Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who will play where in 06?

westie

Marshall and Halatau proved me wrong? Are you trying to make yourself look stupid!?!?! Along with Phil and one or two others I was among the first to rate Benji. His defense is still rubbish and his passes out of the ground are still ridiculous. Thankfully Sheens devised an equally ridiculous game plan to make the most of his eccentricity.

Halatau proving me wrong is impossible. I said he lost us the game which would result in losing the season. I was right.

Please explain my view of Farah.

Comparing Balmain (or should I call it Ryde Eastwood) with the 3rd Reich is laughable at best.

Balmain_Boy

Oh bullsh*t. Benji was talked up for months before he even played for the cubs. Everyone had heard of the special kid on the GC. Additionally I recall you suggesting he might not have the skills to make it and that he should not. Boy were you wrong. As Ink points out, your claim that Reynolds was the best organiser in the club was proven...well, drastically wrong.

It's fine to be wrong if you can admit it. Problem is, you maintain that Halatau and Marshall had your 100% support and belief. It's just ain't true. Or are you willing to do the unthinkable and admit you were wrong about them?

Balmain_Boy

But Westie, just because you're so adorable I'll show you where you've been proven wrong:

westie said:
Oh, and I still have doubts as to whether Marshall will ever live up to it all.
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?p=727596&highlight=Marshall#post727596
westie said:
Try the fact that he actually knows how to play rugby league.
On why Fulton would make a better 5/8 than Marshall
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=75738&highlight=Marshall
westie said:
Benji is an incredibly flawed player that would be in the 13 of very few NRL teams.
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?p=958188&highlight=Marshall#post958188

westie said:
11. Halatau --- Got doubts over this one.
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?p=727596&highlight=Marshall#post727596

There's nothing wrong with being wrong mate. But don't say Marshall and Halatau proved you wrong, because quite clearly they did.

westie

Your point is? At that stage Benji was nothing more than an eccentric school boy with little to no knowledge of how to play rugby league. He learnt quick and has, to this point, managed to overcome his injuries.

When did I mention the cubs? I was referring to the touch he was playing.

Reynolds is still, IMO, the best organiser in the club. Prince has lifted his game in this regard - Benji couldn't organise a root in a brothel.

I never mentioned Halatau had my support. I wanted him slayed for what he did in that game. Ironically I was one of the few who ended up defending him during those weeks.

Your concept of being proven wrong is - yet again - horribly skewed.

Balmain_Boy

LOL.

Come back to me with the argument that Reynolds is a better organiser than Prince when he's been picked up by another club and captained a premiership winning team, winning a CC medal in the process.

There's no point with you mate. There's cold hard evidence that you didn't believe Marshall would live up to the hype. Given he now has, you were wrong. Ditto about Halatauy. Grow some stones and admit it. Be a man;or at least a more mature young fellah.

Eddie.

Balmain_Boy said:
But Westie, just because you're so adorable I'll show you where you've been proven wrong:

On why Fulton would make a better 5/8 than Marshall
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=75738&highlight=Marshall

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?p=958188&highlight=Marshall#post958188

There's nothing wrong with being wrong mate. But don't say Marshall and Halatau proved you wrong, because quite clearly they did.

LOL

Talk about being shot down in flames

Mighty Tiger

Balmain_Boy said:
Come back to me with the argument that Reynolds is a better organiser than Prince when he's been picked up by another club and captained a premiership winning team, winning a CC medal in the process

Reynolds was a better organiser, Prince still plays like a 5/8th however in saying this the modern game is now more about attacking whenever you have the ball instead of the old days of setting up the play and waiting to for the right moment to attack.

Prince has a great understanding with the team and they understand him that is clear, he is the best option we have in the halves with Benji and I'm more than willing to wear cake on my face for saying otherwise since Reynolds has been at the club.

Reynolds I still rate and at only 24 if he can just have an injury free run I'm sure he still has what it takes to be in the NRL and be a permanant starter as well.

However at our club he has no chance unless Prince leaves next year or is injured during the up and coming season.

I will admit I was wrong on this judegment but I still am sticking loyal to my statement that I do think he has what it takes to be the top number 7 at an NRL club provided he has an injury free run. He isn't as bad as some think he is.

Balmain_Boy

It's preposterous to suggest a bloke who has played a few first grade games is a better organiser than a bloke who has played for Australia. Sorry Phil, but that's ridiculous.

Balmain_Boy

Oh and by the way, you'll be hard pressed to find a 5/8 that touches the ball as often as Prince does. The only one I can think of is Darren Lockyer and...well he's Darren Lockyer isn't he.

Eddie.

Reynolds a better organiser, please.

Take a deep breath and consider what you have just said.

