Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Young Guns poll.

What players have forum members seen play live.

George Dragon

George Dragon, which of the youngsters in your list do you think will play NRL?

From My perspective moved out of Sydney to Gold Coast so near impossible to watch lower grade.
f**k that's a hard question. I'm no expert but
I'll give some thoughts on the players
Sullivan got it all, couod be a super star.
Ramsey, I think his FG spot could be wing.
Twins, got it all and can play multiple position.
Blacker, has not shown much as an impact player and doesn't play long minutes. Still only young for a forward a long way off ready but in time who knows.
SSE, allround solid would be one of those players that doesn't let you down.
Amone, talented still only young and small, too early to tell.
Slone, freak of a kid whether at 6 or 1. Defence is terrible could be one of those players that does something brilliant then something shocking.
Wishart, been hampered by injury would be a good backup at the least.
Gale, solid player Host mould.
Schiller, got it all blood size speed.
If he commits and gives 100% could be in the Teddy mould, he is my choice as future FB.
There is 9 backs plus Zac 21 and under we wont keep them all.
I don’t know the coaching setup lower grades TBH

Problem is and I may be wrong but we don’t seem to have decent lower coaches bringing the young ones through as well as other clubs do.
They need to be competently skilled in their position and taught the ropes
I thought Head was reasonable

if The head coach is a peanut and his assistants what hope do lower grade players have of coming thru

peanut couldn’t fix EA centre deficiency , he was a SOO centre FFS
Dufty needed a specialist FB coach eg Slater or Potter etc to mentor him
Other clubs pay A Or M johns to come in and mentor the halves
I’m sure this is what good setups do

all these juniors on friinge will Have gone backwards this year not have played CC etc And still part of a Fd up Dragons system

No opportunity given
Given 10 mins and dropped

it’s also easier to blood kids in a winning culture gradually surrounded by other good players ie storm chooks
Can’t happen here

I ca t really comment on individual players people are hoping to be our saviour That are regularly mentioned but Lomax is the only one in 5-7 years that would be good enough to go to another strong team I suspect

Dufty has now had a few year in and has big issues still

a few of these kids will HOPEFULLY make it thru Ok as we hope but most actually don’t in the real world . Only takes 1 big injury or lose confidence eg HutChinson

We can hope for the best at least

Willie was Flegg coach and I though did well, would of been good to see how he went this year. He was the one who put Ramsey at FB. Cody credits Willie for hs break out year.
Head is as bad a coach as Mary.
Some clubs try to win the lower grade comp other use it to teach and bring players thru. Which way is better for the club...

Dragon David

f**k that's a hard question.
Sullivan got it all good be a star.
Ramsey I think his FG spot could be wing.
Twins got it all and can play multiple position.
Blacker has not shown much as an impact player and doesn't play long minutes. Still only young for a forward a long way off ready but in time who knows.
SSE, around sold would be one of those players that doesn't let you down.
Amone, talented still only young and small too early to tell.
Slone, freak of a kid whether at 6 or 1. Defence is terrible could be one of those players that does something brilliant then something shocking.
If he commits and gives 100% could be in the Teddy mould, he is my choice as future FB.

Willie was Flegg coach and I though did well, would of been good to see what how he went this year. He was the one who put Ramsey at FB. Cody credits Willie for hs break out year.
Some clubs try to win the lower grade comp other use it to teach and bring players thru. Which way is better for the club...
Very good run down George. Thanks!

Mjab

f**k that's a hard question. I'm no expert but
Sullivan got it all, couod be a super star.
Ramsey, I think his FG spot could be wing.
Twins, got it all and can play multiple position.
Blacker, has not shown much as an impact player and doesn't play long minutes. Still only young for a forward a long way off ready but in time who knows.
SSE, allround solid would be one of those players that doesn't let you down.
Amone, talented still only young and small, too early to tell.

Willie was Flegg coach and I though did well, would of been good to see how he went this year. He was the one who put Ramsey at FB. Cody credits Willie for hs break out year.
Thanks for the insights

Unfortunately I am a country boy and simply cannot travel any more , but when living in Sydney many eons ago ( so it seems at times ) I as RedVDave would go to Kogarah and perhaps more so the S.C.G - the Saints / Dragons played more matches there in those days and watch each of the 3 grades - Thirds Reserve and 1st grade .

