Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WORLD CUP '08 FINAL: Papua New Guinea v Australia

The Front Row

Forum 7s - WORLD CUP FINAL - 2008
PAPUA NEW GUINEA KUMULS v AUSTRALIA KANGAROOS
badge_PNG_trans_100x104.gif
-v-
logo_kangaroos_aust.jpg

Willow (c)----------- The Piper (c)

Game Thread:
* Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
* Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee
* Only original articles, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.​

Naming Teams (F7s WC conditions):
* 3v3 (+ 2 reserves for each team)
* No 'TBA' or changing players named
* Captains must stick with original teams named​

FULL TIME (F7s WC conditions): WEDNESDAY 12 November 2008 at 9pm (Syd time)

REFEREE: Misanthrope

Venue: The Front Row Stadium​

**The Referee Blows Game On!**
whistle_2.gif

CLICK HERE FOR OFFICIAL WORD COUNTER

PNG arrive full of pep and vigour for the ultimate showdown.

flag_PNG_1.gif

Titanic (vc)

Amadean
tits&tans

Res:
Willow (c)
gorilla

badge_PNG_trans-03.gif
jersey_png_1.gif

Good luck one and all. :thumn

The Piper

The Piper for Australia
---------------------------

Media Statement by newly appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Australian National Rugby League
Re: The Future of Rugby League

I would like to first of all thank the governing National Rugby League body for offering me the position of Chief Executive Officer. It is a great honor, a privilege and now that I gratefully accept the appointment, I will strive not to let you, the players and fans of the NRL down.

My predecessor has done wonders for the great game of rugby league in Australia, since his appointed in February 2002. Clubs have improved their financial status, on field events has been considerably enhanced due to the salary cap inclusion and crowds have been filling stadiums ever since.

His time is now over. My time has begun. He leaves me the game in circumstances where I believe we can take the next step towards sealing the fact that our game of rugby league is the greatest game of the all.

There needs to be changes. Everyone involved in rugby league understands there needs to be some changes. I’m not going to dive head first and change our game totally. I won’t be reverting back to unlimited tackles or 3 point tries. But believe you me, I will change things around here; rules, the player drain and even transportation to game venues. I have plans. It may not happen overnight, but it will happen. How am I going to do this? In the simplest way possible, which is the way where everyone wins.

I am going to listen to the people that matter before I do anything to our game. I will take on board everything that is suggested to me. The people that matter are the supporters who turn up to their teams matches week in, week out. The people that matter are the fans from the cities, the bush, across our entire country and across the sea. The people that matter are you.

I spent some time in Gosford the other day. Dozens of people congratulated me on my new job. Dozens more turned up, asking me that one questioned I had expected. These people love their sport. These people are the ones who pack Bluetounge Stadium to watch soccer, rugby and when they’re occasionally played on the Central Coast, rugby league games. Eight, nine and fourteen thousand to the games moved to Bluetounge this season. The crowds would reach beyond these highest with their very own side playing here. These are the people I should be listening to and they are saying their needs to be a rugby league team on the New South Wales Central Coast.

I believe there are too many governing bodies associated with the game’s highest level. The NRL, ARL, NSWRL and QRL are just some of the organizations that all have a say in the game with their own ideas and agendas. I am hopeful that under one title, all of these franchises can come together as one, leaving their personal grudges at the door. And with that, I will be making an offer to the New Limited Corporation to buy their share in our NRL back from them, which I am under the impression they will oblige in doing so, so they may take no further part in league’s decision making.

The free to air and pay television contract deals for the broadcast rights are being renegotiated as we speak. I want to waste no time in putting the game on an even brighter track. I have no doubt that league is the premier sport in our great country, and the media outlets must pay top dollar to be allowed the privilege to broadcast it.

Again, I want to thank everyone involved with my appointment, and I would like to make sure that the most important message that I can pass on to you all right now is heard. The winner isn’t anyone’s pockets. The winner is rugby league.

Thank you.

661 words says the official word counter

Azkatro

Aust_jersey_040718.jpg

Azkatro for the Kangaroos.