If Reynolds is a better "organiser" then prince what does this mean

That he has a better kicking game?
That he has a better passing game?
That he talks more then Prince and directs other players where to go?
That he packs his match bag neater?
That he organisers team social functions?
That he keeps a diary of all his average performances?

We need some clarification on this.

westie

I'll let you guys play with the Reynolds topic... It's kinda getting worn out for me now.

I made statements such as - Fulton is a better 5/8 than Marshall. I did not say Fulton WILL be better than Marshall. At the time - Fulton was better than Marshall.

My doubts still remain as to whether Marshall will live up to it. He has, however, shown he has the ability to develop and learn. And far more importantly - the ability to recover from his injuries. In saying this, it will only take one mis-timed tackle to send him packing permanantly though.

Benji was, and to and extent still is, a markedly flawed player. At the time his plays came off with a far lower percentage than they do now. And he was not a permanant fixture in our 13 - how he would have been capable of making the good teams is beyond me.

Halatau has shown himself to be a half decent player with a good heart. Nothing fantastic but good effort shown. Will probably struggle to work his way back into the team if he is infact out for as long as predicted.

I will add one point on the Reynolds issue. BB suggested that because Prince played for Australia, this makes him a better organising than Reynolds - Jason Ryles plays for Australia.

Balmain_Boy

I would suggest the fact that Prince has "organised" his way to a premiership and the Australian team makes him a better organiser than a bloke who can't make first grade.

But you tell me why Reynolds is better, rather than saying you are over it then bringing it up again at the end of your post. I'd love to hear it.

All I can say is Marshall developed faster than anyone in the history of rugby league if Liam Fulton was a better 5/8 than him 12 months ago. Fair dinkum mate, you're pathetic.

You tried hard to talk your way out of it, but you've failed mate.

Mighty Tiger

Balmain_Boy said:
It's preposterous to suggest a bloke who has played a few first grade games is a better organiser than a bloke who has played for Australia. Sorry Phil, but that's ridiculous.

I said was mate - he isn't the best option in the halves for this team and I admitted I was wrong in this judegement unlike someone else we know who posts around on this forum ;-)

Balmain_Boy

No worries mate, didn't notice the was. Whilst I probably still disagree, I can see where you're coming from.

simon says

westie said:
Halatau has shown himself to be a half decent player with a good heart. Nothing fantastic but good effort shown.

Half decent.....mate he was our best of the finals.Scored tries,set up tries,crucial defensive plays and all with a horribly bung shoulder.

I have been critical of Denes hands at times,but once he came ghood in that area he showed us that he is an absolute weapon.I would say his efforts in our semis was nothing short of sensational.

Mighty Tiger

Eddie. said:
Reynolds a better organiser, please.

Take a deep breath and consider what you have just said.

If Reynolds is a better "organiser" then prince what does this mean

That he has a better kicking game?
That he has a better passing game?
That he talks more then Prince and directs other players where to go?
That he packs his match bag neater?
That he organisers team social functions?
That he keeps a diary of all his average performances?

We need some clarification on this.

When Reynolds and Prince both joined the club Reynolds had the following over Prince

kicking game (long kicking game is still better)
Passing game
Directs defensive line
Directs forwards
Directs play around park

Just have to watch his games at the Panthers to see what I am talking about, Prince has always been a 5/8th who runs to the line and takes the line on, its only been the last 12-18mths that he has taken on a more leadership/organisational role within the NRL

Our style of play has been based around a 2 5/8th system and is nothing but all out attack, not much organisation goes on around the play its mainly off the cuff style of play which Sheens and Prince need to be appluaded for making it the success it is.

Reynolds has the potential to be an NRL halfback but injuries have stuffed his career up big time and I cannot see him making his mark on the NRL again like he steemed onto the scene at the Panthers whilst at the Wests Tigers even if he does fill in for Benji and fires.

simon says

When they joined the club was two years ago......now Prince is our captain and offical gun.He has surpassed Reynolds in every crteria by virtue of the fact he has done it all in first grade.

I couldnt give two hoots how good Reynolds is doing it in PL......

PS.....I have seen Reynolds play for Penrith in the lowers and he was very good,and I understand why those who have seen him say this.But,for whatever reasons he has not been able so far to cut it in first grade.

Mighty Tiger

Balmain_Boy said:
No worries mate, didn't notice the was. Whilst I probably still disagree, I can see where you're coming from.

thats your opinion, I just remember seeing the kid steam onto the top grade scene as a 18-19yr old and carve sides up left right and center and scoring 20 odd points in a few games he played during that season.

I also have seen him run around in PL during his injury period and he dominates in PL in a large way, he is a better player than a PL one but like so many he might not live up to the potential he has at his disposal

After what has happened at the Tigers I wouldn't have a problem banging my head against the wall when I see his name listed in the side like many do but for some reason I remember what he did at the Panthers during that time and keep thinking he can provide that at our club