Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Worst experiences/fights at the footy

Who did you see play?

The atmosphere around Upton Park was always different depending on who was coming to visit that day
If it was Norwich, Watford, Southampton, West Brom etc it was a friendly family day out

If it was a big London club such as Spurs, Chelsea or Arsenal or an out of town team with a tasty firm such as Leeds or Birmingham then it was totally different. The streets would be full of evil looking geezers watching up and down the street - in case the other mob turned up and started to take the piss on our Manor. If that happened geezers would arrive from everywhere ready to do battle.

It wasn't the done thing to turn up to Upton Park and start anything and West Ham let you know it

Brighton - they were in the championship at the time from memory. Loads of homophobic chants and one or two scuffles down the southern (?) end but nothing more in the ground

I just remember walking in to a couple of pubs on the walk back up to the tube. Everyone was staring me down and I was like...calm down chaps, I’m a hammers man (didn’t have any colours on though)

Norths Tiger

Back in uni, I was a delivery driver. One delivery I made, the guy said his mate had just run off to the ATM, so we waited a few minutes.

The silence was getting awkward, so I asked old mate if he'd watched the Origin game a few days earlier. Old mate said "Nah, I don't watch footy anymore. At the '78 grand final on the Hill, people poured beer on me and set me on fire, so I don't watch footy after that".....

Back in uni, I was a delivery driver. One delivery I made, the guy said his mate had just run off to the ATM, so we waited a few minutes.

The silence was getting awkward, so I asked old mate if he'd watched the Origin game a few days earlier. Old mate said "Nah, I don't watch footy anymore. At the '78 grand final on the Hill, people poured beer on me and set me on fire, so I don't watch footy after that".....

God...insane

Old man used to tell me tales from the hill when it was ok to bring an esky in the ground. Largely funny but also a few beat downs if you had a local derby and a few bogan Souths fans were on day release

Was also fortunate enough to be in that area a few times for cricket before they redid the stadium. The day of warnie’s 300th (or some other significant number like that) was pretty memorable. Large rain delay, everyone was tanked. Remember a large game of cricket breaking out near the back of the stand and security basically joining in. Game recommences at 630/7 after most of the crowd had left and he snares the wicket.

Also was there the night Jason Taylor got turfed for being a flog and trying to fight everyone. Think it was in his north Sydney days?

Other gold memory was someone throwing a frozen chicken at pat symcox. Absolute wtf moment, but his response was brilliant. Good banter ensued...good times

edabomb

I've never seen anything too bad in my many sporting events. I will say after seeing the Lakers with Kobe play at Sacramento in 2012 that the level of abuse towards the players is an absolute disgrace in the States.

Rhino_NQ

One of the derby round 1 games at Suncorp just after channel 9 discovered the cowboys existed, was a night game so I’d say 07 or 08 possibly. Drunken idiot runs on the field, didn’t even streak, made it across the field and gets tackled by several security trying to escape through the tunnel in the corner. Must have eaten a few metres of concrete in the process because when he looks up at us who were in that corner in the away bay while being manhelded his face was unrecognisable. Just a bloody mess with a few teeth missing

Bgoodorgoodatit

I've never seen anything too bad in my many sporting events. I will say after seeing the Lakers with Kobe play at Sacramento in 2012 that the level of abuse towards the players is an absolute disgrace in the States.

yeah id have to agree having been to a few rockets games over the years some of the shit that people say is nothing compared to a footy game here. i've never really heard anything bad at the footy.. worse at the cricket in my opinion

Vozzy

Used to play for Hills district Bulls when I was 12 we played Endevour. We beat them and they were a good team their halfback was their best player but had a bad game. Their coach shoved him over after the game. That kids dad ran on the field started laying into the coach. Was hilarious.

David brown

I seen plenty growing up playing junior footy.. Mainly mothers vs mothers mothers vs refs mothers vs duty officials..

Cant handle seeing their kid get hurt...