---------------------------------------------------------------

PAUL CARIGE - WHY I DID IT

Hi, my name is Paul Carige. Well at least, that’s my Earth name. My real name is ðÞÞ¨8Ø Junior, and I’m from another planet. I won’t go into the details of which planet, or why I’m here – I just am. And don’t worry, I’m a good alien. There are actually several aliens roaming around the planet, and lots of them are bad ones. I’m part of a band of brothers who protect the Earth from these evil renegades.

In 1998, I was playing for Parramatta in a final against Canterbury. We were ahead by 18 points to 2. All of a sudden, my alien foes decided to intervene.

As Darryl Halligan was preparing a conversion, I used my detection unit to scan the area. There were 5 or 6 of them dotted around the field under their invisibility cloaks. I had been tracking some of these aliens for years! A few had a history of causing football stadium disasters. I had to stop them. There were almost 37,000 innocent Earthlings who depended on me to save their lives.

Because I couldn’t afford to raise alarm, I remained as Paul Carige. It would be just too obvious if I suddenly transmogrified into my true form. But I knew this was a great opportunity. If I could just release the energy to my human form for just a split second, my alien brain could use it to formulate a plan. I waited for my moment. As Darryl Halligan took his kick, every human in the venue fixed their eyes on the path of the football. I took the chance and transferred my energy. My human form collapsed to the ground as my alien brain took over, but bounced straight back up when I switched the energy back again. I scanned the immediate area – nobody noticed. My plan had been hatched.

My opportunity to put it into action came when Canterbury attempted a field goal at 18-18, with 27 Earth seconds to go. I had to wait for the ball to come to a complete stop in order to inject a massive current of lethal energy into it. As the ball rolled to a stop near the dead ball line, I positioned myself and transferred the energy in my human form’s left hand. Because the force threw him slightly off balance, his foot went over the line. But my chance came and the ball stopped. I reached out and energised the football. A flash of invisible light blinded the aliens and would render them paralysed for 30 Earth seconds.

So that’s how long I had to get my hands on the ball again, in order to be able to launch the energy. Soon, an attempted field goal by Robert Relf came to me. The siren sounded. I had 3 seconds left. I scanned the area in front of me in order to ascertain the best path to send the lethal energy within the football towards as many of the aliens as possible. As they were about to regain their senses, I dropped the ball onto my foot and kicked it in such a way to release the energy. A silent explosion erupted, and a massive beam of invisible light sped towards 5 of them, destroying them instantly. Two others narrowly avoided the path and upon realising the danger, vanished to safety.

But I had done it. I had wiped out 5 evil aliens who had terrorised planet Earth for decades. I was a hero, and no human could know. In fact to many, I was the opposite – the football which had carried the ball of lethal energy and wiped out several evil alien terrorists, just happened to fall straight into the hands of a Canterbury player and they almost won the game from a field goal after the siren. Paul Carige, my human form, would never play rugby league at this level in Australia again. But I had slain the rogue aliens and to my band of brothers, what I had done was brilliant and heroic.

So that is the true story. While I can’t explain the stupid errors I made in extra time (I have a theory that wearing the Parramatta jersey in a pressure situation causes the human brain to shut down intermittently), hopefully this explains my actions on that fateful day.

I implore you to review the highlights again, now you know what was really going on.

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=3IFLa5fT0yQ

---------------------------------------------------------------

747 words. Liftoff!

tits&tans

flag_PNG_1.gif
jersey_png_1.gif

tits&tans for the Kumuls ...

(750 words from the OWC)

"Onomastical" Opinions

Kids can be cruel. Just think about it. Like petite predators, they seek out those who appear to be the weakest and least confident. Like miniscule mind-readers, they identify their prey’s most insecure characteristic and they pounce. And, like little lexicons, they then assign a “humourous” and emotionally-scarring nickname: Fatty, Bloodnut, Spaz, Metal Mouth, Skidmarks, Crater Face.

Luckily, kids grow up. That’s not to say that nicknames cease to exist but rather they take on a different persona. Colorful titles have now become a generally positive part of our lives and exist across the spectrum of modern culture; in music, crime, politics and, of course, in sport.

Sobriquets can lend credibility to an individual and can bring the everyday person closer to a larger-than-life figure. They have been part of our social traditions for hundreds of years, although today nicknaming is perhaps less common.