As to the junior Dragons we have so much potential there mixed with a number of very classy individuals - Ramsey and Sullivan a pair of rough diamonds merely awaiting that final polish that they shall surely receive from Griffin - each of whom will go on and make a name for themselves and do justice to the St.George Illawarra Dragon emblem . :innocent:

Jeremy Dragon

Unfortunately I am a country boy and simply cannot travel any more , but when living in Sydney many eons ago ( so it seems at times ) I as RedVDave would go to Kogarah and perhaps more so the S.C.G - the Saints / Dragons played more matches there in those days and watch each of the 3 grades - Thirds Reserve and 1st grade .

As to the junior Dragons we have so much potential there mixed with a number of very classy individuals - Ramsey and Sullivan a pair of rough diamonds merely awaiting that final polish that they shall surely receive from Griffin - each of whom will surely go on and make a name for themselves and do justice to the St.George Illawarra Dragon emblem . :innocent:
Those day were too far back for me
We only manage all 3 grades about once a year.
I make sure I get to that round.
Cant wait to see what Griffin does with the boys.

Those day were too far back for me
We only manage all 3 grades about once a year.
I make sure I get to that round.
Cant wait to see what Griffin does with the boys.

Yes mate they were some time ago and things have changed since then . However it great to see you attend the matches when you can , more so when you take the family along .

As to Griffin mentoring these younger players I am sure that he and Elliot with Gentle will pass a considerable amount of footy knowledge onto them ensuring their full potential is realized.

SnowDragon

Last time I saw dragons it was in the uk, game v Warrington

hassles of living on the wrong side of the planet...
Clearly no youngsters.

Draginzaaar

Lol I really enjoy going to the lower grade games my passion and motivation has extinguished over the last few years simply because a lot of them don't get a run.

But nothing beats going to North Sydney Oval or Henson Park on a Sunday arvo, I truly miss the old system of watching all 3 grades play I really felt like I was getting my money's worth when that was the case getting to Jubilee Oval nice and early.
Years ago when my brother was about 4, I took him to his first game at Kogarah. After the Under 23's game, he says 'Can we go home now'. My response was 'Ah No'.

I remember like so many others here going to see all 3 grades.Dad insisted we get there early and see them all.It was a fantastic system until the NRL came along, expanded the comp and gave us non matching NRL and NSWRL teams. So now its almost impossible to catch all the grades.It also doesnt help much that even the Dragons dont advertise their lower grade matches on the website that im aware of. But to me it gets much worse-for the last 2 seasons to even find out where A grade matches were being played was almost impossible.We need an integrated website that show all games from junior to senior for the whole of NSW, including the NRL matches. I'd love to watch as many games as i could, and come retirement that will be my whole weekend. But the NRL has to try a damn side harder and advertise things apart from NRL matches.Its like the lower grades dont matter to them.
So like so many others on here have barely seen any of the players mentioned because ive only been to 4 NRL matches this year.Lets hope Vlandys sticks to his promise to bring back 3 grades at every match in future.Then ill finally be able to see our up and coming stars like i used to

SAP58

I remember like so many others here going to see all 3 grades.Dad insisted we get there early and see them all.It was a fantastic system until the NRL came along, expanded the comp and gave us non matching NRL and NSWRL teams. So now its almost impossible to catch all the grades.It also doesnt help much that even the Dragons dont advertise their lower grade matches on the website that im aware of. But to me it gets much worse-for the last 2 seasons to even find out where A grade matches were being played was almost impossible.We need an integrated website that show all games from junior to senior for the whole of NSW, including the NRL matches. I'd love to watch as many games as i could, and come retirement that will be my whole weekend. But the NRL has to try a damn side harder and advertise things apart from NRL matches.Its like the lower grades dont matter to them.
So like so many others on here have barely seen any of the players mentioned because ive only been to 4 NRL matches this year.Lets hope Vlandys sticks to his promise to bring back 3 grades at every match in future.Then ill finally be able to see our up and coming stars like i used to
Great post and couldnt agree more. I keep up with the juniors listening to the Red V podcast each week, Jack & Johnny review the previous weeks junior grades games as well as previewing the upcomming round and where they are being played so I actually got to some of the games this year. The podcast also interviews some of the up and commers and you hear about their career to date which is great listening.