Lambretta

Brighton - they were in the championship at the time from memory. Loads of homophobic chants and one or two scuffles down the southern (?) end but nothing more in the ground

I just remember walking in to a couple of pubs on the walk back up to the tube. Everyone was staring me down and I was like...calm down chaps, I’m a hammers man (didn’t have any colours on though)

They're always accusing someone of taking it up the arse
It's like they're obsessed or something

Lambretta

Must have been a Manly fan

SDM

One of the derby round 1 games at Suncorp just after channel 9 discovered the cowboys existed, was a night game so I’d say 07 or 08 possibly. Drunken idiot runs on the field, didn’t even streak, made it across the field and gets tackled by several security trying to escape through the tunnel in the corner. Must have eaten a few metres of concrete in the process because when he looks up at us who were in that corner in the away bay while being manhelded his face was unrecognisable. Just a bloody mess with a few teeth missing

I would assume he already looked like this

I was at the Rugby League World Sevens at the SFS, cant remember what year but either 2003/04.

If anyone went to these, they'll remember the games went over a period of about 6-7 hours each day into the evening, full strength beer.. get the gist?

Two things toward the end of the evening.. after friendly banter all around our bay from all sorts of supporters most for hours - someone said something, someone retaliated with something, I turned around from near the fence and saw 5 or 6 guys hopping over the seats toward us to fight anyone and everyone. We were all pissed to the eyeballs and no one could fight to save their life - A bloke came at me - took one drunken haymaker on the run and crashed into the fence between the seats upside down in pieces.. I have no-idea what started it.. Put it all down to booze.

After that settled down - there was a streaker who ran on the field at the north end.. through the goalposts, the length of the entire field with security guys flailing in his wake, under the southern goal-posts, hopped the fence and up the race - all to the whole crowd roaring and cheering him on.. he was a certaintly to get away with it.

Then some oaf got up out of his seat and punched him to the ground in the stands. The crowd went nuts and when security arrived not long after - they were protecting the oaf from a riot they had on their hands - everyone wanted a piece of him. Twat.

Not long after they ceased playing the 7's.

Pete Cash

I seen plenty growing up playing junior footy.. Mainly mothers vs mothers mothers vs refs mothers vs duty officials..

Cant handle seeing their kid get hurt...

parents are f**king maniacs with junior sports. i went to watch one of my friends brothers play under 16s for the mighty cessnock goannas and the game was up in Valentine (near lake Macquarie) back in the day and the parents had must have all been about 15 beers in or in the middle of a meth binge because they were absolute ferals. i thought the ref would need some kind of police escort to get out alive

I'll preface this by saying I've not experienced violence however I haven't been to a dogs game

2010 wollongong

Shit hill, 44 to 18 loss or something like that

Penrith virtually every time

f**kfaces for fans, westy scumlords

Tigers at bluetongue when Farah dived, they stuck up for their buttboy, still smashed them and matai was sin binned for being punched by a thug, they don't have a any toofs those fans

Vs Melbourne round 1 loss at brookvale

The single storm fan and his dog cried all night right behind me, we lost in golden point

Easily the best on the flipside was the battle of brookvale

Never really had much of an issue with Dogs fans, probably because I have a couple of good mates who are fans. Although I have seen a few from a distance.

Honestly Newcastle fans used to be quite feral. Worst experience I've ever had was years ago with an old girlfriend in Newcastle...she was a Roosters fan, my Dads family are from Newie and have a house up on Lake Macquarie so I used to spend a lot of time up there when I still lived in Sydney. Before the game even started she had been spat at, abused and had beers and food thrown at her (who wastes a stadium beer FFS!) just for wearing the opposition jersey.

One year when I was even younger I went with my grandad, he in his Knights jersey and me in an Eels jersey and some merkin told the old fella he should have had me drowned at birth and threatened to beat the shit out of him for bringing me to the footy. Grandpa was about 65 at the time.

I've seen some useless merkins at Eels games too though. Once saw a grown man launch an absolute tirade at a ten year old kid who kept shouting "Let's go Dragons!" and then tell the father that if he didn't shut the kid up old mate was gonna punch him (the kid). Dad predictably took exception and old mate was about to throw hands when it became apparent that Dad was with about five mates...