Still, nicknames persist, particularly among men. According to sociological studies, men are more likely to hang onto them into adulthood. Inventing nicknames seems to provide a way of being affectionate without compromising masculinity. This is particularly evident in sports, where nicknames allow male fans to demonstrate this affection and achieve a sense of closeness with their favourite players.

Each sport has its own particular variety of nicknames and these are assigned to all aspects of the sport: players, teams, umpires, commentators and stadia.

League is no exception and in my humble opinion, it intellectually rises above all other sports.

Cricket lacks an originality of thought for national team nicknames – The Men in Blue after India’s playing colours, The Stars after Pakistan’s flag and The Tigers after Bangladesh’s national animal. Yawn …

Having said that, national football teams really are no better: Les Bleus (That means blue in French), Die Nationalelf (How many players on the German national side?), The Boys (from South Africa), The Nationals (Iran) and The Whites and Reds (Poland) to name just a handful. This, in addition to a number of unflattering player’s nicknames – Donkey, Paper Clip, Gruntler, The Yellow One and Flea – demonstrates soccer’s overall inferiority.

Union team nicknames generally fail to inspire and often provoke a giggle – I mean, The Mooloo Men, The Steamers, The Baa-Baas, The Cherry Blossoms and The Moufflons? Hardly names that strike fear into the heart of the opposition or lend any credibility to the claim that Yawnion is a real man’s sport. Neither do the affectionate names of some of the sports’ key personalities: Chiliboy, The Loser, Rat, The Fun Bus or Sea-Bass, for example.

Gridiron is barely worth mentioning with team nicknames such as The Brownies (cake anyone?), The Fish, The Pats (cow?) and The Birds and players known as “Anytime, The Windy City Flyer”, Daylight Come and You Gotta Delhomme, Dr. I Don’t Know or Touchy Feely. What really goes on over there?

Now, in League, I think we have it just right. Our national and local teams’ monikers illustrate their (national and/or local) pride, spirit and culture of this great game. The pride of the English Lions, the keen sense of the Irish Wolfhounds, the spirit of the Bravehearts, the strength of the Russian Bears, the national unity of Les Tricolores, the sharp imagery of the Tomahawks and the fierceness of the soldiers from the Fijian Bati all go a long way to proving this point.

The nicknames we use exhibit an ideal combination of physically demonstrative words (Iafeta “Rhino” Palea’aesina or Peter “The Yak” Cusack), clever play-on-words (Chariots for Martin Offiah), modern cultural references (Diamond – Luke Phillips, Raging Bull – Gordon Tallis or Shrek – Mark O’Meley), historical references (General – Luke Pattern), literary allusions (Tarzan/Jane – Dane Carlew, Oompaloompa – Brad Drew or Noddy – Brett Kimmorley) and of course, Aussie culture (Snags, Bluey, Joey and Chook).

However, nothing is entirely perfect.

As much as players’ and clubs’ nicknames represent the physical prowess, skill and courage of this sport, there are still some that let us down. I refer, in part, to a number of smaller Australian clubs that really should have chosen something different: Kyogle Turkeys, Guyra Super Spuds and the Dapto Canaries. The national team of the Cook Islands naming itself The White-hatted Ponces, sorry, I meant The Cooks, does us no favours and of course neither do certain players with less-than-inspiring monikers: Piggy – Mark Riddell, Poodle - Robbie O'Davis, Hollywood - Darren Senter and Tranny - Michael Vella for example.

Even with such nicknames, RL still displays its nomenclatural dominance.

Titanic

flag_PNG_1.gif
badge_PNG_trans-03.gif
jersey_png_1.gif

Titanic for the Kumuls (750 OWC)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The IRL’s Conundrum

In this world of knockers, not the “over the shoulder boulder holder” variety, but the type of knocker where every little bit of good is swamped by a bucket full of negativity, the RLWC08 has provided the perfect forum for enlightened debate.

Using opinions from the media and fan sites as indicators, there have been a long list of evocative topics to choose from. Somehow during those seemingly endless debates, proffered solutions invariably conclude with some sort of comparison with other sporting codes.

