown paper bag dealing that is being investigated within YOUR club the Penrith Panthers.

You sound a little nervous Jim? Perhaps it's those digging and scrapping sounds? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Chook.

Brown paper bags? It's all in your imagination Chook. You've been watching too many re-runs of Cop-shop and Bluey. :lol:

Time to get yourself a job, get off the sofa, out of the internet cafe, out of the public toilets where you deface the walls or anywhere else you choose to hang out and waste tax-payers money. Maybe then you'll waste little time worrying about things that don't concern you like Roger Cowan and the business/financial management of The Penrith Panthers.

I'd be more worried about my own club. After all, it doesn't take much to annoy that idiot we have in State Parliament, and once a government appointed Q.C. starts scrutinising your clubs financial records, now, man.... thats somethin' ta worry about! :shock:

"Digging and Scraping sounds"? Isn't that the sounds that a Rooster nervously makes as it is stalked by a Panther? :badgrin:
Sorry to bring bad tiddings Chook, but it appears that Craig Gower's knee injury is not as serious as we first thought, and he will be fit for duty in 3-4 weeks. Needless to say he should be right for round 23... In fact, I think everyone will be O.K. for round 23 ;-)

Pantherjim.

Paranoia along with an inferiority complex is not healthy Jim. Again I must reiterate that this thread is about the shonky/shody dealings that are happening within YOUR club the Penrith Panthers. Nobody mentioned Gower and his knee injury.

And Jim just a little tip, the worst is yet to come from this investigation into your club, stay tuned with dread man, with dread.

Chook.

Pantherjim.

Chook said:
Pantherjim. said:
Chook said:

Chook.

Pantherjim.

Paranoia along with an inferiority complex is not healthy Jim. Again I must reiterate that this thread is about the shonky/shody dealings that are happening within YOUR club the Penrith Panthers. Nobody mentioned Gower and his knee injury.

And Jim just a little tip, the worst is yet to come from this investigation into your club, stay tuned with dread man, with dread.

Chook.

On the Contrary, I think you'll find that we have nothing to worry about. As Roger said when the State Government announced they were going to launch the enquiry: "Bring it on!"

Once again, wishful thinking on your part! :lol:

I'll enjoy reminding you of what a sad little wanker you are when we come out of this enquiry smelling like roses! :lol:

Better get back to centerlink Chook, I hear that public toilet cleaners position you were interested in has attracted some attention!

Pantherjim.

Campbell,P-4040201L.jpg

Suzie

Big Panther Cool said:
So how did you enjoy the 2003 season???? :lol: :lol:
Ya win some, ya lose some - you remember what 2002 felt like, don't you! The good thing is my next door neighbour goes for the roosters, so it was good to have my mum come over and park her Panthers bedecked car out the front and put crap on the roosters, oh and of course being able to say "Did you see Satts take Byrne over the sideline? Who would have thought an over the hill lock could tackle your best winger like that and win the game. You know he's coming to the tigers next year?" So, all in all, 2003 was an ok season - Benji Marshall debuting, Tim Sheens bringing some respectability to Tigertown - it's all good ;-)

PantherCraig

PantherJim I wouldn't be too confident about the roses bit mate. Good advice would be to sit back and cross your fingers. I aint giving it to you but it is what it is. And whats been done has been done.

Pantherjim.

PantherCraig said:
PantherJim I wouldn't be too confident about the roses bit mate. Good advice would be to sit back and cross your fingers. I aint giving it to you but it is what it is. And whats been done has been done.

Panthercraig,

As a fellow Penrith supporter I have the utmost respect for you. However unless you have solid evidence to the contrary, and when I say Solid evidence I mean SOLID EVIDENCE. None of this "I know someone who knows someone" garbage or other rumour crap that you heard from the barman at T.C.'s I will always believe nothing other than fact. At this point in time The board at Panthers Leagues have told us that we have nothing to worry about. Despite what this ignorant Rooster shit-for brains is saying. Roger Cowan has also welcomed the enquiry... why would he do that if he has something to hide???

Pantherjim.

