Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Will Chambers

W.Smith

from NRL.com
Centre Will Chambers has given his asking price a timely nudge with his two classy tries in Melbourne's thrilling Anzac Day NRL win over the Warriors.
The 24-year-old is coming off-contract at the Storm and St George Illawarra, who last week snared his Storm teammate Gareth Widdop, are believed to be interested.
Chambers put other NRL clubs on notice as he showed his pace, strength and individual brilliance to score a try in each half of the Storm's 28-18 win over the Warriors at AAMI Park.
His second, coming from a long range move which he started and finished, proved the key turning point, wresting the lead back from the visitors in the 72nd minute.
It continued Chambers' impressive record against the Auckland-based side, with nine tries in their last seven matches.
"I guess I'm just lucky and have been at the end of some good footy and there has been a lot of people inside me who have helped me get the ball over the line," Chambers said.
It's been a tumultuous few years for the laid-back Northern Territorian.
He left the Storm at the end of 2009 for two years playing rugby union with the Queensland Reds and in Ireland.
During his first year back at the Storm, last season, he developed a rare blood disorder called idiopathic thrombocytopenia which threatened his future in the game and even his life.
But he returned to play in the Storm's grand final triumph and this week was fully cleared by his specialist.
"That's all done," said Chambers.
"I'm off my medication and I'll just go back for blood tests every couple of weeks.
"I don't really talk about it. I'm trying to look at the positive side to life."
Chambers said he was letting his manager sort out his playing future but would like to continue with Melbourne.
"I'd love to but I've got to wait and see what happens and how it all pans out.
"I'm really enjoying my football and just take it as it comes."

would love to see us snare this bloke, i love him and is an Origin player in waiting for the Maroons !!!
http://www.nrl.com/two-try-chambers...ewsid/71935/default.aspx?pid=nrlhome_featured

Last edited by a moderator:

Blood Shot Eyes

from NRL.com

would love to see us snare this bloke, i love him and is an Origin player in waiting for the Maroons !!!

Yeah me to ...would be a nice package if we had Dugan F/B Beale & Chambers in the Centres...Flo & Moz on the Wings Widdop at 5/8 and Chase as 1/2 back......then all of a sudden I realised I was dreaming....

Elias1983

Had a good game last night, would take him but I wouldn't go as far to say that he's the best centre in the game.

He's not better than hodges, j morris or jack reed. I think he would only just out do Cooper.

TRANSLATION

Had a good game last night, would take him but I wouldn't go as far to say that he's the best centre in the game.

He's not better than hodges, j morris or jack reed. I think he would only just out do Cooper.

Thats your opinion, and your entitled to it, But J Hodges is in the same League and may be slightly ahead, but For long term option, Ill take Will

TRANSLATION

Just watched a Youtube video of Chambers from last year. Yes, he's big and fast, but most of the work for his tries is done inside him with Cronk and Slater making the plays. All he has to do is catch, run & score. Still, he does it well.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ccAh2gSByEQ

Have a Look at where he places himself, and the lines he runs BEFORE the ball gets to him, thats the mark of a Very intelligent centre, When the ball hits his Chest, half the battle has been won because he knows wtf he is doing.

Love him!

TheRev

I havent seen heaps of him so happy to be proven wrong, but hes not the sort of player id throw any serious money at, for a few reasons:

1) Outside backs always look good playing for sides like the Storm, a winning side that gives him a tonne of room and quality ball and tired defenders
2) He is literally just running onto perfect balls from the Big 3 every time in that footage, granted hes running good hole lines, but how would he go when were losing up front and he has to make the space himself? Maybe he can do that too, but hes unproven imo.

Finally hes also given more gaps because sides are scared s**tless of Slater and co who is also running nearby.

Godz Illa

Jamie Lyon is the best centre in the game, Hodges close behind then J Morris and Jennings.

When we signed Widdop I recall the Storm's Frank Ponissi saying they'd hoped to sign 2 of 3 out of Widdop, O'Neill and Chambers. I doubt Chambers will be leaving.

st.phil

I havent seen heaps of him so happy to be proven wrong, but hes not the sort of player id throw any serious money at, for a few reasons:

1) Outside backs always look good playing for sides like the Storm, a winning side that gives him a tonne of room and quality ball and tired defenders
2) He is literally just running onto perfect balls from the Big 3 every time in that footage, granted hes running good hole lines, but how would he go when were losing up front and he has to make the space himself? Maybe he can do that too, but hes unproven imo.

Ok - let's not sign any player from any dominant club with great halves :sarcasm:That is moronic, would categorically be a great signing, class player

Elias1983

Thats your opinion, and your entitled to it, But J Hodges is in the same League and may be slightly ahead, but For long term option, Ill take Will

Thanks for the reminder....:sarcasm:

He's the best centre in the game but hodges is ahead of him?

Mr Red

he can read the oppositions attacking plays, he makes smart decisions in defence, and can actually tackle.. a big upgrade on what we currently have on the right side...

Elias1983

Yes and I will take Any of J Hodges, W Chambers, M Jennings, J Moz , Hurell..

Any of them.. But will is the one OFF CONTRACT

I'm jut stirring you mate....in that kind of mood today.

Yeh like I said I'd take him, after all it's not like we have depth in the centres.

TheRev

Ok - let's not sign any player from any dominant club with great halves :sarcasm:That is moronic, would categorically be a great signing, class player

a) Depends on his asking price dude, if hes taunting himself as the next origin centre, and priced in the realms of guys like Jennings, Lyon etc.. then thats a huge gamble for us.

b) I mentioned before that the footage just shows him running straight onto quality ball into gaping holes, id want to see him in action when his team is doing it tough and he needs to break the line himself.

Cagey Mac

I wouldn't bracket Jennings and Lyon Rev
Lyon is a standout, Jennings quick but inconsistent and nowhere near the defender.
Agree that Chambers in of a lower order than both however