This is not unique, although RL does seem to have a larger than most “knockered” supporter base. Some would argue that this is the “small person” mentality of a small sport flexing its flaccid muscles or perhaps the philosophical whining of the underdog. Whingeing has its place though, and when voiced often enough should not be ignored, where there’s smoke…

Not enough international competition compared to say the “beautiful” game or the one that’s “played in heaven” say many. Yet the facts don’t support that. Currently there are twelve full members, seventeen second tier members and a further twenty-two affiliated members of the IRL, making a very respectable fifty-one in total, compared to say AFL.

The cyclic debate surrounding the funding of the international game and its requisite development often is a point of issue, particularly within the ‘non’ or ‘semi’ professional sectors of the game. The key question being: ‘who is responsible for funding the IRL?’ As welcome as a red-back spider at a barbecue, this topic stretches the ideal of commercialism in sport. Lost amongst the cries of “civic duty” and “research & development” are those whimpers from the wilderness, begging for resources to promulgate the game that are so passionate about.

Akin to the Robin Hood theory of robbing the rich to give to the poor, the ‘invest in the grassroots’ lobby argue, correctly to some extent, that without the contribution of “bush” leagues then there would be no professional competition. However, that very same point may be spun to suggest that elite competition is the motivation for elite aspiring players to participate in the lower tiers.

These and many other points like them are well intentioned and often based on real-life necessity, however, whenever IRL enthusiasts come together there seems to be a complete disregard for the wider trends of society when discussing or planning the future. In recent years the contribution of women has been partially recognized by the IRL fraternity and even more recently the ever increasing number of unacceptable public outpourings from highly regarded players has been pooh-poohed by the RL community at large. Yet there’s an even greater pariah looming on the horizon for international RL… the global village some will call it but perhaps it is more correctly termed the spectre of mass collaboration.

Perhaps the only thing that the ho-hum Murdoch League got right was the ‘vision’ of global league. Coincidently the ogre of trans-nationalization has entrenched itself in nearly all facets of the community. The education sector, for example, is currently wrestling with how to provide an education system in advance of what a graduating student requires. In other words, students of today are graduating into a world that the system hasn’t properly prepared them for because when the system was devised the world was different. Is RL any different?

Sports scholars, and there are plenty, argue that social systems entrenched in the past cannot adequately cope with contemporary dilemmas. Focusing on the RLWC08, the major talking point has been the tripartite problem of the Australian dominance/England’s capitulation/ Pacific Islanders’ emergence. These are not three issues in isolation but one complex problem in a worldwide chain reaction.

The ESL is ravenous for talent that it hasn’t been able to satisfy locally since the end of the industrial revolution took its player catchments away. The NRL can’t compete with the burgeoning cheque books of the ESL clubs. The state of the art sports technology that underpins the NRL is without peer in the oval-shaped football sporting world. Australia and New Zealand are the ‘promised lands’ to thousands of Pacific Islanders wishing to escape from their third world bondage.

The establishment of an annual professional competition featuring PNG, Fiji, Western Samoa and Tonga would nurture local talent and help assuage the urban drift. The warning signs are up. Continue as we are at our own peril, harness third world talent at the source or face the real danger of the NRL becoming IRL’s NBA.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Amadean

Amadean strolls fearlessly onto the pitch for PNG, an old hand after the grand final.

flag_PNG_1.gif
jersey_png_1.gif

yeah, right. (*changes shorts*)

749 past the bars

Fore!

At the very end of the very end of the F7s season, I thought it might be nice to take a brief retrospective peek at all I’ve learnt over the past [checks record] 15 matches. [bloody hell, that’s around 11,000 words or utter rubbish forced down our refs’ throats by me alone! You poor buggers…] Actually, the incentive came from thinking about Tigers_are_Pro’s point in this thread. He raised a point oft discussed by my fellow Titans and I over boozy strategy meetings: is the For / Against points system in F7s a good idea?

To completely destroy any sense of suspenseful anticipation…… it is.

There are several ways we could choose to argue this:

1.) From an equality point of view, it would allow discrepancies in marking styles (as raised by Mr. Fahrenheit) between referees to be evenly accounted for in the final comparison. For instance, let us imagine a referee chosen at random (say, for the sake of argument, Mr.F) was ridiculously generous with his marks, never awarding fewer than 440 points per game. Should one particular team have Mr.F oversee their struggles moderately often then that team would gain an unfair advantage in the final analysis. Having an F/A system allows any randomly chosen referee (perhaps, say, Mr.F) to mark teams as erratically, as generously or as harshly as their (probably not very) psychotic fantasies demand.