Campbell,P-4040201L.jpg

Suzie

PantherCraig said:
Sensible comment. I hppe for the sake of panther fans the outcome is good, but just going off the people involved, I wouldn't be confident. Anyone see the article in the Penrith Star today?

*Sandy*

Nope I don't have access to the local rag - anychance in giving me a summary? And who it was written by?

As you already know Craig I'm with PJ in that stance, I will stay positive about the outcome until I have read the conclusion. I'm just annoyed that it all happens to be revolved around a certain group. So many of you have mentioned this has been brought about because of the Carr Government and the future Pokie Tax - it just seems a little odd to me that if a certain group hadn't lost, there wouldnt have been allegations in the first place. This to me is why RC is seems positive.

Pantherjim.

Suzie said:
PantherCraig said:
Sensible comment. I hppe for the sake of panther fans the outcome is good, but just going off the people involved, I wouldn't be confident. Anyone see the article in the Penrith Star today?

Oh yes! and the Penrith Star is such a reputable newspaper! :roll:

I wouldn't let my Labrador use it to wipe his arse with! (If dogs could wipe their arses)

Pantherjim.

Suzie

PK said:
Nope I don't have access to the local rag - anychance in giving me a summary? And who it was written by?....

This is the article, PK.

Page 2 Penrith City Star - no author listed
Tuesday 29 June, 2004.

Club boss's 'secret contract'

The commission of inquiry into allegations of improper conduct at Penrith Rubgy League Club continued last week.

Among those to give evidence was club CEO Roger Cowan and directors Keith Rhind and Terence Heidtmann.

Mr Rhind told the inquiry that Mr Cowan had a secret 10-year contract which entitled him to $500,000 a year plus a car, super and a mobile phone. The CEO also received a 5 per cent salary increase annually or CPI (consumer price index) - whichever was the greater, Mr Rhind said.

The deal only became public knowledge in 2002 after changes to club laws.

Mr Rhind said he believed Mr Cowan was underpaid and deserved "worthy increase" of $500,000, up from $320,000 he had been paid under a previous contract.

"I personally didn't think $500,000 was enough for the work Mr Cowan was doing," he said.

"He had been with us for 30 years, he had brought the club back from near bankruptcy ... so it was our aim to re-sign Mr Cowan."

It was revealed Mr Cowan's salary was split into payments to Mr Cowan and his company, Phyro Holdings, over the three contracts it had with Panthers.

Mr Rhind said the club did not get legal advice onhow Mr Cowan would be paid.

The inquiry continues.

*Sandy*

I can't see anything wrong with that - if you read the inquiry he explains why the confidentiality was brought about on his remuneration package. That's a below average paypacket to many executives these days.

ngap

PK, the problem is the board is legally suppose to have access to all records. Here it was delibratly hidden from the board.

*Sandy*

Yes I know and he states why, he also stated that he produced the contracts and they were sighted by a select group of the board including one of the divided group. Considering he knew the inquiry would be investigating his remuneration package, and *if* he did have something to hide, I highly doubt we would have heard the words that rolled of his tongue `Bring it on'. ;-)

ngap

Not good enough all the board is legally suppose to have access to all documents.

He also said that "corporate governance" was only a new term, even though it has been pushed for the last decade. Only with FAI/HIH scandle have directors started to take it seriously.
This is part of the problem of when good meaning amatuers end up running a business that is beyond their knowledge of the law.
He was probably not trying to do anything wrong but that isn't an excuse. Simaler problems have come up with other bits of his evidence. Overall I feel sorry for him as he will probably be the scapegoat.

*Sandy*

Fair enough and I don't know too much about it either. Just felt that it was pretty small scale of an item to be runned down on ... maybe it isn't then.

ngap

If it was the same Panthers as he started with then it probably wouldn't be a big deal. Now he is running a multi-million dollar enterprise it is. As I said elsewhere it will give the politicians a valid thing to throw at the clubs.

Its the same reason the

What Temby recomends is going to be interested but at the moment I wouldn't be surprised if some minor charges are laid that block Cowan from being CEO and possibly some of the old board members that agreed to this occuring. I am not up enough on this to be able to say fully. I have been to enough seminars on responsibilty of directors to know that hiding contracts from the board isn't allowable.