Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

"You don’t understand Test footy if you don’t play it" - Mal Meninga

Pete Cash

Hehe good one mal

That said gould was carrying on like a league unlimited poster last night when he should be more professional. You dont often hear other commentators bury the sport

no name

Gus was carrying on like a wank, but the point he was making was pretty much the opinion of most people I know who I talk footy with. We don't need to hear it on the telecast though.

Mal's never been good at copping criticism, but that was a pretty stupid reaction. Taking a pot shot at Gus and getting everyone offside.

Eion

The one thing Gus can't handle is being wrong. Carries on like a petulant schoolgirl.

He's been calling for Gals head for about 4 years and to see him play well and get MOM would put him in full sook overdrive.

Mal just went up a notch for mine.

Eion

Oh and look at the 'young guns'. Papalli and Gillette were our worst forwards, and duges our worst back.

Exsilium

Here's what Mal doesn't understand. The NRL competition has fans who support individual clubs who's sole priority is to win a premiership. Most don't care for test football because its significance to the regular season is nil.

These games are for the players of the game to be rewarded for their form and represent their country. For them it must be a great privilege but for the fans we all want our players back in one piece and playing the following week.

In addition to the above the eligibility laws make the whole selection process a farce. I believe you could make some very good teams using players who actually played for their country of birth.

fans just wanted to see the best players play a showcase game, we did that, we made the all stars and it was great to begin with but now players just pull out and the meaning is lost.

The game is for the fans Mal, if we don't like it then maybe you don't understand the fans.

drago brelli

Oh and look at the 'young guns'. Papalli and Gillette were our worst forwards, and duges our worst back.

Dugan is a fullback, that's it. He's not a centre nor is he a winger. Yet NSW will most probably pick him on the wing. Ferguson should have been centre, Boyd wing, Boyd is a very good winger and Dugan at fullback. So many people I know were saying this.

Eion

Dugan is a fullback, that's it. He's not a centre nor is he a winger. Yet NSW will most probably pick him on the wing. Ferguson should have been centre, Boyd wing, Boyd is a very good winger and Dugan at fullback. So many people I know were saying this.

yeah mostly agree. Though I reckon NSW will pick duges at fb

I don't really like some of Gould's "my opinion is always right' rhetoric, but Meninga is any idiot for putting the fans offside in his response.

Eion

Mal didn't put me offside. The public is far more fed up with Gould and I think can appreciate a well deserved swipe. Onya mal.

Wizardman

The game was an absolute stinker. Both teams in attack were absolutely woeful. The average punter doesn't need to to have played test footy to have seen that.

In saying that, Gould seems to detest test footy and rubbishes it at every opportunity.