2.) From a simulation point of view, treating our lovely F7s competition in the same manner as the NRL treats their lovely competition creates a lovely and (importantly) coherent imaginary realm for we lovely writers to splash about in. Giving the competition the same benchmarking system as a more visceral, knee-breaking sport enables me to feel slightly less guilty about telling the blokes at work “Bloody tough match this weekend, those other buggers fielded a bloody good team and it went right down to the wire. Tired? Mate, I feel like I’ve been wrung out and hung up to dry.”

3.) From a good-of-society point of view, a complex system for marking and scoring matches leads to a complex system for ranking and comparing teams. This forces dangerous lunatics (to protect the powerful I’ve given the scariest ones code-names) such as Titwillow, Pistoltit and Titskinner (actually, that worked quite well!) to spend their entire working week toting up figures and replying to threads. Compared to the unenviable alternative of this bunch of Tits being allow to participate in our general economy, the F7s F/A system is a godsend.

Of course, from the other, perhaps more logical, viewpoint, the F/A system is a ridiculous idea. The concept behind this form of comparison is that teams should be rewarded for points they score (For) and penalised for points scored against them (when playing the Bluebags, this figure is generally left as ‘n’, meaning “lots and lots”). This makes great good sense in any antagonistic sport as teams displaying consistency in the relative maximisation of the difference between this two counts are rewarded above those who consistently scrape by on charm and grapple-tackles.
Here, naturally, we reach the nub of the argument, the rub of the point, the rub-a-dub of Bulldogs in a tub. Ahem.

F7s is not an antagonistic competition.

Right, that may require an explanation. In order to ensure the possible least disfavour with the (quite possibly not even slightly insane) referee I’ll find the most charming possible metaphor:

F7s is rhythmic gymnastics.

No, I’m not referring to my teammate BGDC’s delightful figure (which looks even better in Spandex). Rather, that we are engaged in a form of competition so completely insular in its practice that judges are required for decision-making. These judges have a little rule-book to assist them in making a decision (in rhythmic gymnastics they use technique, form and choreography; in F7s they use Tarot cards, graphs of the closing prices for unspun flax during the South Sea Bubble and the burning vapours of cheap bourbon), but generally it comes down to a subjective comparison. “Do I like this one or this one more?”

Also, I am firmly convinced that rhythmic gymnastics is watched only by the parents of those competing, former competitors and over-weight perverts with broadband ‘net connections. Let’s see… both are performed to music (I prefer rastabilly skank whilst composing my epistles), both cause co-workers to giggle and both dramatically decrease the odds of competitors ever breeding successfully.

In all of this, the F/A system is a perfect exaggeration for a perfectly exaggerated competition.

IanG

120px-Nuvola_Australian_flag.svg.png
bkang.gif
IanG for Australia

A World Cup Experience

I though with this instalment I’d keep with the whole World Cup theme by sharing my own Rugby League World Cup experience. Last Saturday Night I went along to the England vs. New Zealand match in Newcastle.

I’m glad that we got a World Cup match in Newcastle because we don’t get many international matches here. Apart from the one off ANZAC Test back in 2004 the only other international game that we’ve hosted was back in 1996 against a Fijian team. This was during the height of the Super League war and was organised because they couldn’t play a New Zealand team even though it would’ve been made up of ARL aligned players.

I have to admit that I was curious to know how many locals/Novacastrians would be going to the match. I’d have to say all up I have no idea, though I did see a few people wearing their Knights jerseys. I lost count of how many Poms I saw there. I assume they were Poms because they were all wearing England, Great Britain jerseys of the jerseys of one of the UK Super League clubs. Thankfully there were a few Kiwis near where I was sitting otherwise I would've been surrounded by poms. I’d happily admit I was supporting the Kiwis in this game.

Overall it was a very good crowd with over fifteen thousand people there. Taking into account that they’re doing revamps at Energy Australia Stadium at the moment. I still believe that they might’ve got a full house had it been a match involving Australia but non the less still a good crowd and hopefully means we can get more Test Matches here.

The night itself started off with a curtain raiser which was a Defence force game between Great Britain and Papua New Guinea. It was a real massacre to say the least with Great Britain winning 86-6. It was only 35 minutes a side so it makes you wonder what the score would've been if it was a full eighty minutes.

I have to admit that it felt a little strange being at a footy game and not hearing your own national anthem played, but it’s just one of the things about being at a World Cup match that Australia isn’t playing in, Then the Haka. Well the poms showed it absolute content by not breaking from their huddle even though the Kiwis got right up close to them to perform it.

That really got the crowd going because they loved how the kiwis got up in their faces when they English decided to stay in their huddle and ignore the haka. I've since put a video of it on YouTube that I took from where I was sitting.

It's an old cliché but it was defiantly a game of two halves, with the English just completely dominating the first half. I honestly though this was going to be a real upset when the poms got to an early lead and took it into half time. I do wonder what Steven Kearney said to them at half time because it would’ve been a big task to come back from a deficit like that. Whatever it was it worked because the kiwis ended up running away with it and kept the poms scoreless in the second half to win 36-24.

In fact while listening to the game’s commentary while there one thing that I heard them say at half time was with the Kiwis down at half time they change their approach and play as if they’re playing an NRL game because if they do that the English wouldn’t be able to keep up with them. Well they must have been listening because they did just that and kept the English scoreless in the second half.

Manu Vatuvei getting 4 tries. How he didn't get man of the match I don't know. The judges gave that award to Nathan Fein (Yes the player at the centre of the Granny gate saga a couple of years ago but now qualifies under the residency rule.) Initially I thought it was Channel Nine who gave the award but that isn’t the case it’s apparently some panel on the IRLF.

Overall I had a very enjoyable time there but I do admit that it defiantly had a different atmosphere to what you’d normally get at a Knights game. More a case of the crowd was enjoying the contest.

WORD COUNT: 746 Words

Titanic

Okay guys, 3v3, great scramble in the end Kumuls, mi selim wan bikpela hamamas long ol lain bilong mipela na mi laik sutim as bilong ol lain bilong masta - husat tok kaikai stik? Hul u!

One more sleep and then that's it for at least three months... thanks for the ride, all of youse.

Special handshake to fellow skipper and former team mate Wal.

Over to the World Cup ref... :thumn

Misanthrope

Sorry guys, had an epic weekend and this momentarily slipped my mind. I'll mark and post results tonight (early in the morning your time).

I think it's fitting that the F7s final result comes in the week leading up to the RLWC's final result ;-). Good luck to both teams.

Titanic

I'm with bartman ... without this hiatus then there would be nothing to search F7's for and my daily routine ruined.

Misanthrope

AUSTRALIA

Media Statement by newly appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Australian National Rugby League by The Piper

Score: 83
Addresses just a few of the many hopes fans have for the game in the future from an interesting angle.

PAUL CARIGE - WHY I DID IT by Azkatro

Score: 84
An interesting take on a much maligned figure in rugby league history, but I think it got a little bogged down in the 'technical' side of the whole alien/human sharing. I got lost amidst references to energy and silent explosions.

A World Cup Experience by IanG

Score: 78
A somewhat meandering piece that was hurt by grammatical errors and the like. (Content instead of contempt, for one). But an interesting look into one man's experience at this year's World Cup.

TOTAL: 245

PAPUA NEW GUINEA
"Onomastical" Opinions by tits&tans

Score: 87
A very well written (if not obviously biased) piece discussing naming conventions, nick names, and everything in between.

The IRL's Conundrum by Titanic

Score: 88
Another superbly written piece. Discussing the state of the international game and the difficulty associated with remedying the situation. An enjoyable read.

Fore! by Amadean

Score: 87
An enjoyably tongue in cheek look at F7s and its use of the controversial for and against system. Good stuff.

TOTAL: 262

RESULT: Papua New Guinea Kumuls 262 def. Australian Kangaroos 245

MOTM: Titanic (PNG)

Jesbass

Congrats to both teams for getting this far. :clap:

Well done to Willow, who has managed to bounce back from a grand final defeat to take out the World Cup, and of course to Titanic and amadean who have taken out the F7s club title, representative matches, and now a World Cup. It's all downhill from here! :lol: